We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Apartment Max was terrific”
living room with 25' ceilings
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
living room with 25' ceilings
Inner Courtyard ...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
129 reviews
living room with 25' ceilings
Inner Courtyard
...
up one flight by stairs or lift
...
entering Max
the entry hall, with kitchen and bath off right, living room and bedroom off left
Entry hall
home-office with computer and printer
looking back from the computer towards entrance and living room; washer in cabinet at center
the living room
dining area
...
...
...
...
reading corner
...
tv corner
antique stove
...
looking back out from the reading corner
...
looking across to entry to bedroom
bedroom looking towards the balcony doors
...from the balcony doors
king bed
...
...
...
period wardrobe
balcony table
...
...
...
...
separate entry to bedroom from entry hall
peering into kitchen from entry hall
enter the kitchen from the hallway
...
...
...
well equipped for cooking and dining
...
...
...
entering bathroom from the entry hall
twin sinks in the bathroom
...
...
...
...
...
custom tiled double shower
...
...
you know what it is
jeanne is into insects ... what can i say?
cul de sac Henszlmann Imre Street
Street
...
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Budapest, Central Hungary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 129 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
vmc024
oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Apartment Max was terrific”
Reviewed 20 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Apartment Max. The bottle of wine, box of small cakes, fruit and bread were all a wonderfully warm welcome to Budapest.

There was an overwhelming amount of information made available to us, from shopping tips, to tour suggestions, to restaurant and food suggestions. It allowed us to make good, informed choices, thereby making our stay very efficient and pleasant.

Thoroughly enjoyed apartment Max. It was a worry-free experience and when you travel nearly 8,000 miles to a foreign country, that's the experience you hope for.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: ability to spread out in the apartment and relax
Liked least: Had to pay attention when walking up the sidewalk to the apartment because not all dog owners cleaned up their dog's poop!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellarosi...
Madison, WI
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely the best place to stay!”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I cannot say enough about this fabulous place and owner. My husband and I and our adult daughter (a last minute decision) stayed for 5 nights and were beyond impressed. The apartment is absolutely fabulous. The wine and other goodies provided on our arrival were much appreciated. The location was perfect. John was helpful every step of the way. The information he sent before our arrival made our trip stress free. He even helped with purchasing train tickets for us and accommodating our daughter's last minute decision to join us. We followed many of the suggestions he gave us and we were not disappointed. I really want to come back and explore Budapest and Hungary. I don't know why anyone would stay anywhere else, except maybe one of his other apartments.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of the helpful information provided prior to our visit and the pick up drop off service
Liked least: Honestly, I cannot think of a thing.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valeriejo...
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
“Lovely apartment, central and tranquil at the same time”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a carefree, relaxing week at "Apartment Max". The apartment itself had everything we could have wanted, and more. The location is lovely, central and tranquil at the same time, with a beautiful park across the street, and numerous restaurants and patios very close by (but not TOO close). The owner was so helpful in arranging arrival logistics for us, and provided a wealth of information before and during our stay. We highly recommend "A Taste of Hungary" which was also an owner recommendation. The food was wonderful, and the wine, modestly described as a "tasting" was excellent and generously poured. Fortunately the location is just 5 minutes on foot from "Apartment Max". Should we find ourselves in Budapest again, this will be our home-base. No need for a car!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, generous sized rooms, nicely furnished.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elaeva201...
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
“Elegance & perfection in central Budapest”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Max is a wonderful apartment, situated perfectly in glorious Budapest. Trees and a secluded park outside your windows, grace and elegance within. Neighborhood restaurants, cafés, shops and markets; Metro and buses around the corner; the National Museum, Great Synagogue and many others nearby; the Danube and tram #2 a walk away (Central Café, then the few blocks to river).

This was only our 2nd apartment rental ever. The 1st was also in Budapest, also John Farago’s Budapest Vacation Rentals – apartment Andrei. Travel site reviews (overwhelmingly positive), and John’s own BVR website (highly informative and persuasive), brought us to Andrei. You can believe it all! – Andrei was perfect and still lingers in our memories, and now Max, just as perfect and still haunting us four months later.

The BVR experience is top tier. Beautiful, functional, well-located apartments, superbly furnished and equipped, with reliable contacts on-call. You’ll get hot water, elevators, heating and cooling, safety, peace and quiet. And you’ll get wine and cheese (et al), the internet (Mac computer, indispensable!), VOIP to U.S., library, DVDs, Bluetooth speaker for casting your music, etc etc. It’ll all be so comfy and enjoyable you almost won’t want to venture forth that day, or maybe ever.

Of course, venturing forth in Budapest is the point. Can’t think of a city more endowed with natural beauty, culture, music, art, history, architecture, fun -- that’s why we came back. Eminently walkable, but with excellent transit (saves time, buy a pass!). Parliament in the flesh thrills, take the tour, go back at night. City river cruise at night is breath-taking, bridges, monuments and buildings all lit up (do dinner pre- or post- to avoid distraction). Alert: The Palace of Arts (near Heroes Square) is closed for 2 year renovation (so we can now recommend the zoo next door!). Also, there’s John’s enthusiastic advice on everything-Budapest, and his opinionated restaurant guides.

Magical as Budapest is, it’s a city, and apartment Max is a welcoming haven. Breakfast each morning overlooks the park, table laid with flowers, pastries, cheese, Nespresso coffee. Evening wine and goose pate. Neighborhood restaurant Borsso, excellent, among others. Max is elegance and grace and perfection, larger than its photos, ideally and quietly located in central Budapest, with an attention-to-every-detail quality that is absolutely evident. So this was another great time in Budapest, enhanced beyond measure by our two weeks at Max. With gratitude to John and BVR for making Max possible, highest recommendation!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
Just a quick note to correct a detail of this embarrassingly lovely tribute to the city (well deserved) and to us (perhaps less so) .... The construction project at the City Park affects the art museum there. The Palace of the Arts refers more commonly to MUPA (the Muvesz Palota), which is the concert hall by the river in the IXth district.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanette...
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation and great value in central Budapest”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Staying at Apartment Max was an exceptional experience. Even before our arrival, we received detailed information from John, the owner, to help us plan our stay. Our visit was well orchestrated; from the pick up at the airport to the warm welcome at the apartment where we were greeted and briefed on the incredible amenities. Max has great character; high ceilings, large windows and is tastefully furnished while being very comfortable. The owners have put a great amount of thought into ensuring that travellers feel at home and have all that they might need, including wine and welcome treats! The apartment is well organized, thoroughly equipped and very bright and spacious. The attention to detail is very impressive. There is a wealth of information on hand to help travellers plan where to go, shop and eat. The location is perfect; close to the major sites and yet very peaceful and great for sleeping. We were absolutely thrilled with the apartment and most impressed with the thought and care John puts into making sure guests have a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Attention to detail and expectional amenities
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$155
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing