We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing lunch with a view”
Review of Ginger & Fred

Ginger & Fred
Ranked #291 of 6 170 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Czech, Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Nové Město (New Town)
Description: If you are looking for haute cuisine accompanied by a wonderful panoramic view of Prague, then Ginger&Fred restaurant is the place for you. Ginger&Fred restaurant is set on the top floor of the famous Dancing House building, named by the world famous dancers Ginger Rogers and Fred Astaire, is situated at Rasin's riverbank. Nowdays it combines magnificent view over the Prague with the modern interior of controversial art of the young artists from Czech republic and abroad. Our place presents well balanced International cuisine with the elements of fish and local products - veal, beef, pork and duck. The restaurant boasts an outstanding range of quality french, austrian, italian, spanish and local wines. Ginger & Fred is a great choice for a special occasion - B-DAY celebration, WEDDING reception, dinner and even the ceremonies. COORPORATE MEETINGS AND PARTIES, LEISURE AND BUSINESS GROUPS.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

My wife and I ate here last summer, and it remains one of our favorite restaurants in Prague. The view of the Vltava is a spectacular setting in which to enjoy a delicious meal with excellent service (thank you, Zora). We shared the pea soup to start. For our main courses, my wife enjoyed the beef while I had the pasta with lemon sauce. We shared a scrumptious dessert (the Gastro Punk), the whole meal complemented with a wonderful red wine (Vino Nobile di Montepulciano). The sommelier (manager?) brought us complimentary cinnamon liqueur as a thank-you for a return visit. Very classy!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GradingMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2018

Had dinner here in Prague, with great food and great service. The most unusual thing about the building is that it is shaped like a dancing couple. The one side is glass, shaped like women's dress flaring out at the bottom and the adjoining structure has windows all ajumble. The whole experience was delightful since the restaurant is on top and the views were great. Special note: the wine steward was very good suggesting wines to go with our meals. He and our waiter were very attentive.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank comfortnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

Love the fact that the menu changes on a daily basis. I had pan-seared red mullet for main and a trio of creme brulees for dessert, washed down with delicious Czech wine and Kir Royale! Couldn't fault the food or service, and the view is just stunning especially at sunset. Definitely worth the money for a great meal in a trendy and welcoming restaurant.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank rachaeldavisss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

We had been advised to visit the rooftop viewing terrace which we did at about 8pm at night while there was still light and very few people around
There is an entrance fee but if you purchase a couple of drinks no fee is payable
It was great to look down on the river and the surrounding city
While in Prague I think this is a must do

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Bruce_Lorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Ate dinner here on a Sunday. The setting was relaxed, the staff were friendly, the food and drinks were good. They accommodated our request for vegetarian food in a very professional way. The views through the windows and from the balcony are nice. Nothing mind-blowing but all pretty good.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fruitflyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ginger & Fred also viewed

 

Been to Ginger & Fred? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing