We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St. Stephen's Basilica (Szent Istvan Bazilika)
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
  
Ways to Experience St. Stephen's Basilica (Szent Istvan Bazilika)
from US$35,87
More Info
Budapest Card
159 Reviews
from US$25,46
More Info
from US$55,54
More Info
from US$22,91
More Info
Reviews (19 120)
Filter reviews
19 120 results
Traveller rating
11 985
5 815
1 143
128
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11 985
5 815
1 143
128
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful church organ concert small donation mummified hand christmas market worth a visit entrance fee impressive building tower interior cupola mass 200huf holy acoustics panorama paintings
Filter
Updating list...
882 - 887 of 19 120 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

Did not think we would voluntarily go to another church/basilica tour but we did as we had heard all positive stuff about St Stevens. And glad we did. Pay the extra and go up the dome. You can take an elevator but the walk up is exhilarating even though it is a few hundred steps. The experience of being inside the top of the dome is quite awe inspiring. And of course the views over the city are fantastic.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Rustyhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

Another must visit sight. It was a hot sunny day so we did not go inside but I know it would be stunning.

The area and views make this worthwhile on their own. Easy to get to via public transport or tourist bus or mountain railway.

The view is great and you can wander rind for an hour or more just amount stuff with ease. We spent half a day here and at the castle.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Hancoxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

The basilica was beautiful inside, very peaceful. We took the elevator to the top (you can walk to the top if you wish - there is still a climb at the other end even with the elevator). The views over the city were fantastic - highly recommend going up this tower, definitely worth the queue too!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Mik1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

This is a very beautiful Basilica. We were there for an evening concert, and it was an absolutely amazing experience. We were able to enjoy the beauty of the Basilica without all the daytime crowds of visitors. Both the Basilica and the concert were most enjoyable. It’s a great way to visit the Basilica.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank sssteveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

Very beautiful church. Carvings and frescoes on the ceiling. Quiet, candles, prayers. All very inspiring. I love that Hungary is a christian nation.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank grpandnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews