We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Zemgale(Jelgava)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Aitinlauvas(Jelgava)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Motel Akva(Jelgava)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Senlici(Jelgava)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
JLG Hostel(Jelgava)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hotel Dianda(Jelgava)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
22
17
12
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
17
12
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrecommend this hotelcentral locationnice and clean hotelwalking distanceriveragriculturereceptionist
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This was our second visit. The hotel is undergoing large tranformations to its bar and restaurant. Will be nice when finished. At the moment though the cafe/bar as such is only open until 9.00pm and there is nowhere else in the vicinity to get refreshments.

We were a party of 55 people on a classic motorbike rally and the hotel could have made lots of money on drinks and refreshments - a bit short sighted of them bearing in mind the Latvians are all moaning about the reduced pay forced on them due to their economy being in dire straits.

Having said that, I am sure this is only temporary. The rooms are very nicely equipped and furnished, cannot be faulted. The hotel is right next to the Jelgava Palace and the centre of town but is very quiet. They have secure gated parking which is limited but satuisfactory.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perle369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. Friendly staff.
Internet works very well in some rooms. The location is excellent. Breakfest is available in the hotel. For other meals can highly recommend restaurant Madara, located on the same street, several blocks away from the hotel

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zemgale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2008

Googling Jelgava hotels only ever brought up this hotel so your not spoilt for choice like its neighbour Riga.

I booked this hotel on the morning of arrival as the only other offer I had was mattress on the floor of a dorm in a wedding reception. I opted for the Jelgava hotel. The prices are reasonable and posted on their website. We paid 39 Lat for the night including breakfast which we never made it down for. I heard no complaints from the others about the food so thats as much as I can say.

The hotel was built in 1939 and has not changed much since. Built solidly with marble and solid walls (no partitions here). There are no lifts so its not good for the challenged.

The hotel needs a good kick into the 21st Century but for an overnighter after a wedding reception, it mattered little. One of the first colour tvs in Riga was present in our room, check out my attached candid photos.

I stayed in the smallest room 17m2 and for the two of us with two single beds, it was fine.

Mattress's were soft, pillow was a disaster, some of the lower sheets were torn. The bathroom was as clean as the cleaners were going to get it without having to resort to industrial cleaning machines. There was the usual old hotel issues like brown stains around the edges of the shower, dirty grouting. The toilet and sink were very clean. There are high ceilings of a building from that period.

For me the hotel served its purpose. I am not used to budget accomodation like that but there was nothing else on offer.

Its on a busy road and we had the window open at night and in the morning. It was very noisy so try to get a room facing the river which is a dead end so little traffic other than residual from the road.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank BertieBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2008

The choice of hotels in Jelgava is pretty limited so this is how I ended up in Hotel Jelgava. It is true that it is a cheap hotel but fankly if you dont need to stay in Jelgava, I advise you to go to Riga for the night.

While the hotel has a no smoking policy, the rooms smelled badly of smoke. The furniture are old, so are the beds. The room I stayed in was kind of clean but I did not dare inspecting it too much. The water coming from the bathroom tab was brown.

The breakfast was basic but ok-ish. There was no lift in the hotel.

I would not recommend this hotel unless you have no other choice.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank bionix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews