We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
7 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$309
PricelineUS$309
Hotels.comUS$309
TravelocityUS$309
CheapTicketsUS$309
Orbitz.comUS$309
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
163
13
0
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
163
13
0
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the national portrait gallery architectural details historic bank building bank teller robes and slippers small touches romantic weekend penn quarter room service downstairs bar the bed was super comfortable an amazing hotel room door hotel is centrally located the check in desk great shower national mall
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2021

New hotel in great location. Great concept, but spotty service from time to time - growing pains I suspect. Cafe is excellent, though room service coffee served in paper cups. No desk in room - not a business hotel.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AthenaHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maximillian Sanson, Guest Services / Front Office at Riggs Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2021

Dear Athena,

It was a delight to have you join us at the Riggs and were able to enjoy your time with us.
We'll be sure to reflect on all your feedback. Some say growing pains, we say a new challenge and we're always looking to challenge ourselves to cultivate the best guest experiences.

Hoping to have you again soon!

Yours in hospitality,
Maximillian Sanson
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2021 via mobile

We recently spent three nights at Riggs in Washington DC.  The rooms are stylish, comfortable and clean - and quiet.  The staff was very attentive to our needs, from delivering ice directly to our room to the excellent valet/door service where staff addressed us by name.

There were small perks that were a pleasant surprise (in addition, we booked a Summer in the City rate which included parking and breakfast).  I wish I had noted the names of all who were gracious and helpful on the hotel side.

The Cafe Riggs presented excellent food and drink (thank you Victoria, Josue and Brandon), so much so that we ended up eating dinner at Cafe Riggs for two of our three nights, not to mention the breakfast included in our rate and pre-dinner drinks.

Finally, we enjoyed delicious and innovative cocktails at The Silver Lyan during their inaugural weekend.  Thanks to Aidan for his hospitality.

Room tip: Riggs is in a central location and within walking distance to the National Mall, museums, restaurants, and shopping. Washington Capitals are close by as well.
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ShellyS987321
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maximillian Sanson, Guest Services / Front Office at Riggs Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2021

Dear Inspire,

Thank you for such a kind and brilliant review! You really captured our essence: attentive, great service and the details.
It was such a delight to host you and share our passion for hospitality with such an attentive guest.

From our luscious rooms and bedding, thru the Café Riggs and then our Silver Lyan bar, thank you for exploring everything that makes us a perfect home-away-from-home.

Yours in hospitality,
Maximillian Sanson
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2021 via mobile

Immaculate hotel…superb service and wonderful location for DC. Anniversary trip for me and my husband…highly recommend! We enjoyed our stay very much! Easily accessible to all DC monuments/museums. Front desk and valet staff were excellent!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Stmzlw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maximillian Sanson, Guest Services / Front Office at Riggs Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2021

Dear esteemed guest,

Thank you for sharing your anniversary with us. It was our pleasure to help you celebrate such a special relationship and we hope to see you again next year (or any time in the future)!
Capturing our location, being nestled into the heart of Downtown and capturing the spirit of our team members, you couldn't have made us prouder to hear from you.

Yours in hospitality,
Maximillian Sanson
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2021

If you haven’t checked out The Riggs you must in your next trip to DC. The atmosphere is great. Try Cafe Riggs or their amazing bar downstairs. I Highly recommend The Riggs for the location, ambience and service .

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bonnie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maximillian Sanson, Guest Services / Front Office at Riggs Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2021

Dear Bonnie,

Having you as a guest at Riggs has been such a pleasure and we cannot wait to host you again.
From Café Riggs, to Silver Lyan bar, and our grand hotel in the grandest location, we're so glad you captured so much of our property and it's spirit.

Yours in hospitality,

Maximillian Sanson
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2021

Our family of five (including three teens) loved our stay. We had two rooms on a very quiet floor. Very clean rooms. Walked to everything very easily. Safe area. Fabulous time! We will certainly be back!

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jmsandanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maximillian Sanson, Guest Services / Front Office at Riggs Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2021

Dear esteemed guest,

Thank you so much for joining us. It was truly a delight to host you and your family. Seeing that we're your one review, we must have made quite the impression! We couldn't be more proud to be the ones to create such bright and shining memories.
We can't wait to see you again soon.

Yours in hospitality,
Maximillian Sanson
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews