We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (736)
Filter reviews
736 results
Traveller rating
267
217
130
73
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
217
130
73
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews medieval theme wellness centre bike trip the river medieval experience middle ages medieval times interesting hotel old world tour group wooden floors luxury hotel spent two nights breakfast buffet czech republic wonderful hotel perfect location
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 736 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We found this hotel very interesting with old furniture and hallways. The beds are VERY hard. The view from the balcony is wonderful, but the people serving food and beverages were not to be found, One night we planned to have dinner there but the waiter just threw the menus on the table, not to be seen again. The variety at breakfast was good. It wasn't a four star hotel. The women at the reception were excellent.

Room Tip: Our room had a view and was great
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan Hotels P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ruze, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Janet P,

Thank you for taking time to comment your recent stay in Hotel Růže. We value our guest’s feedback as it helps us to identify your needs and expectations. We are sorry that the restaurant service was not to your full satisfaction and based on your comments corrective actions will be taken.

Please stay put with us, and check our progress made with further guest comments to come. We will be happy to welcome you back again in our Hotel Růže.

With kind regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We had a wonderful experience in Cesky Krumlov and enjoyed staying in the Hotel Ruze. It is a very old building filled with little features reminiscent of it's past life as a monastery. My room gave the nickname of 'throne' for the lavatory a whole new meaning as it was, indeed, quite a throne! The bed was very comfortable and I was able to look across the valley whilst sitting in bed reading. It was a very special stay which I will remember in detail for years to come.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Jacqueline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan Hotels P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ruze, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Jacqueline P,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Růže during your visit of Český Krumlov and for writing us such a nice comments. We are very happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel. Please rest assured, that your comments will certainly be shared with the whole team, because it motivates us to continue in doing a good job.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again in our Hotel Růže soon.

With best regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

What a disappointment...this hotel is in desperate need of refurbishment. Interiors are dark and cramped...the floor tiles in the lobby & restaurant look dirty and must date to the 1970s. They got a little carried away with the "monastery" theme and it feels a bit like Disneyland -- not at all authentic but just tacky and excessive. The furniture is extremely uncomfortable, including the bed. There is no place to just sit and relax in the room. I'm looking for luxury in an accommodation -- if I wanted to stay in a monastery, I would have chosen a hostel. The room lacks electrical outlets for recharging phones and iPads – I can find only one electrical outlet that is convenient to use. The air conditioning unit has a remote control but no instructions. We could not get it to stay on. When we went to open the windows, there are no window screens, just a deep window ledge with spikes to keep away the pigeons.

The furnishings are worn and dusty, especially the fabrics. The carpeting in the corridors is dirty and worn. The bath has not been renovated for many years and the wooden chair surrounding the toilet is not only very strange, but it would also be a hazard for guests who are children or seniors (age 65+).

The common areas of the hotel also have very uncomfortable furniture, which is also worn and feels dirty. The terrace is the only place to relax. Overall, the hotel is very dark and confined -- it does not feel spacious or luxurious, but instead feels very outdated. This hotel needs a complete renovation/refurbishment.

Breakfast was a long buffet and they kept running out of things. No yogurt our first morning; bread for toast gone the second morning. Dining room furniture is worn and also in the "monastery" style which makes the dining room like a school cafeteria. The Renaissance costumes worn by the wait staff look ridiculous as they are wrinkled and appear to be quite cumbersome. We would prefer crisp, modern uniforms for our food service and I'm sure the staff would as well.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anne9878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan Hotels P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ruze, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Anne9878,

Thank you very much for taking time to write this extensive feedback regarding your recent stay in our hotel. Your comments are very important to us and we are very sorry to learn that your stay was not to your full satisfaction. Our hotel is situated in a historical building that is part of UNESCO heritage and so the whole character of the hotel looks a little bit ancient and can bring some inconveniences. Fortunately we can inform you that the renovation plans of the hotel are already in process.

Please accept our apologies for troubles you experienced during your stay. Your comments have been shared with the management to focus on improvements.

We would be glad to have the opportunity to host you again in our Hotel Růže and show you our progress.

With warm regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Cesky Krumlov is nice enough for a 1-2 day visit, and in the evening the groups are gone and the athmosphere is pleasant. So why not stay the night? This ‘ 5 star hotel ‘ is a Disney interpretation of medieval times, and probably received its stars some time ago. Our room was big, dirty, the furniture was ridiculous, and the bathroom was at least 20 years old and never maintained. Breakfast: poor coffee, everything was supermarket quality. No staff anywhere, bar and nice terrace completely abandoned. Parking near hotel at 50 M, fine but expensive. Gym: I’ve seen better ones in a nursing home. A place that nows seems to focus on groups from Asia. Avoid. Should have a 3 star qualification.

Thank Hans C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

Our tour group stayed here two nights.
The hotel is located about 5 minutes from the main square in a very quiet area. The hotel is in an ancient historical Jesuit College building. It is not a modern hotel but has lots of character!!!

We had a large room on the second floor facing a great view of the river.
The bed was two single beds pushed together, the mattresses were not comfortable.
The ancient floor is made of wood and we had some nails sticking up, in front of the bathroom door. The very large bathroom had a tub with a shower in it. The tub was hard to get in and out of. There was inadequate hot water around 5:00 pm but by 9:00 pm it was good.
The room had a large flat screen TV with several English speaking channels.

The breakfast buffet was very good, with lots of choices.

I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BostonSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan Hotels P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ruze, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear BostonSkier,

Thank you for your comments that are very important to us. We are very grateful that you recommend our hotel to other travelers and we will continue in our efforts to provide and improve our quality services.

We hope that you enjoyed Český Krumlov and the Hotel Růže will have the opportunity to welcome you soon back.

With kind regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews