We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Corinthia Hotel Budapest(Budapest)
US$340
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
NH Budapest City(Budapest)
US$191
US$177
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$490
US$384
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$351
US$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$191
US$172
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$229
US$220
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$350
US$286
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$753
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3 797)
Filter reviews
3 797 results
Traveller rating
2 682
756
226
75
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2 682
756
226
75
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboscolo budapestbeautiful hotelautograph collectionny cafeupgraded to a junior suitestar hotelsteam roomthe riverbreakfast is servedbeautiful roomspa facilitiessparkling winehop on hopreception arealong weekendbreakfast roomjewish quarter
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 3 797 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2017

“Impressive” and “Beautiful” are words that come to mind upon entering the palace or castle like structure of Boscolo Hotel. Immediately you get the impression (and well deserved) of great service and warmth. The staff is well trained and welcoming in all respects. My upgraded larger 5th floor room was delightful – spacious and well appointed. It was substantially quiet, facing inside a courtyard. There’s really good interior lighting if you wish, or not. The bath area is also sizable but with only one sink, not two (which I would have otherwise expected given the overall breadth of space, and quality of the hotel). Turn down service is provided nightly. Wi-fi for Marriott members is complimentary and good.

The hotel lobby area is filled with music at many times during the day, emanating from the open New York Café within. Delightful. Breakfast buffet is substantial -- and complimentary for Gold/Platinum Marriott members. Nice perk! Get there before 9 a.m. to be assured immediate seating. Custom orders are accepted.

Notwithstanding these attributes, there are some structural issues which are worth mentioning. First, the digital TV advertises 45 channels but in reality only 30 of them are working. You frequently encounter the video error message “Channel Unavailable”. The front desk reported to me that this is a common occurrence due to the cable or satellite service being purchased from Germany. I didn’t understand why, but apparently it’s not a new issue at all.

The shower/bath combo is, in my opinion, dangerous. While climbing over the side of the bath tub to get into the shower isn’t so bad (as you can grab a bar to stabilize yourself), I feared for my life in climbing out. I’m in pretty good shape but still felt like I could slip and hurt myself each time I left the completed shower. Further, the shower temperature itself, especially in the morning hours, was subject to wild fluctuations. Once you think that you’ve established a comfortable, stable temperature for the overhead shower, you can suddenly, and without any notice, be nearly scalded by a rapid rise in water heat, and have to back out quickly. It happened to me almost every day.

The hair dryer, while nicely affixed to the bathroom wall and easily accessible, is of inferior quality. It might have enough drying power for a man’s hair, but I doubt it’s sufficient for women. I would only hope that the hotel has extra portable high power hair dryers for those who need it, which would be a pain in any case because you have to ask for it. Much better to simply have really good hair dryers in each room.
Lastly, there’s a complimentary fitness room available with some good equipment but only one elliptical cardio trainer, which unfortunately was out of order. There were at least two cardio machines of other varieties (walking/running track and cycling). Probably makes sense to have two elliptical machines in case one goes out of order, as was the case here.

So, all in all, considering the current structural deficiencies, even though the hotel is beautiful and service is superb, it’s really hard for me to justify the price point for this hotel and thus my rating of "Very Good" rather than "Excellent".

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mshbnyehud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkPalaceGM, Direttore generale at New York Palace, DA, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Dear Guest mshbnyehud,

thank you very much for your stay as a loyal Elite Marriott Rewards member at the Boscolo Budapest and your review on TripAdvisor.

We thank you very much for your detailed feedback on your stay. We confirm that we have portable hairdryer at the disposal to our guest. We will consider your feedback regarding the shower situation for further improvements. We apologize very much for the inconvenience with one gym machine and understand your expectations. We confirm that we offer 30 TV programs and will change the supplier very early in 2018.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the unique ambience and beauty of the hotel and breakfast room which will leave a strong memorial impression.

Our Christmas and New Year’s program is awaiting you and you might consider Budapest dipped in the white snow with the thousands lights of the Christmas Market for another occasion to visit the capital of Hungary.
Nora will be pleased to assist you.

We thank you again for your important feedback and are looking forward to welcoming you to the Boscolo Budapest soon again.

Kind regards,

Oliver Hutten
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

Really a great hotel in a wonderful town, elegant and beautiful. Dedicated personnel always present and courteous, nice and spacious rooms. Great breakfast and free internet. It may seem strange to specifically point out but for me the presence of a bidet in the bathroom was really a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mdmtodaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkPalaceGM, Direttore generale at New York Palace, DA, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Dear Guest mdmtodro,

thank you very much for your stay at the Boscolo Budapest and your review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay very much and appreciated our
services and the friendliness of our staff, always aiming to provide a very personalized service to our guests. It is our pleasure that the breakfast and free internet were exceeding your expectations and the nice surprise in the bath room even toped them.

Our Christmas and New Year’s program is awaiting you and you might consider Budapest dipped in the white snow with the thousands lights of the Christmas Market for another occasion to visit the capital of Hungary.
Nora will be pleased to assist you.

We thank you again for your important feedback and are looking forward to welcoming you to the Boscolo Budapest soon again.

Kind regards,

Oliver Hutten
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We arrived early for check in and they had our suite ready. It was amazing. We were greeted by the GM who expressed his delight that we are staying there. The concierge Lorant was very helpful setting our private tours and providing tips concerning tipping and exchange rate. During our stay more of the staff knew and called us by our names. Awesome. The New York Cafe is must visit even if you are not staying there. Everyone was friendly and helpful. I just can't say enough about the wonderful time we had staying there. There is no question, if we ever travel to Budapest again we will stay at the Boscolo. Please go to their web site to view photos of the hotel. Ours would not do it justice.

Room Tip: Be a Marriott Platinum Member. No suggestions as to location of the room.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SarasotaBob49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkPalaceGM, Direttore generale at New York Palace, DA, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Dear Guest SarasotaBob49,

thank you very much for your stay at the Boscolo Budapest and your review on TripAdvisor.

We are very much honored by your outstanding review and are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our great pleasure to hear that our staff took well care of your requests and remembered your name. We will pass on your compliments to the team who will appreciate very much that you had a great time in Budapest.

Our Christmas and New Year’s program is awaiting you and you might consider Budapest dipped in the white snow with the thousands lights of the Christmas Market for another occasion to visit the capital of Hungary.
Nora will be pleased to assist you.

We thank you again for your important feedback and are looking forward to welcoming you to the Boscolo Budapest soon again.

Kind regards,

Oliver Hutten
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Lovely accommodations and excellent customer service. Rooms are very comfortable and bathrooms are excellent. Could not ask for a more welcoming environment. Plenty of public transportation within walking distance.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LTB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkPalaceGM, Direttore generale at New York Palace, DA, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Dear Guest LTB10,

thank you very much for your stay at the Boscolo Budapest and your review on TripAdvisor.

We are grateful to hear that we were able to meet your expectations and thank you very much for your valuable time to inform us about your service experience.
From the former New York Palace you reach very easily with farious transportations the city highlights sites. .

Our Christmas and New Year’s program is awaiting you and you might consider Budapest dipped in the white snow with the thousands lights of the Christmas Market for another occasion to visit the capital of Hungary.
Nora will be pleased to assist you.

We thank you again for your important feedback and are looking forward to welcoming you to the Boscolo Budapest soon again.

Kind regards,

Oliver Hutten
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Four night city break in this spectacular hotel. Good sized room and comfortable bed. Buffet breakfast in the beautiful dining room. Well trained and friendly staff. What's not to like? Would stay again without hesitation at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wizz Tours
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkPalaceGM, Direttore generale at New York Palace, DA, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Dear Guest David P,

thank you very much for your stay at the Boscolo Budapest and your review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you truly enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your excellent feedback about the room comfort, the rich breakfast buffet and breakfast room ambience and our friendly and professional staff.

Our Christmas and New Year’s program is awaiting you and you might consider Budapest dipped in the white snow with the thousands lights of the Christmas Market for another occasion to visit the capital of Hungary.
Nora will be pleased to assist you.

We thank you again for your important feedback and are looking forward to welcoming you to the Boscolo Budapest soon again.

Kind regards,

Oliver Hutten
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews