We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YOU must stay here! Stayed in room 105. Free bikes, love, love, loved it!”
Review of Penzion Mayer

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bled
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Penzion Mayer
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Bled
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Rooms were quiet-ours overlooked the beautifully tended garden, Very clean comfortable bed and en suite bathroom.What really made our stay special were the staff-.Dietmar, Tatjana, Eva and Ales. All very warm and welcoming- always on hand to check everything was ok. There isn't any air conditioning but we wouldn't let that stop us visiting again- we would probably go when it was a little cooler! Nearby Vingtar Gorge is a lovely three mile walk and is just stunning( 5 euro)I think there is a cheap shuttle bus that will take you there... Ljubljana was an easy bus ride away Beautiful city.Tivoli park is a pleasant place to stop and chill away from the crowds.Also get down to the LIDO for a day in Bled( 7 euro for the day). Very relaxing and fun at the same time. Row across to Bled Island. We hired the boat from a place just past the sailing centre. It was 10 euros for an hour- enough time to get there and have a look around the tiny chapel, bell tower, shop etc. Bled castle is also a must see- fabulous views and really interesting.Use the free bikes and explore the local area-it is such a magical place. You will adore it just like we did. Thank you!

Room Tip: Room 105 was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Chillingworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2017

We were staying in the small cottage nearby the main building. The rooms were cozy and clean. We appreciated the living room with the kitchen (especially during the rain - because otherwise we spent the evenings in the restaurant).
I just wouldn't recommend this cottage to disabled people - because of the staircase to rooms. In the main building they have an elevator.
The family that owns this pension is really nice and helpful in every possible way. Talk to them and ask them about surroundings and events held in Bled.
Oh and they held a wine tasting every Sunday.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank iwka223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Penzion Mayer was the perfect spot for us to stay while exploring Bled. Staff were kind and helpful, breakfast was excellent, and the free champagne and wine tasting (very large pours!) on Sunday were a nice surprise. The hotel's restaurant also offers dinner, which is a solid option. Vegetarians may have a bit of trouble with the dinner menu, but pescatarians should be fine.

We stayed in room 301, and it was as expected. Ceilings can be challenging for tall people, but we knew that going in. I'm 73 inches tall and did fine. Internet is free and available, though the signal isn't very strong in the room (good enough for checking email and the like).

Room Tip: Free champagne and wine tasting on Sunday at 5pm (at least in summer)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We stayed in Penzion Mayer & we could not have been happier.
All the staff from Titjania, the manager (but so much more than a manager) to the cleaners of our rooms, went above and beyond the call of duty.
I celebrated my 60th birthday there & they made the day very special.
The food was good, wholesome, fresh & mostly home grown by grannie!! She was busy all day & everyday picking, cutting, washing all the fruit & very grown by them.
The waiters were so friendly& helpful (Barbara, Eva & Ailza) & so accomadating if we did not like or want a certain dish. Breakfast was fantastic with the best coffee I have ever smelt. Pity I only drink tea!!
The rooms were so clean & tidy & quite large for a pension.
We were there with Deckchair Dave & Jan so we can vouch for his comments as well.
I am sure many people say this but we will be back. Forget the hotels, here is where you will feel like you are at home.
The scenery was out of this world with every place clean, tidy & most striking... litter free.
Dont take my word for it....go there.
A mention for the Tu rep's Charlotte & Dan thanks again for the birthday bubbly.

Room Tip: There are rooms overlooking the outdoor eating area but it is all quite by 10pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank ann k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We had a very enjoyable few days at Pension Mayer and would certainly return again; set back from the lake itself, the location was nonetheless convenient for access to the town, the lakeshore walk and Straza (the toboggan run/fun park, great for teenagers). The penzion was spotlessly clean, had a nice breakfast room and good breakfast, which could be taken outside in fine weather. The staff were all very pleasant. An additional plus, you can choose to take an evening meal at the penzion, which we did and which was very good.

Room Tip: We had a higher level room with castle view, very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeithJSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bled hotels
0.0 km away
Penzion Berc
Penzion Berc
#3 of 24 in Bled
390 reviews
0.1 km away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#8 of 24 in Bled
795 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#5 of 24 in Bled
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Penzion Kaps
Penzion Kaps
#2 of 24 in Bled
355 reviews
0.3 km away
Park Hotel Bled
Park Hotel Bled
#12 of 24 in Bled
1 098 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Premier Hotel Lovec
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzion Mayer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzion Mayer

Address: Zheleshka cesta 7, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bled
#3 Family Hotel in Bled
Hotel Class:3 star — Penzion Mayer 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
Penzion Mayer Bled
Penzion Mayer Hotel Bled

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing