We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveller rating
341
128
35
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
128
35
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castle district buda side suite hotel romantic package huge suite number bus living room kitchen facilities matthias church complimentary bottle of wine beautiful hotel star hotel small kitchen quiet at night welcome drink the river the staff were extremely helpful
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 525 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2015

Back in Budapest for a long weekend and the Christmas markets - stayed at this great hotel accommodation. Its in a really quiet spot but surrounded with places of historical interest and a great array of small but good restaurants. Now here's the thing - note the focus on accommodation because that's the big attraction - huge spacious cosy rooms, many with a dining area and kitchenette where you could easily dine in. For the money (we paid about $100 per night) its excellent value but note we can`t comment on the restaurant as it remained very quiet during our stay and with a host of good options nearby for breakfast, we didn't think the buffet on offer @ $17 a head looked worth the money. Aside from that - this is a great spot. One thing to be aware of - this is an old building beautifully refurbished but it has no lifts - that said staff will happily carry your bags for you but its not wheelchair friendly. By the way - the staff a great!!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PF1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGeorgeResidence, Director of Sales at St. George Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to review our Property and for your kind words regarding the location, accommodation and additional facilities our Hotel offers that could not be found in a standard hotel room. It is a pity that you have not given a chance to our St. George Restaurant & Café which is trying to take guests back to the atmosphere of the onetime Pest and Buda with its Hungarian and International dishes & daily special and offering to the guests of the Hotel a 20 % off from the dishes of the Standard Menu. I do not know whether you are aware of that the walls of the Restaurant and Café are adorned with 18th century paintings in the rare Colonial and Oriental-Hindi style depicting exotic plants and birds. These paintings were made by József Schöfft and József Serovits masters in decorative paintings and are an important vestige of the cafe art in Pest and Buda of the 18th century. Regarding your comment as to the price of the breakfast we shall consider it but being a 26 suite Hotel only it is a real challenge to offer a variety of quality food that a 5-star 200-room Hotel offers for breakfast. With regard to our breakfast we try to focus on a fair variety of quality food which we may offer at €15 per person. At the same time we are happy to hear that your 2nd stay with is not your last one and that you are planning to stay with us in the future as well! Believe us this is the greatest appreciation of our work.
Kind regards,
Andrea Farkas, Sales Manager, St. George Residence All Suite Hotel de Luxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2015

I was lucky enough to get a room here at this historical hotel that makes you feel like you were staying in a private mansion. The staircase and hallways are opulent but still warm and inviting. Our room was on the 2nd floor so that made it easier with our luggage as I was traveling with an 84 year old. I think the receptionist saw this and purposely put us there. I thank her for that. While I would have liked a room with a sofa, once we settled in, this suite was perfect. We used the kitchen facilities and the dining room and enjoyed our view out to the street in front of the hotel. While we even opened the windows (as the a/c didn't function for us), it was not noisy. The location cannot be beat and we enjoyed the easy access to all things on Castle Hill. As others have written about the sites, they are much nicer after the usual crowds depart and this hotel made them easily accessible. The price was also excellent and I know when I return to Budapest (which we loved), I will stay here again.

Room Tip: All good but if you have mobility issues try for ones on the lower floors.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelLee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
323Andrea, Director of Sales at St. George Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review our Property and for compiling a summary which might prove to be useful and informative for those guests who are considering staying with us for the first time.

Thank you for highlighting the benefits our Hotel offers for families while travelling with a senior family member and how an equipped kitchenette, a dining table and a sofa bed may contribute to the comfort of the stay. It was nice to hear that the historical nature of the building and its furnishings does not take away from the family and friendly atmosphere within the Hotel.

We shall check what might have been wrong with the A/C in your suite, thank you for drawing our attention to this.

And of course you are right while saying that the surroundings are even more beautiful than what the guests are writing about them. And those who stay with us may enjoy this premier view even at night.

Should you decide to stay with us next time, please be informed that you qualify for our Loyalty Bonus which allows for a 10 % off our Standard (Best Available) Rates, it is valid for direct bookings only made via phone, e-mail and our official website (for the Promo Code, please send an e-mail to info@stgeorgehotel.hu)

Looking forward to serve you in our Hotel soon.

Kind regards,
Andrea Farkas, Sales Manager, St. George Residence Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2015

I stayed at St. George's for a wedding at Matthias Church. It was a perfect spot for a small reception. The rooms were gorgeous and the price was just right. The staff was very friendly and helpful to these lost tourists.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dlbmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StGeorgeResidence, Director of Sales at St. George Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our property.

It makes us happy that you have found our suites to be comfortable and our staff to be friendly and helpful during your stay with us which was related to a small wedding reception held in our historical hotel located in the Castle Hill of Buda.

We hope that should you decide to visit Budapest next time you will stay with us. Do not forget that we offer a Loyalty Bonus for our Returning Guests, for its Promo Code, please contact our Front Office at info@stgeorgehotel.hu

Kind regards,
Andrea Farkas
Sales Manager
St. George Residence All Suite Hotel de Luxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

Purchased on hotels.com so you never know what you're really getting till you get there.
The St George residence is a 200 year old, modernized hotel with 60 spacious rooms and Wifi in the room that actually works.
The sitting room with a beautiful inlaid wood floor and kitchenette with microwave, refrigerator and stove is bigger than our 5 star hotel in Paris and has fully modern bathroom facilities.
You get the feel you are in Fausts' office with a time warp modernization.
It was raining when we arrived but the street and neighboring area is breath taking.
Add to it, several restaurants and attractions within walking distance and excellent staff, this is one of the best value properties I've visited in a long time?

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank OC-RaiderFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

I recently attended a wedding reception at the St. George Residence & also stayed as a guest for two nights. The hotel itself is gorgeous & each room has a similar old world charm with a unique design & set up. The staff helped us with calling cabs, expedited laundry given our short stay timeline, and set up the most beautiful reception banquet table I've ever seen. The meal at the reception was delicious & they also served wonderful Hungarian wines & champagne. I was very impressed with the St. George Residence. My only heads-up for American visitors would be that the St. George has luxury whirlpool baths with detachable shower heads, but no standing shower head mount. This wasn't an issue for us at all, but it's nice information to prepare for when traveling abroad.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
Thank alathea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews