We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spying ”

International Spy Museum
Ranked #82 of 428 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Opened in 2002, the International Spy Museum provides interactive exhibits and contains the most extensive collection of spy artifacts ever displayed.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Cheesy but fun. Older elementary and young teens would love. In a town where so much is free, it’s hard to pay for a museum. However, this is very interactive.

1  Thank Jreiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Hello Agent Jreiker,

Thank you for sharing your intel! The International Spy Museum is a non-profit organization that brings the world of intelligence to life – illuminating how it has changed the course of history and continues to play a significant role in our lives today.

Tierra Manning
Guest Services Operative
202 393 7798
guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4 855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"james bond"
in 738 reviews
"cold war"
in 207 reviews
"real spies"
in 54 reviews
"gift shop"
in 263 reviews
"interactive exhibits"
in 172 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 145 reviews
"older kids"
in 56 reviews
"all ages"
in 183 reviews
"hands on activities"
in 51 reviews
"whole family"
in 73 reviews
"great for kids"
in 58 reviews
"two hours"
in 82 reviews
"three hours"
in 47 reviews
"on display"
in 86 reviews
"espionage"
in 393 reviews
"gadgets"
in 293 reviews
"identity"
in 209 reviews
Filter

164 - 168 of 4 855 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

We did the regular tour and had a blast as 20 year olds. The James bond exhibit was so cool to see! Loved the Jaws memorabilia. Also enjoyed crawling through the air vent in the sky school. Took about 2 hours. They offer student tickets.

Thank rileyoc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Services Operative at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Greetings Agent,

The quality of the Museum's collection is unlike any other public institution in the world. I’m glad your mission was a success, thank you for your feedback and I hope you spy with us again soon!

Asa DeShields
Guest Services Operative
202 393 7798
guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

One of the few museums in DC that you have to pay a decent amount to visit. My 11 years old boy was thrilled to see and after the visits we all agreed that it was a little under our expectations. Good things about it are the interaction, the history, illustration and James Bond, or to be exact Villain exhibits. All of them are old stuff, things used long time ago so most of them weren’t interesting enough. FBI is just opposite the street so I suppose they classify what to show lol....It’s overcrowded in a normal weekday afternoon and the direction was a bit confusing. No WiFi and I don’t remember tap water is available. All these being said, I am not recommending it unless you are a frantic lover of espionage and spy.

Thank Lijiao Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Services Operative at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Greetings Agent,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our visit. The International Spy Museum, a 501(c) (3) private non-profit, operates completely independent of tax money or government funding. Your admission fee supports the Museum’s research, exhibitions, and educational programming. Our mission as a museum is to educate guests of all ages about espionage in an engaging way and to provide a context that fosters understanding of its important role and impact on current and historic events. In the museum, even though we regulate the number of guests that come in each hour, it can get crowded during peak touring periods. We recommend guests take advantage of our extended hours during these times to enjoy the Museum without the crowds.

Thanks again for spying on us!
We hope you spy on us again soon!

Asa DeShields
Guest Services Operative
202 393 7798
guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Families with kids seemed to have a great time. As a senior couple, we disliked it for the following reasons. First, there was a 15 minute wait standing in line for the small elevator which takes you to the museum. This was after paying admission. Second, the display lighting was so poor we had a hard time reading the descriptions. Third, the many rooms were very small and dark, giving the place a crowded feeling. I assume this was to create an atmosphere of mystery, but as seniors, it didn't work for us. Every way we turned we nearly bumped into someone, because there was no forward flow to the traffic. We also felt someone was often in our way when trying to look in the display cases. Thankfully, there were benches for resting occasionally. For us, it just wasn't worth the $16 each admission, or the time.

Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Hello agent Eileenb739,

Thank you for sharing your intel! I am sorry to hear your mission wasn't a success. During our busy seasons we recommend for guest looking to dodge crowds to come in when we first open or 2 hours before we close. Your general admission tickets can be used throughout the day until we close. We have the wait time at the elevator to control the crowds inside the museum. Were you able to speak to a manager before your departure? We would love to hear more of your feedback, if you have any additional comments or questions please contact us, I have attached our information below.


Tierra Manning
Guest Services Operative
202 393 7798
guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

The spy museum was a lot of fun. We went with our 9 year old, who had a blast looking through everything. He used their scavenger hunt paper and went through looking for all the clues, etc. we also did the Spy in the City tour, which was a lot of walking but also a good time. I would say about 9 is about as old a kid that would enjoy that part though. I recommend getting tickets online and getting there first thing which is what we did. No lines and a much more enjoyable experience. Once it starts to get busy the museum is less fun.

Thank Caseycake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Hello Agent Caseycake1,

Thank you for sharing your intel! I am happy to read that your mission was a success. We do recommend to guest looking to dodge crowds to come in when we first open or 2 hours before we close. Thank you for Spying with us!


Tierra Manning
Guest Services Operative
202 393 7798
guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed International Spy Museum also viewed

 

Been to International Spy Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing