We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 115)
Filter reviews
2 115 results
Traveller rating
1 348
595
108
41
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 348
595
108
41
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews foggy bottom whole foods kennedy center grinder dish restaurant small kitchen full kitchen coffee beans trader joes lincoln memorial tree lined street residential street watergate complex quiet neighborhood two blocks separate bedroom within walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
448 - 453 of 2 115 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2017

The River Inn is located on a tree-shaded street in Foggy Bottom near the campus of GWU. The staff was friendly and helpful; the rooms were roomy and well-appointed and even had a full kitchen. Because driving in DC can be tricky, we especially appreciated the location. A good selection of restaurants, a Metro station, and the Kennedy Center were within easy walking distance. Valet parking was pricey, but it was worth it not to have to drive in DC. I would happily stay there again.

Date of stay: July 2017
Thank bryantjajb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jharris452, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear bryantjajb. Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the River Inn. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We do have a great location and our staff is amazing! Thank you for noticing and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Staying for a long weekend in a Potomac Room, the view upon entry was wonderful. Large windows frame a beautiful view of the river. The room(s) itself comes with a large bedroom, a living room, small bathroom, and a kitchenette, along with the largest shower head I've ever seen...Living at this hotel full time would be a joy! The location offered easy access to the GW area where we were visiting, a short walk to the Metro stop, an easy walk to the Georgetown waterfront, and we even popped over to the Watergate for higher-up views of the city. We were often out late at night, and always felt safe walking through the neighborhood, which is a mix of residential homes and commercial stores. Pricing for the stay was reasonable for the area. We will certainly re-visit on future trips.

Room tip: Potomac Room has beautiful view and lots of space
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank IraBfromCSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jharris452, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you for the wonderful review. The River Inn is perfect for all types of travelers and we love the summer when guests can enjoy our historic neighborhood and walk to all the amazing DC attractions. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

I loved everything about my stay in River Inn. From the spacious room to the central location to food, metro, etc. it was worth price. One of the few hotels i could re-use over and over again. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank travellerU8934CF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jharris452, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

I love that you "loved everything" about your stay. Music to our ears here at the River Inn and we are so glad that you enjoyed your visit! Thank you for writing your review and for the positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here in August 2016 as a family of 4 (kids 6 and 8).
Very friendly service, house keeping was excellent. Enjoyed having a small kitchen and there was a Trader Joes just up the road which made the self catering option easy.
We had one meal in their restaurant and it was quite average.
We used their sister hotel's pool up the road, which was very welcome.
Would stay again.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank nigeandjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jharris452, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Hi nigeandjose. Thank you for choosing the River Inn for your family trip to DC. We are so pleased that we could be part of your families vacation and great memories. We hope that you will choose DC and the River Inn again for your next family trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

The location of The River Inn was perfect for an event I attended at GWU. It was just a short walk to campus. The hotel had a neighborhood feel, and I could easily access both restaurants and grocery stores. The room was spacious and comfortable, and all the employees were kind and informative.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank terag403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jharris452, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you terag403. You picked the perfect hotel to be close to GWU and everything else that any traveler to DC would want. Thank you for giving our staff a kind shout out and for your positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews