We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
21 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
US$450
View deal
Expedia.comUS$450
Orbitz.comUS$450
TravelocityUS$450
CheapTicketsUS$450
TripadvisorUS$450
eDreams
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 146)
Filter reviews
1 146 results
Traveller rating
639
338
90
52
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
639
338
90
52
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dive shop red hook aqua action floating dock beachfront studio st thomas full kitchen one bedroom suite great snorkeling secret harbour beach calm waters grocery store beach staff beach bar clear water lounge chairs the general manager
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1 146 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2021

This is a beautiful beach. It's calm waters are perfect to swim and snorkel. Its just a few minutes into Red Hook or the Ferry over to St. John. It's family oriented and we loved it. Having said that, there were a few negatives that really put a damper on our vacation. First, the room. We had #223. It was building #2 on the second floor and it was right in the center of the beach. The view was spectacular. You could not ask for better location. The condo was clean but a little dated, but we really didn't mind all the 20 year old wicker. However, the living room furniture was so terrible that there really was no comfortable place to sit. We had to pull out both sofa beds, move the mattress from one sofa bed onto the first sofa bed to create a reasonably comfortable place to sit and watch tv. We understand that tourists are hard on furniture, but for $500/night you should be able to expect comfortably and usable furniture. The mattress on the bed in the bedroom was decent. The sheets and blankets were...lets just say you would get the same quality at the Comfort Inn. Nothing in this condo was "resort" quality except the view.

Our second negative of the resort was the grill attached to the condos. It was convenient and the food was really pretty good. The service was another thing all together. First lets say this is expensive, resort food is always expensive and we expect that. What we didn't expect was an hour wait to get the food and the worst attitude from the waitress. She dropped our drinks and then just never came back for an hour when she dropped the food on the table. All the food was cold, except the pizza and the pizza was not closes to what we asked for. We did speak to the manager, who was great. She apologized and offered to comp the meal (we declined). From that point on we ate there one more time and then just avoided it.

If you want a drink on the beach, be prepared to go get it yourself. They no longer have a waitress on the beach. Just a small thing, but again $500 a night "resort" item you do not get. If you want a lounge chair moved, be prepared to get the chair and put it where you want. They do not have the beach staff to assist. The attendants at the towel service were super friendly though and we tipped them on the last day.

We had a good time, but not sure we would be back.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharronKoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier De La Rosa, General Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for staying with Secret Harbour and providing a lengthy review. We are pleased that you loved our family oriented property and that you had a good time. We love hearing that the view from your room was spectacular and that you could not ask for a better location. We are saddened to learn that you found the living room furniture to be uncomfortable. We take your comments seriously and will discuss with the owner of the unit. It sounds like you spoke directly with the restaurant manager about your service experience and you found her to be responsive and great. Thank you for tipping the beach attendants - they really do appreciate that and make great efforts to get to know our guests who spend much of their time enjoying the beach. You are correct about beach drink service not being available at this time. Beach waitresses from our partner restaurant are offered during the busy winter months only and not during summer. We apologize for this inconvenience. Thank you again for staying with Secret Harbour and we do hope you will return to place in paradise.

At your service,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2021

Secret Harbor was the first resort I have ever stayed in. I don't know when I'll be back, but I do know that I will be back and I will stay here.

The location was amazing. On all the tours that we did in St Thomas whenever we told people we were staying at Secret Harbor we were commended as apparently even with locals Secret Harbor is known for being the best beach in St Thomas. It is also only a five minute taxi from Red Hook, which has a port for a lot of boats and a ton of restaurants and sight seeing. It is so easy to get a taxi here as well. We never had to wait more than 5 minutes, except one time when we needed an early morning taxi. We probably should have requested that the night before. Staff was so friendly and would have helped us out.

Back to the beach it was incredible. The waters have great snorkeling. I saw a barracuda and SO many beautiful fish. It really is such a peaceful escape. The sand is perfect and there are umbrellas over the plentiful chairs, which were surprisingly comfortable. Towels are also provided on the beach for guests and there are multiple foot washes located on the beach as well.

The condo itself was great! We did an oceanfront condo and you definitely should stay in one of these instead of a hillside. First of all you are RIGHT on the ocean. It is literally so close and the view is incredible. It's also close to the front so very easy to navigate around. If you chose a hillside condo they are way far back up a steep hill. Don't do it. Pay more for oceanfront. I know the condos are individually owned. Ours was room 134 and it was wonderfully decorated and clean. It was also right next to the restaurant as well. Cleaning is done daily and they do a great job with that as well. There is also laundry service available, though we did not use it.

I will do a separate restaurant review of Sunset Grille, which is the restaurant at the resort so I won't go into many details here. However, it is a great restaurant and so convenient as well. I went in off season so I couldn't get food delivered down to the beach. However, it was so easy to order at the bar and they packed it up nicely for me to bring down.

This is THE place to stay in St Thomas.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kellydunsmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier De La Rosa, General Manager at Secret Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for joining us and sharing your positive experience. We are thrilled that your first resort experience was Secret Harbour and that you will be back. That makes us smile. We appreciate your thorough review of the beach, the condo, restaurant and your trip into town. It sounds like you had a great time and we very much look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for choosing Secret Harbour!

At your service,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2021 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom Hillside Unit (building 6) with a GORGEOUS view of the harbor. It is a little bit of a hike (stairs) up but the pool was near out room with a beautiful view as well. Our room was nice and spacious and the kitchenette had everything we needed. Staff were so helpful! The beach is the best I’ve been to on St Thomas and is free from Sargassum. There is a restaurant/bar conveniently located on the beach as well as restrooms. We loved the snorkeling. We saw Squid, turtles, Rays and SO many fish!!! We hope to return and will definitely stay here!!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MariCar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 July 2021

The beach is great, the restaurant is great, Aqua Action on site is great, and the property does an excellent job at making sure there's parking for hotel guests. How good your individual room is will depend a lot on location and individual furnishings. Our group had two units in different buildings, and one was substantially nicer than the other. So just keep in mind that the units can be very different.

Room tip: Buildings 3 and 4 seem to have better views from the beachfront units.
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 July 2021 via mobile

If your looking for a clean, well organized and well run place to stay on St Thomas, look no further. Secret Harbour seems like a hotel but the rooms are really condos which are well appointed and sit right on the beach. Our group of 4 couples stayed in two 2 bedroom condos - side by side. Balconies overlooking the bay. Each condo was different. The hotel bar and restaurant were good and not overly priced considering the location. Staff were helpful and professional. I would highly recommend Secret Harbour.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cidinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews