We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$154
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$87
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$106/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$161
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Red Emperor Bar and Hostel(Tallinn)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$142
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
16eur Old Town Munkenhof Guesthouse(Tallinn)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$87
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$106/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hostel Old Town Alur(Tallinn)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Telegraaf(Tallinn)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (881)
Filter reviews
881 results
Traveller rating
292
417
132
29
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
417
132
29
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelold townhotel is locatedstreet noisetoompea hillrooms are smallnice stayminute walkcomfortable bedsuperior roomsingle roombeautiful citythree nightsnice breakfastshort staybreakfast was includedthe air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 881 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

We came for a weekend stay, to a modern 4 star hotel. Our room was to the street. The room temperature was +26C and really hot. We tried to adjust the temperature but nothing happened. The receptions lady told us that the airconditioning is broke, but she couldn't change us to another room. Her solution was to keep the window open and to use a fan to move the hot air in the room.

We tried to sleep with the window open, but it was impossible due to the very loud traffic noise coming from outside.
After a horrible, sleepless night we contacted the reception again. At this point the room temperature was +27C and the room totally unlivable. The reception was practically rude and charged us more money to move into a livable room.

We are never staying in this hotel again and I most certainly do not recommend it. I do not know where the hotel got 4 stars, it is definerly overrated.

Other notes, the shower does not have a curtain or anything, so the place is wet after a shower. No counter in the bathroom. In a three person room the third bed is a mattress on the floor.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Helena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lermitage2016, Guest Relations Manager at L'Ermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Helena,
We appreciate the feedback. We're disappointed your stay with us was less than ideal.
We care about the comfort of our guests so it's unfortunate that your room was hotter than it should be. We strive to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience so we'll be sure to discuss your feedback with the appropriate members of our team moving forward.
We hope you allow us the opportunity to apologize once more about inconveniences.
Best Regards,
Kerli Marmor/ Hotel L'Ermitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Visited there September when it was that warm outside. The room temperature was above 25 with no possibility to adjust. I could not keep the windows open due to the constant noice of the traffic. The service and response was extremely bad. Never again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Johanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lermitage2016, Guest Relations Manager at L'Ermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you for the feedback, Johanna.
We are always working our hardest to provide a high-quality experience for all of our guests. We regret to hear that we didn't meet your expectations and room was too hot. Last week was warmer and sunnier than usual in Tallinn and this could cause higher temperatures in the room. We will share your concerns regarding our accommodations with our team moving forward.
Best Regards, Kerli Marmor/ Hotel L'Ermitage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

The rooms were nice and and clean and the bed was comfortable. On the downside, we didn't receive our room on time, the staff felt tired and absent and the breakfast wasn't anything special. Also when I tried to adjust the shower temperature for cooler water, the knob kept moving back to 40 degrees. Or maybe I just don't know how to use a shower, damn.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jussi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lermitage2016, Guest Relations Manager at L'Ermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Jussi,
First, I would like to thank you for the positive comments about our property - we are glad that you liked our hotel room and comfortable beds. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn´t as pleasant as it should have been. I will forward all your feedback to the property management. Thank you so much for helping us to improve our service. I hope you will give us another chance and we will see you again.
Kind Regards, Kerli Marmor, Hotel L'Ermitage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel several years ago, was quite satisfied. This time the double rom was in the part which opens to the inner yard. It brings dome inconviniences: your room is transparet to the opposite rooms unless you shut the curtains. Petty thing but matters for me as I like the windows to have open view.
Would be better to have sepatrate gel for shower and shampoo, now it is one bottle pomp.
Another detail- pillows in our room were worn enough, and in my opinion, need to be replaced.
Breakfast is Ok. As the hotel was fully booked, the. Reskfast was served in the restaurant and thecwaiters were not quite quick to clean the tables.
The receptionists were great and charming.
The location is just perfect, a bit aside from the Old Tallinn, but in 10 minutes walk along the park or gardens, you are in the downtown
To sum up, they manage to keep the standard.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lermitage2016, Guest Relations Manager at L'Ermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear guest, First of all I would like to thank you for your kind review.
It is our pleasure to hear that you decided to visit us again and your stay with us was as pleasant as several years ago. Thank you for mentioning friendly staff- I will give your regards to our reception team.
Thank you for mentioning the details- pillows and shower gel/ shampoo. We will keep your comments in mind as we are constantly looking for ways to improve our guests satisfaction and improve service quality. Once again, your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back again in L'Ermitage.
Kerli Marmor/ Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed from 12th to the 15th and not impressed at all. From the impolite welcome from the moody receptionist to the noisy room and dreadful breakfast. Don't get me wrong the room was big and clean thanks to the friendly cleaners but it was like a oven. The thermostat for the aircon didn't work which meant the window had to be left open. Great until 5 in morning when woken by the linen delivery. The driver liked to sing but unfortunately couldn't. This was followed by the constant slamming of (i am guessing the staff entrance door). Now i have stayed in a lot of hotels in Estonia over 11 years and know breakfast can be a bit chaotic and not the best but this was awful! Not a great selection and nowhere to sit. So three stars for location, comfy bed (but no sleep) and friendliness of the cleaning staff.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank carl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lermitage2016, Guest Relations Manager at L'Ermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Carl b,
Thank you for your review!
I'm really happy to hear you liked our location and hotel room with comfortable beds.
Thank you for mentioning the cleaning staff and their friendliness. As in high season they really work hard- they will be extremely happy to hear, that their efforts have been noticed also from the client side.
At the same time we're sorry the stay didn't go completely as planned - we will use your feedback to improve our services in the future. I will forward your comments about linen service to our laundry service provider.
We hope to have you as our customer in the future!
Best wishes from Tallinn and L'Ermitage,
Kerli Marmor/ Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews