We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful villa. We felt really at home there.”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool and Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and Terrace
Aerial
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Pool and Terrace
Aerial
Games Room and Bar
Cinema Room
Large Lounge Area
Outside Dining Table and BBQ
Rear of Villa from Garden
View of Games Room
Fully Equipped Gym
Bedroom 1 King Size
Bedroom 1 Bathroom
Bedroom 1 Outside Bath and Terrace
Bedroom 2 Twin Beds
Bedroom 2 Bathroom
Front of Villa
Bedroom 3 Bathroom
Bedroom 5 King Size
Bedroom 5 Bathroom
View of Garden
Apartment King Size Bedroom
Apartment Lounge
Apartment Bathroom
Chandelier Hallway & Entrance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
9 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Tavira, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DEBS_BED2...
Halifax, United Kingdom
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful villa. We felt really at home there.”
Reviewed 5 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A great villa. Really clean and tidy with everything we needed. The welcome pack was a lovely touch and much appreciated. Rachel managed to get the property ready for our arrival so we had no waiting around. This was really helpful as we had young children in our party. Our thanks go to Mark and Rachel, who were really helpful replying to emails quickly and answering any questions we had. This made our stay even more pleasurable. Mark the chef was fantastic and cooked for our party of 21 on 2 occasions. The children enjoyed the pool, football pitch and all the space for running around. Lots of good memories made that will last forever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Customer service and wonderful facilities that made it home from home
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenMas_11
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just got back from a weeks stay at Casa Raposa. It was truly amazing!!! We were a group of 18 - 9 adults, 9 children (ages 1-9). This place was totally perfect for us. The finish on the property is to a very high standard and the facilities were brilliant. The pool area is really lovely and we spent hours out there. The kids and men loved using the football pitch and we all enjoyed a game of pool. If it got too hot, the cinema room was perfect for the children to go and watch a film (there are loads to choose from) or play on the x box. They also used this a lot in the evenings. The screen is huge so they all did feel like they were in their own cinema. There is also a big selection of comedy DVDs which the adults watched a few times in the games room. The games room has the full sky package so the men enjoyed keeping up with the Ashes! The hous really is a dream holiday home.

The location was good too. We had no problems finding it with the detailed instructions that were given to us. Tavira is a ten minute drive (you will need a car). The town is lovely. We visited a few times. We went to the beach once which was lovely. The ferry is every half hour but gets busy so be prepared to wait. The ladies of the group also had a night out in the town. With a recommendation, we went to a place called D'Gusto. It was fabulous! Tapas style food. Good service and very reasonable. It's really busy so you will need to book.

After reading the reviews, we booked chef Mark for the second night we arrived. It was first class! We asked for the waiter (Serge) who was fantastic. Really friendly and very helpful. The food was delicious. Mark and Serge came, laid the table, served all the food and drinks then cleaned everything away. It was brilliant. It felt like eating in a restaurant but we could eat without the children and them being happy and safe in the cinema room. It was so good we booked them again which was equally as good. His link is http://markwilson98.wix.com/chef-to-you-tavira.

Finally I want to talk about the over all service we received. We really could not of asked for better. Firstly Mark, the owner, was incredibly helpful. I sent numerous emails on the run up to the holiday and he was always really prompt with his replies and nothing felt too much for him. He left us a welcome pack (free of charge) including beers, bread milk etc. which was a really nice touch. Then, there was Rachel. She looks after the villa for mark. She also was helpful with emails before the holiday and met us on the day. She had the villa all ready for us and showed us around. She was so friendly and gave us lots of tips. We phoned her a couple of times for advice and she was great. Could not of been any more helpful.

I know this is a long review but I really wanted to get across how great this place is. We all hope to return as soon as we can. Thank you to all involved in making are holiday so wonderful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanSimpso...
France
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great for a big family group”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Chose this villa because of the number of bedrooms and variety of activities (just in case weather let us down).

Easy to find but a little away from Tavira and the small local village.

In the event this mattered little as we enjoyed excellent weather throughout and the video/games room and the gym were little used.

The space allowed our varied group to spread out and chill in the own way.

Not totally without problems - the Playstation and Xbox caused some frustration (but were fixed by Management Company - Thank You Rachel); the ice making machine broke down and the TV setup caused some confusion. Nothing serious though.

The owners had left beer, water and bread but with such a large group we were shopping every other day.

In terms of the accommodation, the upstairs bedrooms and apartment were fine, but those who used them found the three downstairs bedrooms a bit dark.

We also employed Mark Wood, a chef recommended by the owner, for a celebration meal which was excellent and a welcome change from BBQs.

Tavira is a nice little place - easy to walk around - with just enough shops and plenty of restaurants. The offshore beach, reached by little ferry, is excellent with loungers, shade and plenty of bars/restaurants on hand. (Tip - use ferry point just south of town - Quatro Aguas - which is quicker and more frequent than the main town ferry point which was very crowded at busy times)

Overall an excellent stay with few problems.

Thank you Mark.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and facilities
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill H
Uckfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, I want to come back again next year”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

One of the party luckly found the villa on the web. It's a great villa in a good location.
It's a very big villa over 3 floors and really is 8,000 sq ft, and it will sleep 20, we had a party of 12 which meant we had plenty of room to spare. Mark the owner turned out to be a really decent bloke which is always a plus. He lives loacally so can tell you the best places to go.
It's a good idea hire a car for trips to the shops. There is an excellent taxi compnay (Pedros taxis) they turned up on time, spoke good English and looked after us.
The local village is about a 15 min walk and has a good local restarunt, run by Lewis, he even drove some of us home after a heavy night. The main town Tavira, is about 5 miles away, it has some good reseraunts and has an authentic feel to it.
A great time was had by all, you really can buy good local wine in the Aldi for under 3 euros a bottle. I'm planning on coming back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Villa, location, owner and weather
Liked least: it was all good
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwelveMon...
Wakefield
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“WOW! Fantastic villa and holiday”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Found this villa quite by chance searching for a place for me and 18 family members to stay (yup - 18 family members...).

From the outset, the owner was very honest and helpful all through the booking process and leading up to the holiday. The management company looking after the villa were fantastic - meeting us there late on arrival and then regular meetings / calls to ensure everything was going well – I got the impression I could call anytime with any question and they would be there – brilliant service.

The villa itself is just incredible. Finished to an excellent standard with great facilities and plenty of room and space for everyone to spread out.

It's about 15 min walk to a Santo Estevao - a small village with bar / restaurant / SPAR sized shop / chemists / cafe / church. A 15 min drive / taxi into Tavira - a delightful large / small feel town with everything you need. The taxi service from the villa to Tavira cost around 12 Euro's each way, and the drivers are great - didn't have a bad experience in two weeks.

Back to the villa - pool large enough for everyone to get in. Gym / sauna / steam room etc. Fantastic cinema / play station room. All the bedrooms are en-suite and all the en-suites are immaculate. All bedrooms have free-view tv and air-con. All the bedrooms are a good size, however the master bedroom is HUGE. Other facilities include large football pitch (we played five-a-side more than once). Basketball net. Volleyball net. Table Tennis. Pool table. Trampoline. Effectively the kids were never bored.

Two large screen tv's (one in the large lounge and one in the large games room) both with Sky TV.

The kitchen is very well stocked and very big - the pictures do not do justice to it at all - easily enough prep / storage / cooking space for 20 and no shortage of cutlery / plates etc for everyone. Amply seating to get everyone around the table outside near the large BBQ for meals.

The airport transfers as recommended by the owner were excellent.

Also, at the owners advice, we had in a local chef to cook us a meal (for 19), serve it, and clean up afterwards - it was easily the best 20 euros per head we spent all week - so much so we had him in twice. The food was excellent and he and his wife were really decent people.

In summary – you’ll be hard pushed to find anywhere better for 20 people. An amazing villa tucked away in a nice quiet spot but not completely isolated. You’ll need a car for runs to the supermarket but the taxi service is excellent. I cannot recommend this place highly enough for a large family / friends holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the build and space around the place
Liked least: It took a few days to get our heads around feeding 19 people, but this is nothing to do with the villa.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing