We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveller rating
302
77
6
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
302
77
6
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting evening lake bled set menu the owner half board lovely pension small balcony great holiday eggs cooked to order free bikes large hotel magical place yogurt minute walk family run three nights quiet location
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 389 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018

What a beautiful Penzion this is. Absolutely brilliant location with just a short walk to the lake, great car parking, beautiful staff and excellent room with an amazing view of the castle from our balcony. The room was large, spotless and had excellent air conditioning and breakfast had such a great choice including eggs cooked to your liking. We had friends that booked an Airbnb apartment which didn't compare to this gorgeous place. We wouldn't hesitate to book here again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank SuandRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Penzion Mayer is in a peaceful location, within walking distance of lake Bled. The rooms were extremely clean and spacious. Good car parking and an excellent garden to sit in and have breakfast. We were there for the wine tasting evening which was an excellent way to get chatting to other guests and their wine was very drinkable. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony and overlook the garden
Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank CPJ_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

I very rarely award a rating of 5, but very nearly did so on this occasion, since staying at this Pension was an excellent experience.

It started with a late arrival after a delayed flight and a 4-hour coach transfer from Salzburg which itself was worth the journey, both ways, because of the superb Alpine scenery across Austria. We had some food during the comfort stop as we doubted if the establishment's kitchen would still be open when we got there. We could not have been more wrong. The ever-present Tatiana soon appeared at reception to book us in and insist that we leave our luggage with her while we went for a hot meal despite it being nearly 1045 p.m. Apparently the kitchen remained open for the even later Birmingham and Manchester arrivals who received a midnight apology that it would only be a cold 3 course meal.

Our room with balcony overlooked the beautifully tended garden (complete with a large chub named Captain Nemo in the wishing well) and outdoor dining area. We took every subsequent meal out there in lovely weather apart from one thunderstorm. It was not at all noisy but we did occasionally notice the early delivery lorries reversing on the other side of the Pension into the ugly Rikli Balance Hotel next door. The room itself was quite spacious and well maintained. It included ample storage facilities and a nice bathroom, where there was just a little mould around the bath.

The generous and welcoming nature of this Pension was perhaps best exemplified by the complimentary fruit and sweets at reception and by the fact that the chambermaid, who we thought had forgotten to replenish our toiletries, explaining that if she missed anything she was happy for us to help ourselves from her trolley.

We were on half board, which meant a set evening meal of 3 courses. Apart from some watery soup these meals were delicious on every occasion, and always varied. Although we had beer or wine with every evening meal, the price was pretty reasonable, setting us back just £60 in the entire week. The breakfast buffet was magnificent, including a greater variety of fresh fruit than we have seen anywhere else in over 40 countries. Eggs were cooked to order, and there was a range of cold meats, cheeses, vegetables, dried fruit, nuts, savouries, breads and pastries, along with a help yourself coffee machine from which the latte macchiato was especially good.

We spent some time in loungers or hammocks in the aforesaid garden, which included a shrine and a lovely vegetable patch.

This hotel is attractively built, with many balcony flowers of pelargoniums and carnations, and situated in a pleasant road not far from the lake front - about 5 minutes walk using steps or nearer 10 keeping to gentle slopes.

The staff were wonderfully prompt, polite, efficient, and well-versed in English. We would be glad to meet them there again one day.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the hideous modern hotel next door
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pedro44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

A beautiful hotel, extremely well kept with comfortable cozy rooms fully equipped and nice views. Great location and gorgeous gardens.

Awesome food and outstanding service. Tatjana, her mother, Dietmar and everybody we met provided such a personal, friendly and professional service. It was so nice to have met and spent some time with them.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed for just one night in June and were very pleased with it. Nice view from the top floor room, great breakfast (all sorts to choose from) and also bikes to use for free (we did a good 50km ride into the National Park and they were fine for us).

They were friendly and super helpful on what to do in the area. Made you feel at home.

Would happily recommend it!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Norton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews