We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay”
Review of Penzion Mayer

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bled
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Penzion Mayer
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Bled
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited Bled for the World Masters Rowing Regatta and are so glad that we picked Penzion Mayer to stay in. Tatjana and her family make you feel very welcome indeed and their care and friendliness really shows in everything they do.
There's plenty of parking and bikes to borrow (we used them every day to get to the regatta at the far end of the lake).
Our room was wonderful - spacious, with a lovely balcony and view over the roof-tops to the castle and the lake. Spotlessly clean and comfortable.
The breakfasts are plentiful and good and we soon discovered that there's just no need to eat anywhere else in town - dinners were really wonderful - lots of variety, all local produce and so so tasty!
We hope that we might visit again - there's lots to do and see in the area (apart from rowing!). We would certainly book at Penzion Mayer again - one of the best places we've ever been. Simplicity can sometimes be perfect!
Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank trippingferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a superb family hotel run by Dietmar and Tatjana. We also met their daughter Eva and Tatjana's father, Joseph. They were all charming and friendly. The food was superb. Dietmar cooks dinner. The Goulash was the best I have ever tasted. Tatjana explained that the onions are cooked slowly and caramelised to give the base for the rich sauce. I also had the chicken which was beautifully cooked with a delicious gravy. There is a large choice for breakfast including fresh fruit, an assortment of fresh bread, salads, meat, cheese, porridge, yogurt and pastries.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David_Oxford_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We loved our stay at Penzion Mayer in May 2017 and Tatjana and Dietmar were amazingly helpful and friendly and hard working.
It is a real family affair with their daughter helping and Tatjana's mother always busy in the garden which is lovely place to relax with a glass of wine.
The breakfast is wonderful catering for all tastes and dinner also is very good with lots of seating outside for alfresco dining.
It was like staying with family!
Thank you Tatiana and Dietmar

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank harold38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We spent a week here while touring in the area. There is plenty of parking for guests. Our room was well furnished and very clean with a well appointed bathroom and had an excellent view of the castle from our windows. The staff are all very friendly and extremely helpful, giving us advice about possible day trips, and the best routes to avoid heavy traffic. There is an extremely wide selection of freshly prepared food for breakfast. We also ate in the excellent restaurant most evenings. The hotel is well situated, a short walk from the lake front and though we didn't take advantage of them, there are free bikes available for guests to use.

Bled is a perfect location for a holiday in Slovenia: as, in addition to the attractions of Bled it self, there is easy access to the mountains and it is sufficently close to Ljubljana for a day trip.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Harpenden_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Rooms were quiet-ours overlooked the beautifully tended garden, Very clean comfortable bed and en suite bathroom.What really made our stay special were the staff-.Dietmar, Tatjana, Eva and Ales. All very warm and welcoming- always on hand to check everything was ok. There isn't any air conditioning but we wouldn't let that stop us visiting again- we would probably go when it was a little cooler! Nearby Vingtar Gorge is a lovely three mile walk and is just stunning( 5 euro)I think there is a cheap shuttle bus that will take you there... Ljubljana was an easy bus ride away Beautiful city.Tivoli park is a pleasant place to stop and chill away from the crowds.Also get down to the LIDO for a day in Bled( 7 euro for the day). Very relaxing and fun at the same time. Row across to Bled Island. We hired the boat from a place just past the sailing centre. It was 10 euros for an hour- enough time to get there and have a look around the tiny chapel, bell tower, shop etc. Bled castle is also a must see- fabulous views and really interesting.Use the free bikes and explore the local area-it is such a magical place. You will adore it just like we did. Thank you!

Room Tip: Room 105 was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Chillingworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bled hotels
0.0 km away
Penzion Berc
Penzion Berc
#2 of 24 in Bled
390 reviews
0.1 km away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#8 of 24 in Bled
795 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#5 of 24 in Bled
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Penzion Kaps
Penzion Kaps
#3 of 24 in Bled
355 reviews
0.3 km away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#12 of 24 in Bled
1 097 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Premier Hotel Lovec
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzion Mayer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzion Mayer

Address: Zheleshka cesta 7, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bled
#3 Family Hotel in Bled
Hotel Class:3 star — Penzion Mayer 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
Penzion Mayer Bled
Penzion Mayer Hotel Bled

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing