We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central hotel for visiting Maribor”
Review of Hotel City Maribor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel City Maribor
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Maribor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Would rate a 5 if the reception and ground floor layout made a bit more sense - it is maze like. Staff are very competent though and our room (a deluxe river view room) was quite large, with separate bathroom and toilet and good size sitting area. Location is good for walking the main sights of the town and the top floor terrace restaurant was excellent.

Room Tip: River view rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jrandsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HCM, Front Office Manager at Hotel City Maribor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest, dear Jrandsk.

Thank you for your great score and your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. It would be lovely to receive a 5-star review, but we cherish your honesty even more. We are aware that unfortunately we cannot suit to all guests tastes, that is why it is even more important to us, that the service, our staff, are the ones, that make the positive difference. We are pleased that your overall stay was a comfortable one and we hope to welcome you again.

Best regards from Maribor,
Yours, Hotel City Maribor**** Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed there couple of days for business conference. Reception personel super friendly, nice snacks :) room was super nice, clean and with all amenities you need. Well stocked mini bar and clean and nice bathroom. Maybe mattres could be changed someday soon. Hotel is very nice situated in the center itself and roof top nar/restaurant offer spectalucar view over Drava river and Pohorje ski slopes.
It's appropriate for business meetings and also just to be tourist and explore beutiful Maribor.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Uros S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HCM, Front Office Manager at Hotel City Maribor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Uros S.

Thank you so much for your amazing and great review. We are so glad that you were satisfied. Your feedback is precious to us and we hope we will be able to welcome you again. Please join us again, business or pleasure, you are more than welcome.

Best regards from Maribor,

Yours, Hotel City Maribor**** Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

The room I received was the basic. It's big and clean, but nothing special. No amnesties at all, as you would have expected from a 135 Euros per night room. The lobby reminds me of the old communist hotels.
Breakfast is very basic.
Location is really good, by the river, near a big mall, and not far from all the city's attractions.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank boazsharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HCM, Front Office Manager at Hotel City Maribor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear guest, Boazsharon.

Thank you for your review and thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us.

We regret that you were not satisfied with your overall experience.

If you do decide to give us a second chance, we would appreciate it and you are more than welcome in our hotel. But if you choose not to stay with us again when you come to Maribor, we understand.

Best regards,
Yours, Hotel City Maribor**** Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights with a tour group. Generally very good, the breakfast buffet was excellent, plenty of choice for all tastes and nationalities. I particularly liked the fresh fruit served in individual Kilmer jars and the yoghurt pots. The restaurant was on the fifth floor and tables out on the veranda overlooked the river. Our only complaint is people smoking on the veranda which is disgusting when people are eating, a thing which is no longer allowed in the UK.
It was in a lovely position by the River Drava and only a short walk from the town. The staff were polite and welcoming, a big reception area to relax in. I would choose this hotel again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HCM, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel City Maribor, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Dear guest, Mrs. Christine.
Thank you for your great review and your score. It is nice to read, that you were satisfied with our services. We do give our best, that you, our guests, are satisfied. We are fully aware that smoking on the terrace can be disturbing, but unfortunately outside smoking is still allowed. Despite this inconvenience we hope that you will return to our hotel and that we will be able to welcome you again.
Best regards,
Yours, Hotel City Maribor**** Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Centrally located in Maribor, the hotel is right by the river and just a few minutes away from the central restaurant/entertainement area. The hotel has an underground parking and the facilities are very modern. There is a nicerooftop restaurant / bar. The rooms were large with modern furniture. I had a nice river view. I could hear a little bit of outside noise but nothing deranging.

Wifi ws not the fastest, but still decent.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Olbernatchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HCM, Front Office Manager at Hotel City Maribor, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear Mr. Olbernatchez.
Thank you for your great score and thank you for taking the time to write this review. Your caption of your review is inspiring to us. Thank you. It means a lot to us that you were satisfied with your accommodation and your stay.
Please, come again to Maribor it would be our pleasure to host you again.
Best regards,
Yours, Hotel City Maribor**** Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maribor hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Orel
Hotel Orel
#3 of 16 in Maribor
224 reviews
0.3 km away
Best Western Plus Hotel Piramida
4.6 km away
Hotel Habakuk
Hotel Habakuk
#2 of 16 in Maribor
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Hotel Bajt Maribor
Hotel Bajt Maribor
#7 of 16 in Maribor
46 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Tabor Maribor
Hotel Tabor Maribor
#5 of 16 in Maribor
95 reviews
2.3 km away
Betnava Hotel Maribor
Betnava Hotel Maribor
#11 of 16 in Maribor
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Maribor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Maribor

Address: Ulica kneza Koclja 22, Maribor 2000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Styria Region > Maribor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Maribor
Price Range: R1 613 - R2 359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel City Maribor 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern-design hotel has 66 rooms in two categories (standard and superior), 12 suites, conference rooms, Lobby Cafe, restaurant Bistro City, underground garage, a la carte restaurant Terrace at the top of the hotel with a unique view on Drava river and Pohorje hill. The old town can be visited on foot, because all of the important sights are only a step away.Our advantages *Location in the center of the town*Comprehensive offer, including comfortable accommodation and excellent culinary delights*Flexible conference offer*200 parking spaces in the hotel garage*The highest level of service.General information *24 hour reception*Check-in time on the day of arrival is from 14:00 (2 pm) *Check-out on the day of departure is by 11:00 (11 am) *We accept cash and all major credit cards: VISA, Master Card, Diners Club, Amex and Maestro*Baggage storage at reception*No cancellation fee for cancelations up to 48 hours before the day of arrival*We make reservations for your theatre visits*Car and bike rental services*Information provided as to what to visit in town, where to go on a short trip; we also offer information about current events in town and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel City Maribor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing