We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enormous”
Review of National Mall

National Mall
Ranked #15 of 439 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Open area of gardens, fountains, trees and monuments stretching nearly two miles between the Capitol and the Lincoln Memorial.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

I had no idea how enormous the National Mall was. I thought I could walk it all easily in a day, but not possible! Especially with kids. I wish we would have taken a trolley or bus instead of the metro to see all the monuments. It would have been more efficient and inexpensive!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Summerlover00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7 555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"washington monument"
in 689 reviews
"smithsonian museums"
in 321 reviews
"great walk"
in 98 reviews
"walking shoes"
in 99 reviews
"wear comfortable shoes"
in 109 reviews
"white house"
in 307 reviews
"both sides"
in 62 reviews
"reflecting pool"
in 176 reviews
"walk around"
in 74 reviews
"korean war memorial"
in 61 reviews
"take your time"
in 62 reviews
"american history"
in 83 reviews
"tidal basin"
in 70 reviews
"picnic"
in 152 reviews
"stroll"
in 199 reviews
"sights"
in 273 reviews
"benches"
in 142 reviews
Filter

492 - 496 of 7 555 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018

This is a fantastic place to go. I like to just go and walk around and feel the history and smoke a cigar!! There's so much there it'll take a few days just to get it all in. Well worth it.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank E1987QLjohnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

I had to kill time before the train, so I walked around this area for a few hours. I found a quiet bench for n the shade and was able to enjoy the breeze and people watch. Very peaceful.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Bea_writer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

The Mall is lined with museums and monuments that honor presidents and heroes. Allow time to walk to many of the sites near and around the Lincoln Memorial.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018

My favorite walk is to go from the White House and then make my way around each of the monuments, especially at night. Most of the monuments are well lit and have fewer tourists when visited at night. It's great to take a stroll around and enjoy each monument with some quite time to reflect. The quotes are lovely and always inspiring and it is very inspiring to see all of the architecture. It's worth being the typical tourist to wander around and soak up all that is the Mall. Even as a local I would go here once a week just to take a deep breath and be a part of something so grand.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Mall also viewed

 

Been to National Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing