We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer”
Review of Brovarnia Gdansk

Brovarnia Gdansk
Ranked #98 of 682 Restaurants in Gdansk
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Restaurant with a micro brewery located in XVIIth century granary with the best view on Gdansk Old Town!
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Although the beer menu showed wheat, light beer and dark beer the waitress recommended the APA which was very good. Lovely waitress - did not note down her name - very helpful and friendly and kept me up to date with the food order. If the restaurant reads this, she was the petite waitress with dark hair and glasses. The food was OK (ribs) if not special and service was a bit slower than I would expect. Nice location (probably quieter when the hotel being built opposite is finished). Anyway in summary - great beer and lovely friendly waitress.

Thank Mikey1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krzysztof S, Manager at Brovarnia Gdansk, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Dear Mikey,
I'm glad you liked our staff, as our amazing service team is our pride. You're definitely complimenting nobody else but Ola, as it's hard to mistake her with any other waitress, and truly she is always very friendly and smiling. I'm sorry that you felt that the service was slow, but we're one of the most popular restaurants in Gdańsk, and therefore it takes some time to prepare a perfect meal we would like to serve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2018

Group meal out on our evening tour of Gdansk. Small keg of artisan beer for us all to try, then win/ pivo and pivo.
Herring in three flavours as starter or gravlax followed by spicy Fishermans soup. Main course was fresh cod with spinach and potato puree or pork knuckle baked in home brewed beer. Ice cream and fresh fruit salad as dessert.
There were other choices but this left us stuffed so could not manage any extras.
Pristine toilets/ free wifi and a delightful live singer in the bar next room.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krzysztof S, Manager at Brovarnia Gdansk, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear Pete, I'm glad you liked it here in Brovarnia Gdańsk! The live music we have daily is only one of the elements that build the atmosphere in our historical interiors, but it's always good to hear that it works for our guests :)
Please keep in mind, that Brovarnia Gdańsk is only a small part of a whole complex of Hotel Gdańsk, which consists of a 5 star hotel in XVIIth century granary and a 4 star hotel in new building attached - so that everyone can find something suiting his needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Fantastic place, especially in the warmer months.. The hand crafted beer produced on site is wonderful.
The food is very good but also expensive.
Situated on the harbour wall, nice location.

Thank pmcwilli2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Great food, drink and staff. Brewery in the restaurant producing great beer. We were made very welcome and given the seat requested.

Thank kim112018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krzysztof S, Manager at Brovarnia Gdansk, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thank you very much for so many kind words in so short review! We are trying our best to make everyone feel welcome in Brovarnia, and knowing that it works is the best prize for us. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

We were invited by friends to this bar and restaurant for a pre-wedding get together.

The majority, if not all, of the 30 people present ordered food along with their drinks. This varied from duck to ribs. At the time, everyone thought the food was nice, however, 4 people ended up with food poisoning in the early hours of the following morning. Those affected seem to have had the duck, ham hock and the ribs. This included the groom!! As you can imagine, this was not what people wanted on the day of a wedding!

The drinks were reasonable but the service extremely slow. It was busy due to a world cup match, however, one would have expected extra staff.

My advice, stick to drinks at this place. Don't touch the food, especially if you have an important engagement the next day.

Thank Martiniy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krzysztof S, Manager at Brovarnia Gdansk, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Martiniy,
We are sorry to hear that four of your friends got sick, but I can assure you that it couldn't have happened because of our food. It's not possible for four people to get sick because of three different meals, which they enjoyed in the restaurant. Moreover, as you mentioned - our restaurant was full (not because of the match), but because our guests primarily like our food. Despite our guests ate that evening over a hundred of the three dishes you mentioned, no one apart from your four friends got sick or returned the dish...
We just hope that your review is not a result of disappointment with the need to pay for some of the guests who left your reservation without paying for their orders. We remember what a fuss one of your guests made when it came to paying for the dinner, as it was very rude of him almost shouting to scare us with lawyers, because we never cheated anyone.
I'm really sorry that for some of you the wedding day was not as it supposed to be, but once again I can assure that it couldn't have been fault of our food, especially that you mentioned 3 different dishes eaten by 4 people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brovarnia Gdansk also viewed

Gdansk, Pomerania Province
Gdansk, Pomerania Province
 
Gdansk, Pomerania Province
Gdansk, Pomerania Province
 
Gdansk, Pomerania Province
Gdansk, Pomerania Province
 

Been to Brovarnia Gdansk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing