We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unit B - The Garden Apartment (not the Carriage...”
Living Room with Lots of Natural Light
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room with Lots of Natural Light
Second Photo of Living Area Gas Fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Living Room with Lots of Natural Light
Second Photo of Living Area
Gas Fireplace
Living Area
Kitchen -- All New!
Kitchen
Master Bedroom
First Bathroom
Second Bedroom
Courtyard
Metro Station at Dupont Circle
Dupont Circle
Inside Metro Station
Restaurants
Some shops and restaurants
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Washington DC, District of Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
MHCA
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Unit B - The Garden Apartment (not the Carriage House)”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Jennifer has 2 units - most comment are on the carriage house, but this one is specifically about Unit B - the Garden Apartment. It is on the (sub)ground level from 19th street (think the downstairs of Upstairs Downstairs) but you don't really feel like it's the basement. The unit is just as nice as the pictures of the carriage house. It's part of the row house itself, so longer and skinny in layout. Living dining is sufficient space, not super roomy, but ok for about 4 people. The kitchen is well appointed and has all the expected pots, pans, utensils, and small appliances. FYI - a previous poster commented on a crock pot, and yes, it's in Unit B! The stackable washer/dryer was a nice surprise. It seemed a larger model than I was expecting,and had good load capacity! A huge plus was the keyless entry system, so you aren't splitting up parties only to remember you don't have the key! Location can't be beat - you are INCREDIBLY close to Dupont Circle and all the restaurants. One of the best features of renting from these owners is the use of the GARAGE space! If you must have a car (we had to go to an award ceremony at Goddard NASA and visit family in MD), then it is worth it just for the dedicated garage space! Make sure to ask and confirm that you will have the use of it during your stay.

Tips:

BIGGEST TIP: Jennifer gives you a multi-page information packet. Study it! It is chocked full of very good information!!!

When you get there, do an inventory and see if you need to buy any of these:
Laundry detergent, softener; Shampoo/condition/soap; dish soap, dishwasher soap, your own kitchen sponge, toilet paper, tissue paper, paper towels, trash bags for kitchen and 2 bathroom cans. Last, check the kitchen cupboards and see if you need any items that you thought might be there but are not, such as coffee/tea fixings, oil, seasonings (there is a large supply, but you never know and I think one or two were low during our trip).

Safeway is very near. ***Bring or get a Safeway card before checking out!!!!!

Metro cards - SmartTrip - you can get them at CVS stores or at the station, and they are the same price ($10 for a preloaded $8 card). When you use the metro, make sure you know not only the COLOR of the line, but the DIRECTION, which would be the last station for the line. For example, think Red line Glenmont to the Smithsonian, or Red line Shady Grove to get back to Dupont Circle. You also want to think about the likely STATION EXIT SIDE, such as North/South side (you want NORTH for Dupont Circle to the apartment!), or a lower/higher street number (letter).

To save money, we ordered take out at every Dupont Circle eatery. No tipping!!! Saved us tons of money which we spent on souveniers at the Smithsonian museums! Plus you've got that awesome kitchen, refrigerate leftovers, have space to eat, and watch TV at the same time! Yeah!

Visit Dupont - Kalorama museums! I highly recommend the Woodrow Wilson House (had to pay, but still worth it ). For things close by and when you've hit your favorite Smithsonians, then see these other museums! Do a google search; you will find info on their annual D-K walk (when they are all free!) and it lists the museums - all walking distance!

This unit B and the carriage house are about the same price. It's about what you would pay at the nearby Embassy Suites, but you get so much more space, kitchen, W/D and garage! EXCELLENT PLACE!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrishLind...
North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't have been better!”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

very well equipped kitchen made eating some meals in fun to prepare, etc. my grandson,15,
was with us for his "coming of age" trip with Gran. we had a great time and the carriage house made it perfect. everything convenient, metro, grocery, restaurants. thanks to Jennifer for ease in all aspects of the rental. I am recommending it to all my friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: condition of unit and location
Liked least: not anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine D
Merritt Island
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Convenient location, great for privacy for renters, updated kitchen.”
Reviewed 2 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Super nice location by Dupont Circle. Ate in good restaurants by just a short walk to them, which was nice at the end of a long day. Upstairs-downstairs bedroom and bath arrangements offered nice amount of privacy for our 2 couples. (Bring the suitcase through the 2nd floor door, instead of hauling it upstairs and then down again through the spiral staircase.) Everything was clean. We didn't use it - but there was a washer and dryer in the unit. Kitchen very updated and modern and comfortable. Living room pretty tight but who goes to DC to watch TV? Temperature control was a bit of a problem, until we realized that if we kept the upstairs bedroom door open and the downstairs one closed at night - that maintained the most consistent temperature. There was a small space heater that was also helpful.
Never met Jennifer, but she was quickly available by text or phone and solved small problems or questions we had. She also provided lots of good information in writing about the area and restaurants. Cherry blossoms were very delayed this year - so we missed them, but if we went back - we'd stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location & how updated it was
Liked least: Furniture and TV arrangment in sitting area was awkward and difficult to view TV without hurting our necks.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy C
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location and lots of space”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
4
people found this review helpful

This property exactly matched the photos on the website. It was in a great location - close to train and shops. The unit was very clean with a little extras supplied (e.g. washing powder, liquid soaps etc). Lots of line and towels as well. We stayed over the Christmas/New Year break and had a fantastic time. The downstairs room where my sons stayed didn't seem to heat up as well as our upstairs rooms, but there was plenty of extra blankets. The entrance was a little tricky but the host gave very clear instructions. Stairs to unit might be difficult for anyone with mobility issues.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSL
Silverlake, Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely and Convenient”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the carriage house - myself, mother and a family friend. We found it beautifully appointed, comfortable and very quiet and secluded and spotless. My mother and friend, in particular, were delighted with the design and layout. The neighborhood is gorgeous and safe with many many options for food and drink and within either a very short metro ride or a 30 minute walk from almost all sights. In all, I had high expectations, but the rental actually exceeded them :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attractiveness, cleanliness, location and quiet
Liked least: The downstairs bathroom would benefit from an extra towel rack and a bureau of drawers.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$260
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing