We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a simple stop”
Review of Hotel Jelgava

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Jelgava
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jelgava
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We choose this city, Jelgawa, 50 km away of Riga, an it was worth. The Hotel is well located near the river, in front a church (the tower in front my room window). Gunta in reception, very nice ! - kind person. Room with every necessary: complimentary drinks, frigidaire, TV, wifi...Correct price. Perhaps my mistake was no include the breakfast (no other coffee shop near hotel), but close the hotel, rest. Herzog, we have a good dinner and the best tarte tatin in years. New attractive peatonal bridge aside the hotel. Full of place for free parking aside the building.

Room Tip: I only know my room. Looking the church. It was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llampec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights due to a conference I was attending at the Latvia Univ of Agriculture. The Univ main building and other faculties I needed to visit were all within walking distance. The bedroom and bathroom were well-equipped, including tea and coffee making facilities. The bed had an interesting net canopy which I was not sure whether it had a functional or aesthetic purpose; but still it added charm. The room size was fine for me and my husband. Breakfast was adequate, with a good selection of hot and cold items. The front desk staff were very courteous. The lobby music was fairly loud in the first evening and we could hear it in our room. When I called the desk, the volume was turned down immediately. Also, when after the first night i complained that the bed covering smelt of cigarettes (I had asked for a non-smoking room), they immediately removed it and next day we had a fresh- smelling one. The hotel was suitable for exploring the main sights in Jelgava and there was a selection of restaurants to suit different budgets and tastes in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Rooms vary in size from very small to quite large (and not based on price!) Corner rooms are very nice and have the added bonus of a large comfy sofa. Others are adequate. Twin rooms have small singles (2'6") and only one beside table which inconveniently, is not between the beds!
Having sad that, the rooms are pleasantly furnished, light and airy and very clean.
No fridge which would be a bonus and they have not yet cottoned on to the pleasantries of tea/coffee facilities in the room.
Bathroom is small but nice shower, plenty of hot water and an adjustable shower head. Towels are modestly sized!
It is very noisy if you are at the front of the hotel as you are right on a very busy street and the traffic runs all night. There is no aircon so having the window open is a necessity in summer. The curtains are also very thin so in summer the combination of an open window (to ease the heat) and thin curtains made for an interrupted sleep due to light and noise. Take eye shades.
The bar area is very nice as is the terrace and breakfast room.
The breakfast lest something to be desired. There is a choice of hot food. Scrambled eggs, the quality of which varied hugely over the three mornings I was there, sausages and vegetables. Also some tinned fruit, yogurt, meat and cheese. Bread is provided for toasting, but it is a domestic toaster which is somewhat temperamental and required some specialist handling. Toast is possible if you have patience.
Waitress rather fed up and slow to clear tables and replenish buffet.
For the money, a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you like windows open or a cool room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Landican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This was our second visit. The hotel is undergoing large tranformations to its bar and restaurant. Will be nice when finished. At the moment though the cafe/bar as such is only open until 9.00pm and there is nowhere else in the vicinity to get refreshments.

We were a party of 55 people on a classic motorbike rally and the hotel could have made lots of money on drinks and refreshments - a bit short sighted of them bearing in mind the Latvians are all moaning about the reduced pay forced on them due to their economy being in dire straits.

Having said that, I am sure this is only temporary. The rooms are very nicely equipped and furnished, cannot be faulted. The hotel is right next to the Jelgava Palace and the centre of town but is very quiet. They have secure gated parking which is limited but satuisfactory.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perle369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. Friendly staff.
Internet works very well in some rooms. The location is excellent. Breakfest is available in the hotel. For other meals can highly recommend restaurant Madara, located on the same street, several blocks away from the hotel

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zemgale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jelgava
39.6 km away
Rixwell Bauska Hotel
Rixwell Bauska Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bauska
38 reviews
36.8 km away
Kolonna Hotel Brigita
Kolonna Hotel Brigita
#69 of 110 in Riga
81 reviews
36.1 km away
Baltic Beach Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
JLG Hostel
JLG Hostel
#3 of 4 in Jelgava
3 reviews
2.4 km away
No photo provided
Hotel Dianda
#2 of 2 in Jelgava
1 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Senlici
Hotel Senlici
#1 of 4 in Jelgava
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jelgava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jelgava

Address: Liela iela 6, Jelgava 3001, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Zemgale Region > Jelgava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jelgava
Price Range: R1 040 - R1 728 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jelgava 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Jelgava is ideally situated in the very center of the city, 400 meters from Jelgava Palace, 200 meters from Jelgava Holy Trinity Church Tower, 500 meters from Jelgava History and Art Museum of Gedert Elias, 500 meters from The Lielupe Bank Promenade, Pasta Island with beach and just a 10-minute walk from Jelgava's bus station. Restaurant serves European and traditional Latvian cuisine. In the summer it is possible to enjoy your time in terrace “Garden of birds”. Restaurant and summer garden has a playground for children. Hotel Jelgava guests can use morning sauna and Turkish bath free of extra charge. It is possible to order a massage, enjoy various treatments at beauty parlors and in hairdressing salon. Hotel has 3 conference halls (20-70persons). Here you can have your wedding ceremonies, banquets and corporate events. Hotel offers free parking and free Wireless Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Jelgava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing