We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boclair House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Premier Inn Glasgow (Bearsden) Hotel(Bearsden)(Great Value!)
US$87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Belhaven Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$142
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Travelodge Glasgow Braehead(Renfrew)(Great Value!)
US$110
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ambassador Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Clifton Hotel(Glasgow)
US$60
US$58
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kelvin Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveller rating
247
56
21
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
247
56
21
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teabeautiful hotelroll top bathbeautiful roomhoneymoon suitelismore suitefull scottishcopper bathmolton brown toiletriesbottle of proseccohigh standardfirst classfamily weddingcourse dinnerstaff were amazingdietary requirementsart deco style
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 353 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2018

Wow, this was one beautiful hotel and what a fantastic experience! Gorgeous building, beautiful suites - so many nice touches such as complimentary mini-desserts upon arrival to our suite and the lovely Molten Brown toiletries in our bathroom. Our suite - the Skye Suite, was perfect. The staff were really helpful & kind and the breakfast in the morning was fantastic. 10/10 experience, could not fault it.

Room Tip: The Skye Suite was exceptional.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 206martham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boclair H, General Manager at Boclair House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the lovely words, we were all delighted that you liked your stay at Boclair. The team love to recieve feedback and were thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Best wishes

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

Our accommodation was excellent and lived up to all the promises of luxury. The view was described as to the front but all we could see was the pediment over the entrance. The car park has a relatively small number of parking spaces but I’m told the hotel has an arrangement with Asda next door for the use of their car park. Breakfasts on weekdays begin at 07:30 which was a problem for us. We needed breakfast of some sort at 07:00 and asked in advance of arrival if they would facilitate. We were told yes - continental would be available. On check in we were told that in fact the chef would in fact be early and could provide some hot food for us - great! In the event we arrived for breakfast next morning at 07:00 and what was there could hardly be described as a continental breakfast. Cereals, toast and tea or coffee only - no cheeses, cold meats, hard boiled eggs etc. There was no chef so the promised hot food never materialised. On the previous night (Mother’s Day) we had booked dinner for 4 in the hotel restaurant. We were very disappointed to find that there was no a la Carter menu, only a single fixed Mother’s Day menu with a very limited choice of items for the 3 courses. What was served to us was very pedestrian and unremarkable. However the dessert was something else. 3 of us chose the lemon meringue which consisted of a small tartlet case with a shallow lemon filling and topped with broken meringue. At first we thought it was a joke but it wasn’t - very poor, disappointing and badly served. The Pinot Grigio was excellent.
Overall accommodation was excellent, staff seemed willing and helpful but the dining room let them down with a bang. Worse than average would describe it. We will not be booking again.

Room Tip: Spend your money elsewhere
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boclair H, General Manager at Boclair House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jim R,

I am sorry to read your review of Boclair House Hotel, we are dissapointed that we seem to have dropped the ball on this one. I would relish the opportunity to discuss this further and perhaps change your view on our hotel and can be reached on 0141 942 4278.

With best wishes

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Myself and my wife visited Boclair house hotel we only stayed for one night but wish we could have stayed for longer. We stayed in the Rona Suite it was beautifully decorated, we had dinner in the hotel restaurant and although there was an issue the staff quickly and satisfactorily corrected would highly recommend a visit and a stay.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boclair H, General Manager at Boclair House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we love our rooms and are glad you do too. I am delighted to hear that the team rallied together to ensure that your stay was as enjoyable as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for 'fingers crossed' a longer visit.

Best wishes

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
102
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

Loved very minute of the stay the staff where so friendly and helped me with every request I had. The food was spot on and would pay twice as much for the same food. The hotel is beautiful and would be amazing for hosting a function or a wedding.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boclair H, General Manager at Boclair House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review, we are always glad when we get it right and the team were delighted with your feedback.
Hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes

Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Loved our stay in the Arran suite. Only a few things that I have negative feedback for.

The room had a big bath but no bubble bath. Who wants to sit in a bath tub with just water? Thankfully I remembered this from staying in another room and brought my own.

No light bites supplied for room service anymore. First time we stayed you could order BLTs and chips etc this time it was a set menu. Due to the severe weather we had to order and were unable to eat out. The food was a bit overpriced for what it was.

No information in the room on when breakfast is served, number for reception and general information that you would require for your stay. All this information has previously been supplied in the room

No beans served with Scottish breakfast so it was a bit dry.

Our room cost £230 for the evening but had to pay a pre authorised payment of £270 on arrival (which was fine) We then had to pay the full amount again when leaving (£170 as I used a gift card as part payment). Will need to wait for the £270 to be credited back to my account, which may take a few days. Unsure why they couldn’t take the payment off the pre authorised payment and refund the difference?

The hotel itself is beautiful and would recommend it to friends and family, however, I probably wouldn’t stay here again. Due to the above

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niamh O, Manager at Boclair House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Dear Shona F,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Honeymoon Suite- Arran.

I can only apologize that due to challenges with deliveries caused by the severe weather we were unable to provide all of our usual menus.

Should you wish to discuss any other elements of your stay please feel to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Niamh O'Donnell
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews