We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect if you like peace and tranquility”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Tavira, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
273tc
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Scenic Rural Accommodation, Would be Best in Sunny Weather”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Having a morning and afternoon patio was a bonus for warm outdoor meals. Kitchen was fine for our home cooked meals but too small for more than 2 cooks. Our weather was too cool for the pool but it looked inviting. Lovely views from the cottage patios with lots of birds and very pleasant walks on roads in the area which we tood advantage of in the evenings. The internal seating was limited however, so if you were to experience rain or cold there were no comfy chairs to sit and read (for example) though you could lie in the bed - there was a small table and firm chairs - a bit cramped when seating 4 indoors to eat. (2 of us stayed in the main section, 2 in adjoining apt) Access to local towns was very good, and we did quite a lot of walks. The cottage is only a short drive up a dirt road so quite accessible, and all on one level. WiFI, although not critical to us, seemed to be only briefly operational at breakfast and the evening. On a final note, If you don't like to be scrutinized/lectured for your power consumption on the morning of your leaving this place may not be for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, scenery, outdoor patios..
Liked least: Lack of good seating inside. WiFi. Owner attitude: the adjoining apt. rented indicated high consumption on the owner's meter, and no agreed cause could be reached as our described use was not accepted.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2016
Hi Tim,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at "Quinta da Murteira". We see that you enjoyed our environment but much less climatic conditions. In March the weather is usually sunny and the temperatures are around 25°. This was not the case and we regret that you had to stay confined inside the cottage. We can try to improve our facilities but can not, obviously, do anything about the weather.

Our cottage is located in a National Natural Reserve. Therefore the law on one hand and the "common sense" of the other require some rules and "responsible behavior". On arrival, we tried to explain to you some «  rules of use » but as you did not seem to be concerned, we told you that everything was explained on the brochure existing in each room.
We added that in case of doubt or request of information, we remained at your disposal . But we didn't have any contact with you during the three days of your stay.

Regarding your remarks, the cottage is fully compliant with the description given on Tripadvisor. You would find on our ad that there is no lounge nor comfortable « club » armchairs.

The other remarks show a misuse of the facilities :

-We absolutely not understand that two of you were forced to dinner in the next room. This room is absolutely not equipped for this. In case of bad weather (exceptional, again), there is enough space for dinner at four persons: two at the table and two at the bar (equipped with high chairs).

-The Wi-Fi: we have never had any complaints about it. On the contrary. There are two networks: ours (which is only accessible on the terraces of cottage) and an hotspot especially dedicated for guests (range of 200 meters) You chose the wrong one !

-At last, regarding the heathing, I find your term "scutinized" a little bit shocking. This is the intuition that led me to check the consumption of electricity. Result: In 3 days, almost 50% of the consumption done by the previous guests (who had stayed six weeks !!).I checked the heating thermostat. It indicated 30 ° C (86 ° F) !! Of course, I made you the remark but nobody listened and you left without a word.

Even if our guests describe our place as a "little paradise", sometimes some problems or failures may occur. Each time we are doing everything possible to resolve them. Difficult if we are not aware by the guests during their stay and, even more, if we learn it two months later!

Wishing you many trips in the future and new experiences,

Regards

Georges
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John A
Durness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect if you like peace and tranquility”
Reviewed 26 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed with Georges and Ann for four weeks, they were wonderful, helpful and friendly hosts but did not intrude in any way.
The location of Quinta de Murteira is ideal for visitors who enjoy fairly remote accommodation in beautiful countryside with lots of birds to observe.
The hosts provided us with much local information in English which enabled us to explore the surrounding area for spectacular walks and superb bird watching locations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The weather (we stayed during a period of unusually wet conditions)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
Uckfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace!”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely relaxing five nights here, peaceful and private and our hosts were available if needed but otherwise left us in peace to enjoy.
Stunning location, excellent directions and clean and tidy.
Would recommend to anybody looking for a quiet break away from the bigger resorts.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne0...
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A very private piece of Paradise!”
Reviewed 13 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Located away from traffic , surrounded by hills, birds and trees you feel you are in paradise but still only 25 minutes away from the beach! We rented the whole cottage so you have a piece of paradise for yourself.Cottage has everything you need. Little swimmingpool, nice deck and balcony at the back, nice for evening dinner and drinks. Owners are very helpful and wonderful friendly people, Restaurant and grocerystore not to far away but we bought are groceries in Tavera after spending a day at the beautiful beach of Baril. Lots of good restaurants in Tavera. This cottage is a beauty and we hope to come back again and spend a longer time there! Thx Georges and Anne for the wonderful stay !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frederiqu...
Conflans Sainte Honorine, France
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$83
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing