We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the best IBIS around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Styles Budapest City
Ranked #44 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is definitely the best IBIS hotel that I have ever stayed at - Why? The new IBIS styles is obviously different to the IBIS that I have become accustomed to for many years now, but this particular hotel sets the bar for all the others within this category.

The layout of the hotel was as you would expect. It is the theme that is delightfully catchy - bicycles! Everywhere you go you will find a bicycle or parts of one game-fully employed as a coat rack, stool, lamp holders, etc. There is even an exercise bike in the reception and another where you can make your own smoothie for breakfast.

The hotel is very clean, tidy, well maintained and the decor is soft and fun. The rooms are standard as rooms go, but again, clean, tidy and well maintained. Our room had a small balcony that had a good view over the Danube. The bed was comfortable and the shower water temperate did actually adjust from freezing (which I personally prefer) to very hot.

There are two lifts and despite the size of the Hotel, we did not find ourselves waiting too long at any time of the day. What also impressed me was the well-equipped children’s corner which kept one very active toddler happy.

The breakfast was by far the best that I had experienced at any of the IBIS hotels that I had stayed at over as many years. There was a good selection of local delicacies as well as fruit, cereals, salads, cold meats, breads. The hot food was limited to just scrambled egg, mini frankfurters, pasta.

There is free coffee and tea available 24/7 (self service) in the reception area. Adjacent to the reception desk is the bar serving beer, spirits and freshly made coffee.

The staff are polite, efficient and helpful.

The hotel is well located for business people and tourists, has a very nice theme and layout and is therefore very good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ps151061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived 5 hours ahead of our check-in time and the front desk staff were excellent, they immeadiatly took our bags into storage, made sure we had a (free) coffee and within 1 hour had our room ready.

Breakfast is large, buffet and almost unending.

The room, whilst small, was warm, impecibly clean and very comfortable (the bed is one of most comfortable hotel beds I have slept in.

Overall, great staff, comfortable, clean, very filling breakfast and bicycles, lots of bicycles

We would definetly come back again

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spent one night here last week.
The room was very warm and despite selecting the appropriate controls on the air conditioning unit, the room only became hotter.
I did not sleep well as there was poor sound proofing and my room looked out onto a busy square.
Finally I was disappointed that the hotel only serves food at breakfast time. A bottle of water in the room would have been nice

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SpottyMpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudapestHotelGM, General Manager at Ibis Styles Budapest City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear SpottyMpilot,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Styles Budapest City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Unfortunately the heating-cooling system is a one-way system, either it can heat or cool, and from the middle of October we need to set the heating on.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Mr. Dániel Vetlényi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

We went to this hotel mainly because of the design, And I have to say it was an excellent decision. Location of the hotel is fine - across the street there is a shopping centre. The hotel is all designed in "lemon with bicycles"! Funny place really, but we liked it a lot! Breakfast was ok for this price range hotel. Clean. Really comfy bed! We got free upgrade because we came with a daughter. All in all really top experience. Definitely recommend this hotel. And just as I am writing this, my daughter came by and said - yes I liked lemons!!! :)

Room Tip: Facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MatjazW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

This hotel has an unhealthy obsession with bicycles. Bikes and bike parts are everywhere, sprinkled around the lobby and integrated into the corporate 'art' that hangs on all the walls. The hotel gurus who designed this probably wanted to get real, get down with the kids or something. But it's very fake.

Main problem, however, is the heating system. My room was over-heated, so before retiring I set the fan to max and turned the thermostat way down low,. At 2.30 in the morning I was woken by truly oppressive heat. Drenched in sweat, heart pounding and head splitting, I groped for the thermostat controls only to discover that they were entirely for show. Nothing worked. I had finally arrived in hell.

I crawled naked across the floor of my fan-assisted oven, wrenched the window open and staggered onto the balcony, much to the amusement of a rabble of late night taxi drivers.

I had to be up early for a working breakfast. You know those mornings when you really need good coffee? On the plus side, the coffee at Styles hotel is free. On the debit side, it is undrinkable. In fact, the breakfast is very poor overall.

So what is good about Ibis Styles? Their staff. Keen, smart, great people.

Room Tip: Top floor may be a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudapestHotelGM, General Manager at Ibis Styles Budapest City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Paul C,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Styles Budapest City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Every ibis styles hotel in the world has a theme, and our is the bicycle, this is why you can see patterns of it everywhere.
Unfortunately the heating-cooling system is a one-way system, either it can heat or cool, and from the middle of October we need to set the heating on.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Mr. Dániel Vetlényi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
#55 of 336 in Budapest
404 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#51 of 336 in Budapest
1 011 reviews
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#61 of 336 in Budapest
1 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bo18 Hotel Superior
#21 of 336 in Budapest
1 354 reviews
12 Revay Hotel
#35 of 336 in Budapest
365 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#47 of 336 in Budapest
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Budapest City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Budapest City

Address: Soroksari ut 12., Budapest 1095, Hungary (Formerly Mercure Budapest Duna)
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: R774 - R1 815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Budapest City 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budapest is absolutely crazy about bicycles and so is the 3 stars superior IBIS Styles Budapest City hotel! Our cycling-inspired furniture and accessories create trendy interiors and laid-back atmosphere. The picturesque location of the hotel, at the bank of the Danube river, is perfect for exploring one of the most cyclists' friendly cities in Europe on two wheels. Here bicycles are everywhere and the city holds the world record of the largest Critical Mass event. You will surely catch the cycling bug and set off sightseeing the unique landscapes of Budapest by bike. Lots of fun and a good sleep afterwards guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles Budapest City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Duna Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Duna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing