We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great and cozy house in a private beautiful...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Nirvana

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Tavira, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Jocelyn S
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Huge potential”
Reviewed 22 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is Dhiren's home that he lets out. It is not a pristine villa, it is his home that he moves out of. He built it himself, which is amazing.
The villa has wonderful views out across the hills and to the sea. It is remote, very remote and if you are looking for time away from civilization, this could be for you. There are lots of area to sit around the villa and our daughter loved the swimming pool. It was just big enough to have fun in but not a serious swim. Unfortunately due to the gusts of wind that the property gets, being in the hills only one umbrella was left. It would have been nice to have had two or at least one we could move around. The previous occupants had also managed to break alot of the crockery, but Dhiren was putting that right. He would have put it right before we left but we said not to bother, we were managing.

Finally, we were glad that we had gone for a larger SUV type car as the drive is not for the faint hearted, or for cars with low undercarriages, or too wide a car. We passed the start of the track as it didn't look like a road!

The local resturant was fabulous and not to be missed. Great food, very polite, reasonably priced and just lovely people. I would have walked but I was in the minority due to the heat and length of the hill top road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josefina2...
limburg
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great and cozy house in a private beautiful environment”
Reviewed 22 March 2015 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The location of the house was quite unique, in a positive way. Quite distant from towns etc. so it's very peaceful and you can see the stars in sky during nighttime. Sadly that does mean that you have to drive a while each time to get to the beach or towns. The first part of the road when leaving the house is a little bit rough but it's something every car can handle so it might be something that certain drivers do not prefer.

The house itself is quite big with enough rooms. We even had dutch television! The interior and design of the house was cheerful and positive but not too art-ish. Also, the pool and view are both great!


To sum everything up

Pros:
- Big house with enough rooms and space
- Cozy
- Your own pool
- Friendly owners
- beautiful environment
- Peaceful / privacy

Cons:
- Distance from civilization, 20min approx. to the nearest town.
- Road might be too "offroad" for some people

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paula v
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place if looking for peace and nature"”
Reviewed 17 December 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

"The place is just a dream. You'll find it at the end of a road, quite and peaceful. We spent a week during the spring break and we had just a great time. We spent most of the time in the outdoor areas, having breakfast, lunch and dinner taking pleasure of the amazing views. The pool was just crystalline.
In the inside, the house is exactlly as you see in the pictures, simple and colorfull. Kitchen is well equiped. If you like to cook, wich is my case, don't doubt it, drive down to Tavira market and enjoy the experience buying the local products, incredibly fresh fish, see food, vegetables & fruits. Tavira is a charming village to walk and discover. If you are looking for a peaceful time, this is the place. We would love to go back again.

Dirhen was easy to reach, helpful and flexible during the whole process. "

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heavenly quiet with splendid views”
Reviewed 16 December 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We (family with a 7 year old daughter) spent two fantastic weeks at Casa Nirvana end of August/beginning of September. If you are looking for a very quiet place that takes you right into the heart of nature, this probably is the place to go. We were very happy to find such a nice place and can't wait to go back next year :-)

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz T
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Blissful tranquility......”
Reviewed 16 December 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have been taking our relaxation break in September and in the Eastern Algarve for over 20 years now, and have rented many properties, all very different. Casa Nirvana is set in idyllic hillside surroundings not too far from Tavira, a favourite location for us, and about 20 minutes from this beautiful house. It is very secluded and quite remote, this makes it the ideal place to totally relax and unwind, and we did. The property is unique and has obviously been built with love by the owner Dhiren who told us he built Casa Nivana 25 years ago. I think the inside clearly reflects the owner's peaceful character, it was exactly as the beautiful photos on the website indicated. Both my husband and myself slept very well, the area is just so quiet and at night just peace and a clear, clear night sky free from light pollution, the star gazing was incredible. The decor and layout of the house is very unique, Dhiren told us that one of the rooms was often used for yoga, and I can imagine that meditation would be easy in the totally tranquil surroundings, I could feel the stresses of the preceding year just melt away - bliss. The cobalt blue pool was just beautiful and warm days and balmy evenings meant my last swim of the day was often just before supper, a fact that made my sister back in the UK very jealous as she was turning her central heating on back at home! My husband would even swim late at night as he said the cooler night air made the water feel even warmer. It was glorious and totally private. All the facilities were adequate for our needs. We cooked some excellent meals, including fresh fish from the market in Tavira, barbecues of course, chicken, rabbit, pork and fish with lovely salads, and all so cheap compared to English prices. We were mindful not to use the BBQ if it was too windy, but this certainly didn't spoil our enjoyment. All in all, a most beautiful location, unique and relaxing house lovingly restored by the owner. A perfect fortnight thank you, and we're looking forward to returning in Sept 2015 xxx

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was completely remote and relaxing, the house was ideal for just getting away from it all
Liked least: A longer drive than usual to the nearest town
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$614
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing