We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Babel Budapest Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 3 690 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: District V / Inner City
Description: HUBERT HLATKY-SCHLICHTER’S RESTAURANT provides an unprecedented fine dining experience in Budapest. Its Hungarian-regional kitchen reaches beyond the borders of Hungary even trough Transylvania to gather inspirations but sources 75 % of the ingredients here, while meeting the highest international standards. In the kitchen, two chefs work in perfect harmony: Istvan Veres and Gabor Langer, who both returned from abroad to work in Babel Budapest. The wine list features a unique selection of more than 140 Hungarian wines, carefully chosen from within the Carpathian basin by sommelier Peter Blazsovszky to best accompany the dishes.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We went there for a dinner on a Thursday night. The booking was made, supposedly, automatically and I was, supposedly, to wait for 10 minutes for the confirmation, in fact it took 12 hours for it to arrive but never mind, the general experience made up for it.

We settled for a five-course menu. The combination of the food, serving, service, wine selection and the show part around the particular parts of the menu were top level. I was to stress the egg noodles, a Hungarian classic boosted with truffles to a sky-high level. To me this was both a nod towards the Hungarian cuisine and a wink: this is what one can make out of it. The fact that only Hungarian wines were served, that they were mostly white and that the selection was not banal deserves praise too.

The almost entirely perfect experience was tainted by a minor factor: the music selection (mostly jazzy covers of pop classics), put against the careful composition of the tastes, the sight and the show, struck as accidental. More effort put into music better matching the core parts of the Babel experience would do the place a great service. Altogether however, respect!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jerzyBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fruzsina K, Marketing Manager at Babel Budapest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 39 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018

We travelled specially to Budapest to visit Babel. The trip was well worth it. We had the 9 course tasting menu with matched Hungarian wines – all white bar one rose. The food was exceptional – we particularly liked the artichoke starter, the sea bass and the pigeon. The dishes were not too complicated, but combined unexpected flavours. There were several amazing and original amuse bouches. The owner made us very welcome; we also met the young and inspiring chef and heard about his previous experience.
This was a truly memorable evening in a very comfortable atmosphere with an attentive and helpful staff and comparable if not better than our experiences at Noma and the Fat Duck.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Elma39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fruzsina K, Marketing Manager at Babel Budapest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

We were a party of 6 and had the 9- course tasting menu with the wines selected to accompany. The food was excellent with the consommé, sea bass and pigeon courses being particularly good. Lots of little details and the service were all first rate. The Hungarian wines were really interesting - all white and all matched the food really well. A great experience I can only recommend to others.

Thank Sheena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We travelled to Budapest especially to eat here! My husband had read a spectacular review for it last year in Decanter magazine, who have since named it their restaurant of the year in 2017.
The meal was wonderful, the best meal I have ever eaten.
We had the 9 course taster menu with matched wines, beautifully presented, imaginatively conceived and perfectly executed course after course were served up with equally amazing wines.
The restaurant is really well designed, not too big with a relaxed atmosphere. One wall of mirror with hidden loo door and coat cupboard, one wall glass with a view to the wine cellar all in glass and beyond to the adjoining brasserie.
What an inspired choice to give a platform to such a young and gifted chef and to marry his food with the sommelier's fabulous Hungarian wines, I hope we can return soon for another meal here, it was a really memorable experience.

Thank MuttonSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

Babel restaurant provides the best fine dining experience in Budapest. It is truly amazing! It’s not only the food, but also the service that makes this place absolutely outstanding. In fact after trying the restaurant we have decided to hold our wedding dinner here. I’m very happy to say that it was the best choice we could make. We had a fantastic evening and all of our guests enjoyed the restaurant and it’s superb service. I also need to mention that the place is in an excellent location and has a very special, cozy vibe. I can only recommend it and wish to return soon.

Thank Esther G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fruzsina K, Marketing Manager at Babel Budapest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Babel Budapest Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Babel Budapest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing