We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Penzion Mayer
Nearby Hotels
US$308
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
US$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Penzion Berc(Bled)
US$248
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveller rating
279
72
6
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
72
6
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine cellarlake bledset menuon a half board basisthe ownerhotel golfsmall balconyeggs cooked to orderfree bikeslarge hotelthe hotel's restaurantyogurtbed breakfastminute walkmagical placehis wifethree nights
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 361 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2017

I stayed ay Penzion Mayer in late May 2017. The rooms are comfortable, clean and decorated in a homey fashion. The staff of this small family-run hotel (with an attached restaurant) were all friendly and helpful. The location of the Penzion is excellent, just a 10 minute walk to the shores of Lake Bled (and very near the pier for pletna boats to Bled island). However, what boosts Penzion Mayer from 4-stars to a full five stars is the breakfast! They say that breakfast is the most important meal of the day, and if you stay at Penzion Mayer, it will be sure to be the best meal of your day as well. In addition to the continental staples of a range of bread and pastries as well as cold cuts and yoghurt, there were seasonal fruit smoothies, bircher muesli and biscuits! Fresh fruit was also available as well as eggs cooked to order. This breakfast is the perfect way to start a day of hiking around the lake, rowing or swimming. The only drawback of the Penzion Mayer is its proximity to a large hotel, which was occasionally a bit loud.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MissAnthropologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

Our hosts were unbelievably helpful providing the most divine food to the point we never ate anywhere else. We booked for 2 nights and stayed four. Bled scenery is spectacular and a trip into the mountains really beautiful. Slovenia is well worth the side trip and the architecture of Ljubljana compares to Prague

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

We returned from a two week stay at the Penzion Mayer on Saturday 17/6 after a two week stay.there.

The bedroom we were allocated was large and had two very comfortable beds with bedside lights.The bedside cabinets had a shelf and ample space below for storing things. We had a balcony with table and two chairs and overlooked the pretty garden. A large built in wardrobe with ample clothes hangers and a deep shelf above. To the side was a further 6 deep shelves. There were ample electric power points. Below the writing table was a safe and below that a fridge. The safe was provided free of charge. The bathroom had a large mirror over the sink basin. The bath had a hand held shower. It Provided a powerful supply of water. A hair dryer was provided which was good enough for its purpose and saved my wife having to bring hers from England.
Adjoining the door out of the room was a large 5 feet mirror. this we very much welcomed.
The large flat screen television facing the beds allowed us to keep abreast of events taking place in England and elsewhere via the Europe news on the Euro news channel number 25.

The food was good. A continental breakfast was provided. One could choose from a range of fresh fruits, cereals, yogurts, freshly cooked boiled / fried eggs to order. The bread rolls were delicious and although not tasted the pastries also looked very appealing.

The evening meal could be taken outside or in the restaurant. We were booked through Thomson on a half board basis and were offered the fix menu, which changed nightly. One could ask for a change (s) to the menu if items on the fixed menu did not suit your palate. Of course changes were subject to those food items being available The food provided was in 4 - 5 servings. The Salad bar had a large selection of salad items and was much appreciated by us.

We went on three full day excursions offered by Thomson. The most popular one was a " Taste of Slovenia" - 68 euros per person (included lunch taken in a restaurant in the hills with breath taking views).The tour was 11- 12 hours and consisted of a train ride from Bled railway station. followed by a boat trip on a very picturesque stretch of water. Finally we saw a lot of beautiful country side which included a visit to a Wine Cellar. Everyone could sample up to four wines. Please book this trip immediately following the induction. We failed to do so and had to go on the trip during out second week of the holiday. We also went on the Julian Alps trip 41 euros per person and a coach trip with a guide to the capital Ljubljana 38 euros per person.

We went by local bus to Bohinj Lake. Really beautiful and allowed us to go up by cable car to the top of one of the mountains affording us stupendous views. Bus fares are very reasonable and allow you to take your time looking around this beautiful country.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank MatthewSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

We booked this B&B because it had an elevator, but everything was great: clean, friendly, spacious, great location and free parking. In addition, the hosts are great tour guides. No trip to the TI needed. They were aware that the Vsvic Pass was closed for four days and guided our plans for the day. The food is great. Breakfast is fresh and made to order. We ate dinner here one night and it was delicious.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Tripanticipation3359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

This charming hotel offers large rooms with a fabulous outdoor space. It is up a street from the lake so you are removed from the tourist hustle and bustle. The staff was kind and helpful. The breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thefreddys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews