We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“stunning location in the most cosy of cottages”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
View from property
Malin Town
Five fingers bay.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Carndonagh, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
matthew c
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“stunning location in the most cosy of cottages”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This hidden gem in Ireland should be on everyones list! unspoilt beaches by the dozen where the rolling green hills bleed into the ocean. The waters so clear and teeming with life they must be some of the best in the world.
The cottage itself is a home from home with everything a family needs. Easily sleeps 4 adults and 4 kids and has a great kitchen and bits for the beach and other things to keep the kids entertained when that irish weather changes (which it will at least 8 times a day :-) )
But dont stress! - light a turf fire - look out of THAT window to see a view better than any painting - take a glass of something local and just take it in and feel the stresses of life melt away. Will be back for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: modern, clean cosy cottage an a simply stunning location
Liked least: stay was too short!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
Thank you for leaving such great feedback! It sounds as if you all had a wonderful time. We look forward to welcoming you back to our cottage very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilM23
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We've been all over Donegal over the years and this is definitely now my favourite spot - we intend to return to Josie's Cottage many times in the future.
In reality the house is only about a mile from Carndonagh (a "big wee town" in Donegal terms) which has everything you need including a great "SuperValu" supermarket but you really do feel that you are away from it all.
The view of the mountains and sea are simply stunning and change from hour to hour.
It is only a ten minute drive at most to a choice of fantastic beaches (e.g. Culdaff, Five Finger Strand, Ballyliffin) and the surrounding unspoilt scenery of Inishowen is just breathtaking.
The house really does have all you need and is a lot bigger than it looks in the photos.

I would heartily recommend Josie's Cottage to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
Thanks very much for your kind review and we are delighted you had such an enjoyable holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back to our cottage and all the delights that Inishowen has to offer in the very near future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macca43
Buckinghamshire, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming Holiday Home”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We just returned from 4 days at Josie's Cottage and to be honest we didn't want to leave! The cottage is charming and has everything you need for a great holiday. The bedrooms are large and airy, the two front bedrooms and living room having fantastic views. The kitchen is very well equipped. The location is very quiet with only the odd passing car. It was lovely to see the horses in the next field. We spent the first evening in the Glen Bar in Carndonagh which had live music which was good fun. Plenty of shops in Carndonagh including a large Supermarket. When we return to Carndonagh we will definitely be booking Josie's Cottage again. :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
Thanks for your lovely comments and we are so glad to hear you had a wonderful time. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nedNIrela...
n ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“really nice cottage”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

just home from the cottage after spending easter weekend what a little gem ,this cottage goes well beyond what one would expect from a holiday rent toys for the kids everything you would ever need or want you will find there on site ,I cant say enough to praise this cottage other than go see for youre self you will have a great time many thanks all for such an enjoyable week end

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: large safe garden for the grandchildren to play in easy access to town a mile away by taxi
Liked least: everything was perfect no faults at all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely Trip Advisor Review and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We were keeping an eye on the weather for you and we hear it was good! You are always most welcome with your family (and dog!) to return and stay at Josie's Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannahRJ
1 review
“Lovely house in beautiful setting”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed at Josie's cottage during our first ever trip to Ireland and we couldn't have asked for anything more. We visited in October and didn't have great hopes for the weather, but we were greeted with beautiful blue skies which stayed for the majority of the week - from our holiday photos you could easily think we'd been to an exotic beach somewhere! We bought our dog with us too and it was great to have an enclosed garden, with endless picturesque walks I think he had the best week of his life! The cottage itself was lovely, and surprisingly spacious inside, with all the amenities you could need during your stay. Would highly recommend Josie's cottage to anyone planning a trip to the area, we'll definitely be visiting again! Thank you for making our stay so memorable!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2014
Thank you for your lovely review which will greatly assist future guests if considering exploring the delights of Josie's Cottage and the Inishowen Pensinsula. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing