We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
7 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$320
View deal
PricelineUS$320
Expedia.comUS$320
Hotels.comUS$320
TripadvisorUS$320
Orbitz.comUS$320
TravelocityUS$320
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
125
9
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
125
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the national portrait gallery architectural details historic bank building bank teller robes and slippers small touches romantic weekend penn quarter room service downstairs bar the bed was super comfortable an amazing hotel room door hotel is centrally located the check in desk great shower national mall
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2020

The Riggs hotel is an exceptional space with amazing decor. It’s decor and aesthetic remain true to the buildings original purpose as a bank.

The staff of the hotel are extremely hospitable and go above and beyond to ensure the comfort of their guests. I will definitely plan to stay at the Riggs again on my next trip to DC

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Ctel_Simp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiggsDC, General Manager at Riggs Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2020

Ctel_Simp,

Thank you for choosing Riggs Washington DC and for your excellent rating. We know how draining life on the road can be especially when paired with the robotic/scripted interactions many have sadly come to accept in their travels We take immense pride as a collective team in ensuring a refreshingly personable and energetic deviation from the cookie cutter norm and I am thrilled to read we succeeded in doing so during your time with us. We eagerly await your return visit the next time your travels bring you to DC and we thank you for being our valued guest!

Dieter Schmitz, CHA
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2020 via mobile

Experienced Riggs earlier this week, following its soft opening. Wow - an exceptional addition to DC’s lodging, dining and bar scene #fierce

Cafe Riggs and its bar are beautifully restored, with an appropriate design homage to the building’s history as a bank. Silver Lyan, the handsome downstairs bar, stirs intrigue and a sense of exclusivity. The gym is spacious and well equipped.

Staff were warm, welcoming and genuine. Look forward to more excitement from this DC gem.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank DelinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiggsDC, General Manager at Riggs Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2020

DelinDC,

Thank you for being our valued guest and for your excellent rating here at the brand new Riggs Washington DC. Myself and our entire team have really enjoyed meeting you and having you with us at the hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your experience at our restaurant, Cafe Riggs and our cocktail lounge, SIlver Lyan. Also happy to read you appreciated our best in class gym offering. Our commitment to a genuinely personable and refreshingly unpretentious guest experience will always await and we look forward to your return for many pop ins and staycations to come!

Dieter Schmitz, CHA
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2020 via mobile

Brand new hotel in an old bank. Tasteful touches. Amazing service. Soooo clean. Enjoy the introductory rates, I doubt they last! This is a gem!!
Had room service for breakfast. Prompt, delicious.
Beds are great, linen is as expected for a brand new place.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank isamelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiggsDC, General Manager at Riggs Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2020

isamelody,

Thank you for your excellent rating and for joining us at Riggs during your travels from NYC. We are committed to matching the beauty of our hotels design with unscripted genuine interactions and in ensuring the utmost levels of cleanliness which I am ecstatic resonated during your time with us. We hope to have the honor of having you back with us every time your travels bring you to DC and we thank you for your feedback!

Dieter Schmitz, CHA
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2020

Go for the luxurious surroundings, great location, and good food — but above all go for the fabulous service. --- We stayed at the Riggs Hotel for their opening night. We expected some glitches but there were very few. The lobby and restaurant evoked the grandeur of the converted bank. The room was comfortable and well appointed. The restaurant food was prepared expertly. But the outstanding characteristic of this hotel was the service. Everyone — bellhops, front desk staff, waiters, maintenance staff, management — was friendly, professional, accommodating, and personable. We were celebrating an anniversary and when we returned to out room from dinner, we had a plate of delicious sweets and a card signed by the entire restaurant staff including the chef. One of the staff members told us that they had been training for the opening for two months and it showed.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JLStgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiggsDC, General Manager at Riggs Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2020

JLStgo,

Thank you for being one of our first valued guests at Riggs Washington DC on our opening day and for entrusting us to be your host for your anniversary celebration. I am elated to read our commitment to genuinely personable excellence resonated throughout your experience. We know how special these occasions are and we collectively take immense pride in ensuring we help to ensure the occasion is memorable.

We hope to see you again many times in the future here at Riggs and we thank you for being not only one of our first guests but also our first review here on Trip Advisor!

Dieter Schmitz, CHA
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2020 via mobile

I visited Washington DC and stayed at the newly opened Riggs Hotel. It has been completely renovated and designed to bring out features of its historic past as a bank.
The check-in desk looks like old-fashioned tellers. The image of the Roman goddess of money, “Juno Moneta” is highlighted in the lobby and in the hotel rooms, which I found to be a creative touch.
The service and food in Cafe Riggs were superb! (Be sure to order the brussell sprouts!)
We especially enjoyed our time spent in the Silver Lyan, the cozy chic lounge built in the bank’s vault in the basement. This lounge is the newest project the world famous Mr Lyan, who has created award winning bars in London and Amsterdam. The cocktails are works of art and the bartenders ( Look for Britt) are magicians!
I hear they will open a rooftop space for special events. What a view that will be!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Broncos95mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiggsDC, General Manager at Riggs Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2020

Broncos95mom,

Thank you for your detailed feedback and for being our valued guest at the brand new Riggs Washington DC. I personally couldn't agree more about the cocktails in Silver Lyan and the pride that brings them and the space to life. I have shared your compliments with Britt and our entire team and we hope to see you again in the future. Thank you for your excellent rating!

Dieter Schmitz, CHA
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews