We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Gostilna Dela

Gostilna Dela
Ranked #10 of 651 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$12
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We are following teh principles of SOCIAL ENTREPRENEURSHIP. Gostilna dela is a charming little restaurant providing LOCAL EXPERIENCE. We offer delicious breakfast and lunches, to satisfy meat, fish and vegetarian lovers. The food is FRESH, HEALTHY and prepared from an open plan kitchen. Food and drinks are prepared and served by YOUTH who have not finished formal education and young people with disability. They are trained to become more employable. Recently we have spiced up our restaurant with REUSED collection of cups, plates and glasses. We are located just a few steps from a Central Market and Ljubljana Castle Funicular.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Gostilina Dela has  a very good job of getting you very decent portions of very good food at fair prices. It's just too bad that they give you the impression that they are "cheap," which is something I don't often see in most restaurants these days. We have been to this restaurant before and had a really good time but things have changed and the food was disappointing.

Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tita d, Owner at Gostilna Dela, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Judith,
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you had bad experiens in our restaurant.
Can you please tell us what did you order that we can talk with our chef. Have you told that to our stuff when you were in resturant?
Thank you and kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our Slovenian friend had gone to park his car while we checked into our Airbnb and as he was walking back he noticed the menu displayed outside this place that was unfamiliar to him. He suggested we very tired travelers should take advantage of the prices at very reasonable by Ljubljana center standards . We did and thoroughly enjoyed it. They had a nice red wine as well.

We are retired high school teachers from the US and were very pleased to learn of the job experience social entrepreneurship goals of the cafe !

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank malonetravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

At lunch time around 1 pm the place was crowded but wanted to wait 10 minutes at the bar desk of the restaurant and meanwhile choose the plates. There were several options, soups, salad, meat, 2 types of fish and veggie meals to choose + desserts. I took fish and rice balls in a masala sauce. Noodle soup for my doughter and pork + polenta for males. My fish was quite heavily salted but delicious, also the pork & polenta was good.

We were not informed that there is a salad table included the lunch price and I had to ask for that by myself when I saw that other customers have salad. Service was fast and friendly. I would come again and try vegetarian options.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sanna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a delicious breakfast (which is served until 11am). Every guest got a glas of water for free and the waitress asked if we wanted some more when it was empty! The staff was really nice :) Even thought it seemed like there were too many people working there when it was only a small working space. Would go there again!

1  Thank aliciawxch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was rather disappointing- friendly service and nice atmosphere but the food quality was just not that great. A little pricey for a local meal, I’d much rather head into town & avoid the disappointment. Such a shame for a friendly place with character.

Thank Tapatap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tita d, Owner at Gostilna Dela, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dears,
Thank you for your email.
We feel bad that you were so disappointed at our restaurant.
Can you pls tell us when you visit us and what you ate. It's important to us to improve the services. What you didn't speak with the Chef?
Hope you also like our social impact.
Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gostilna Dela also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Gostilna Dela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing