We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History smell”
Review of Heroes' Square

Heroes' Square
Book In Advance
More Info
US$20,82*
and up
Budapest City Sightseeing Tour with Hotel Pickup
Ranked #8 of 536 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A large square constructed in 1896 for the millennium of the Magyar Conquest of Hungary. The square's Millennial Monument is flanked by the Fine Arts Museum and the Mucsarnok Art Gallery.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Taste and smell history of old europe there specially this place i liked it so much and recommended to take photos there

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank drkarimzanaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10 914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"city park"
in 316 reviews
"unknown soldier"
in 124 reviews
"archangel gabriel"
in 98 reviews
"hungarian heroes"
in 73 reviews
"museum of fine arts"
in 110 reviews
"millennium monument"
in 54 reviews
"impressive monument"
in 70 reviews
"ice rink"
in 84 reviews
"beautiful statues"
in 64 reviews
"lovely park"
in 54 reviews
"andrassy ut"
in 59 reviews
"hop on hop"
in 73 reviews
"metro line"
in 61 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 210 reviews
"other attractions"
in 65 reviews
"szechenyi baths"
in 101 reviews
"zoo"
in 421 reviews
Filter

503 - 507 of 10 914 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

My partner has been raving for days about this famous Budapest sign that lights up, she finally tracked it down on Google etc the other day to discover that it is in Heroes Square. So after walking 40 mins from our hotel to see this sign as well as the other gems in Heroes Square she was ridiculously disappointed when she realised they had removed it! It's the main reason why she wanted to attend, as well as the ice rink... Which apparently is only open during the winter! Oops! However, the famous spa and pools are there, a few museums, beautiful park walks, paddle boats and a castle. The parks were gorgeous and well looked after with spectacular views of the wonderful surroundings/buildings. The castle was an interesting walk around with a church inside that we paid 100 ft to get into (around 50p) which I don't mind! We also went on the paddle boats which was 2500 ft (around £7) for half hour. There's not a huge area that you can paddle around but it is good fun and you can capture some really nice pictures of the castle etc from the lake. The Thermal baths which we were both interested in going was extra though and quite extortionate in my opinion! It was 5000ft each for the day with a locker! We both thought it was going to be free so we decided not to explore in there. Other than that the rest of heroes square was very nice (for the free parts anyway!)

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank hannahmariec2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

So, although this isn't the most exciting thing you'll do in Budapest, it is one of the things you have to do! I spent around 20/30mins here just taking in the scenery and just looking around in amazement. It's huge and very well kept. Its about a 2min walk from the metro, so its hard to miss when you come out of the station. its well worth a trip, even if you just take a couple of nice pictures whilst you're there.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Chelen-B-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

The Hero's Square was built in 1896 and is one of the most imposing sights of Budapest. Interestingly, this is also the most crowded and photographed place of the city. Picturesque and impressive indeed.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank RuchiJ106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

YThe statues here in Hero Square are so hugh. It is hard to believe that they are real. Beautifully done and well worth stopping to take a good look. You will be impressed.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank comquot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heroes' Square also viewed

 

Been to Heroes' Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing