We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:30 - 14:30
Save
Review Highlights
Entertaining tour guide!

Gabor was an excellent tour guide and kept things informative, but also light-hearted and funny! My... read more

Reviewed today
jlvescio
Great energy!

Gábor, the guide, is very friendly, he approaches everyone in the group, gives great tips on things... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Fernando A
via mobile
Read all 3 574 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Budapest
from US$114,81
More Info
from US$22,96
More Info
from US$12,63
More Info
from US$10,33
More Info
Reviews (3 574)
Filter reviews
3 574 results
Traveller rating
2 937
505
81
27
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2 937
505
81
27
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free tour great tour walking tour red tour legacy tour free budapest general tour morning tour interesting facts excellent guide highly recommend this tour free walking great introduction informative tour beautiful city three hours hungarian culture
Filter
Updating list...
2 355 - 2 360 of 3 574 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Took the tour in Spanish with some foreign friends and I learnt a lot about the history of the capital , although I'm Hungarian as well. Eva is a nice young lady with great knowledge, I definitely recommend the tour.

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank Lilla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The tours from this company are incredible!!! I spent the afternoon on the free walking tour and had a blast! Our guides, Timmy and Rudolph were very funny and informative! It was a great way to see the city and learn the history. I enjoyed it so much, I went on the Red Budapest Communism tour after! Adam was very informative and passionate. He taught the history in a very accurate and sensitive way. I learned so much!
I am not even a history buff, just a 21 year old backpacker. I cannot recommend this tour highly enough!!! A must-do in Beautiful Budapest

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank aylaread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager T, General Manager at Generation Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2015

We are happy to hear your had an excellent time on our free walking tour with HostelCulture and thank you for giving us such a great feedback It is our aim that all our free tours are up to a 5-star standard while offering you an authentic insight into Budapest with the best local guides. We do hope you join HostelCulture again in your travels across Europe

Happy travels,
Catherine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We were in Budapest for 4 days and did two Free tours.
We learned a lot about the Magyar culture.

It's was a great adventage to do the tour with two local guides.
So it was also possible to ask them questions about life now in Budapest en Hungary.

It's nice to have some history but we also received a lot of information about actual things.
That made it so real and intense.

Keep up the good work!

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank Snaider85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Going along to a free tour not knowing what to expect, we came away excited & inspired. Judit (I think that was her name...) was very passionate & insightful as well as including some great tips on where to eat/drink around town & helping with the map/navigating around town too. It was also refreshing to hear the history behind Budapest / Hungary in laymans terms from a person near our age. It didnt feel like a free tour, such was the enjoyment level. Overall a must when visiting Budapest & helped best steer our next fun few days around town.

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank MickBMckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager T, General Manager at Generation Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2015

It is a delight to hear that you had such a great time on our Free Walking Tour! Our goal is always to ensure each traveller has a stupendous time with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope you had a wonderful time in Budapest. Feel free to join free tours by HostelCulture again on your travels!

Happy travels!
Catherine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

A great tour which I'd recommend to anyone. Our guide was Timi, who was bursting with enthusiasm and full of information (God only knows how she keeps it all in her head). She also came out with some pretty good jokes! The tour was ideal for me since I wasn't in Budapest long and wanted to discover the main sights in one go.

Timi was also flexible when one group member wanted food, taking us to a spot that sold great-value and tasty strudels.

I tipped 1,000 Ft (about €3.30), hope this was generous enough...

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank MissEloise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager T, General Manager at Generation Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2015

We are happy to hear you had an excellent time on our free walking tour with Tmi. Our aim is to ensure all our travellers have not only an insightful experience but a social experience too. Thank you for your feedback. We do hope you enjoyed your time in Budapest and we hope to see you again on another HostelCulture free tour!

P.S: Our tour guides are freelance and love their jobs, so they are happy with any amount you give them!

Happy travels
Catherine M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews