We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT STAY”
Review of Penzion Mayer

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bled
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Penzion Mayer
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Bled
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2017

just back from an 11 night stay at the Penzion Mayer and if I could give this accommodation 10 stars I would, The owners and staff could not do enough to make our stay a most enjoyable one, the food was fantastic at breakfast and dinner, all fresh and most of the veg and herbs from their own garden, no need to eat anywhere else, the rooms and beds are very comfortable with all amenities required for your stay and the free wine tasting on Sundays was a real treat, the location is very good, only a 5 minute stroll in to town and far enough away for a great nights sleep. If you are looking for a great place to stay in Bled then do not hesitate to book this pension, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deckchair_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

This hotel surpassed all of my expectations! It's an idyllic Tyrolean style hotel that is immaculate inside and out. We had a spacious room with views of Lake Bled and the Castle - and were relieved to finally sink into the most comfortable beds we had experienced during our trip throughout Slovenia. The hotel is family run and so friendly, and Tatiana and her family seem to work from dawn to dusk to ensure their guests have a fabulous stay. Wonderful breakfasts with so much choice each day and even though we were only booked in for bed & breakfast, we had dinner at the hotel for 3 of our 4 nights - set menu is amazing value at 18 Euros and the quality of the food is superb. The house red is also extremely yummy!

I wish we could have stayed longer - Lake Bled and the surrounding area is simply stunning - Slovenia has definitely won my heart. Planning a short winter trip to experience Lake Bled in another season and Penzion Mayer will be at the top of my list to stay at!! This place so deserves the fabulous reviews it receives.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jane63pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

I stayed ay Penzion Mayer in late May 2017. The rooms are comfortable, clean and decorated in a homey fashion. The staff of this small family-run hotel (with an attached restaurant) were all friendly and helpful. The location of the Penzion is excellent, just a 10 minute walk to the shores of Lake Bled (and very near the pier for pletna boats to Bled island). However, what boosts Penzion Mayer from 4-stars to a full five stars is the breakfast! They say that breakfast is the most important meal of the day, and if you stay at Penzion Mayer, it will be sure to be the best meal of your day as well. In addition to the continental staples of a range of bread and pastries as well as cold cuts and yoghurt, there were seasonal fruit smoothies, bircher muesli and biscuits! Fresh fruit was also available as well as eggs cooked to order. This breakfast is the perfect way to start a day of hiking around the lake, rowing or swimming. The only drawback of the Penzion Mayer is its proximity to a large hotel, which was occasionally a bit loud.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MissAnthropologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

Our hosts were unbelievably helpful providing the most divine food to the point we never ate anywhere else. We booked for 2 nights and stayed four. Bled scenery is spectacular and a trip into the mountains really beautiful. Slovenia is well worth the side trip and the architecture of Ljubljana compares to Prague

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

We returned from a two week stay at the Penzion Mayer on Saturday 17/6 after a two week stay.there.

The bedroom we were allocated was large and had two very comfortable beds with bedside lights.The bedside cabinets had a shelf and ample space below for storing things. We had a balcony with table and two chairs and overlooked the pretty garden. A large built in wardrobe with ample clothes hangers and a deep shelf above. To the side was a further 6 deep shelves. There were ample electric power points. Below the writing table was a safe and below that a fridge. The safe was provided free of charge. The bathroom had a large mirror over the sink basin. The bath had a hand held shower. It Provided a powerful supply of water. A hair dryer was provided which was good enough for its purpose and saved my wife having to bring hers from England.
Adjoining the door out of the room was a large 5 feet mirror. this we very much welcomed.
The large flat screen television facing the beds allowed us to keep abreast of events taking place in England and elsewhere via the Europe news on the Euro news channel number 25.

The food was good. A continental breakfast was provided. One could choose from a range of fresh fruits, cereals, yogurts, freshly cooked boiled / fried eggs to order. The bread rolls were delicious and although not tasted the pastries also looked very appealing.

The evening meal could be taken outside or in the restaurant. We were booked through Thomson on a half board basis and were offered the fix menu, which changed nightly. One could ask for a change (s) to the menu if items on the fixed menu did not suit your palate. Of course changes were subject to those food items being available The food provided was in 4 - 5 servings. The Salad bar had a large selection of salad items and was much appreciated by us.

We went on three full day excursions offered by Thomson. The most popular one was a " Taste of Slovenia" - 68 euros per person (included lunch taken in a restaurant in the hills with breath taking views).The tour was 11- 12 hours and consisted of a train ride from Bled railway station. followed by a boat trip on a very picturesque stretch of water. Finally we saw a lot of beautiful country side which included a visit to a Wine Cellar. Everyone could sample up to four wines. Please book this trip immediately following the induction. We failed to do so and had to go on the trip during out second week of the holiday. We also went on the Julian Alps trip 41 euros per person and a coach trip with a guide to the capital Ljubljana 38 euros per person.

We went by local bus to Bohinj Lake. Really beautiful and allowed us to go up by cable car to the top of one of the mountains affording us stupendous views. Bus fares are very reasonable and allow you to take your time looking around this beautiful country.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank MatthewSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bled hotels
0.0 km away
Penzion Berc
Penzion Berc
#2 of 24 in Bled
394 reviews
0.1 km away
Penzion Kaps
Penzion Kaps
#3 of 24 in Bled
368 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#4 of 24 in Bled
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Grand Hotel Toplice
Grand Hotel Toplice
#7 of 24 in Bled
802 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Astoria Bled
Hotel Astoria Bled
#6 of 24 in Bled
467 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Jelovica Bled
Hotel Jelovica Bled
#13 of 24 in Bled
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzion Mayer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzion Mayer

Address: Zheleshka cesta 7, Bled 4260, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bled
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bled
#3 Family Hotel in Bled
Hotel Class:3 star — Penzion Mayer 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
Penzion Mayer Bled
Penzion Mayer Hotel Bled

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing