We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A good place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chalet Shimmin

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The sofa in the living room is also a double pull out bed Luxurious wrought iron kingsize bed in the main bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
The sofa in the living room is also a double pull out bed
Luxurious wrought iron kingsize bed in the main bedroom
Two twins which can be put together for couples
The living room has a flat screen tv, DVD player and opens up onto the balcony through 2 sets of dou
modern fully equipped kitchen with granite work tops, oven, microwave, toaster and kettle
bathroom has shower in bath
Double sinks, the bathroom also houses a washing machine and dryer
View of the Staubach falls from the Church
View of the Staubach falls from the school
Luterbach is the little stream that runs alongside the apartment
View from the balcony in fall.
Views from the road under the Staubach Falls
The white Lutschine which also runs alongside the apartment
Staubach Falls
Sheep at the base of the Staubach Falls
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region, Bernese Oberland, Canton of Bern

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Needyoura...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A good place to stay”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The chalet is a condo about a 15 minute walk from the train station nestled within other condo buildings which stand about 2 stories. This condo is on the second floor and from the balcony have great views of the valley walls, waterfalls, and some mountain tops. We have saved quite a bit by shopping at the local Coop and using the condo to eat our breakfast and dinners. The fact that it had a good washer and dryer saved us room when packing since we knew that we could wash our clothes prior to moving onto our next destination. The complex is away from the traffic and other noise so it was very peaceful. We did have a rental car and the building has its own designated parking which was not additional charge albeit my rental stayed in the garage for 3 days. Wifi was excellent enough to watch some Netflix movies at night. Our hostess laid out some tourist information but was not able to comment on her experiences. She also has some movies that you could pop into the dvd for nighttime veggie time.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances H
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy well equipped apartment in a beautiful valley close to public transport”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

A wonderful place to stay with the bus stop right outside the complex which is 5 mins by bus to the station of Lauterbrunnen. Couldn't fault the public transport in this whole area everything ran to perfect time.
The apartment is beautifully decorated and furnished with free wifi, dishwasher and washing machine/tumble dryer facilities which was very handy when you've got dirty clothes from hiking.
Lovely views of the valley waterfalls outside and on the balcony a great view of the Brighthorn mountain covered in snow.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBeanPA
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent base for 2 week holiday”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Having stayed in Lauterbrunnen on 2 previous occasions we, couple and a friend, were looking for a comfortable apartment with good facilities and, importantly for us, good views of the valley. This 2 bedroom, 1st floor apartment seemed to fit the bill a treat and it delivered. The accommodation was clean and comfortable with all the expected and necessary accruements. The accommodation proved an excellent base with 1) bus stop less than a minutes walk, 2) walks up or down the valley out of the door, 3) access to trains less than 15minute walk, 4) access to village and amenities less than 15 minute walk and 5) parking for the car which we only used once.

Booking of the apartment was done directly with the owners and could not have been easier, Heather and Tony were easy to communicate with and answered all of our questions promptly.

We had an excellent two week holiday in this amazing location and every day we were happy to retire back to our accommodation where we were able to sit on the veranda and take in the ever changing view down the valley.

There is absolutely no doubt that we will return and will look to book this apartment again, the only thing stopping us at the moment is the need to go back to work to raise the funds to do it!

Excellent holiday, Excellent base.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aly S
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location, Faboulous Views”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Lauterbrunnen is a fantastic place to base yourself, the station, only about a 10 minute stroll away is a hub for trains back to Interlaken, up the mountain to Wengen and the Jungfraujoch and the cable car to Murren and the Schilthorn. There is plenty to see and do here.

Chalet Shimmin, is in a brilliant location with fabulous views of the Lauterbrunnen Valley with it's waterfalls and snow capped peaks. The accommodation is second to none and seemed more like a home from home rather than a soulless holiday let, it's really comfortable and I loved the retro postcards and posters. I don't think the photos to the apartment justice and it seems a much bigger space.

Can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, views, comfort
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnen, Switzerland
Reviewed 24 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: towel service
Liked least: one bed-room was too hot, the other one too cold.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing