We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveller rating
320
62
14
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
320
62
14
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horse riding crepes table tennis next year bouncy castle kids club on site mobile home take away all ages grand defi safari tent bretignolles sur mer equestrian centre evening entertainment year after year go karts
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 401 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

La Garangeoire is a very well managed and maintained site, fully deserving of the 5* rating.

There is plenty to do, including walks around the vast estate, row boats or pedalloes and nice pool area.

It’s also a great base from which to explore the region.

We ate in the restaurant 3 times during our stay and both the food and service were excellent. The takeaway is also a good option, especially for a tasty pizza.

The only downside for us, was the Eurocamp accommodation, which despite allegedly receiving a renovation was a bit grotty, with bird droppings all down the outside wall, a quite filthy outdoor table, several blown double glazing panels, an oven that hadn’t been cleaned in years and a musky / mouldy smell in the main bedroom.

The location of a number of the Eurocamp units are in high-traffic areas, with people passing at the front and back of he units, so peace and quiet on the deck isn’t an option like it would be elsewhere on this otherwise lovely site.

In summary we would happily return to La Garangeoire, but would probably look to book directly with the site or through Castels.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank pbh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

We visited for a week, booked with Eurocamp and staying in their Safari Tent. The campsite is very pleasant, much better than we could have expected. Even during May half term holidays all the facilities are available, though some things like the pedal carts are on a time schedule.

The whole site is immaculately presented with the toilet and shower facilities very clean and modern. The site is quiet after 22:00 and there is no noise from nearby roads. The site is surrounded by trees so light sleepers may need earplugs as the birds wake up early.

Eurocamp have their own kids club which my 6 year old daughter enjoyed. They publish a list of activities and we selected those activities we thought would best suit her. The “animation” team were really friendly and my daughter loved her time there. In the evening they had some family activities like a Zorb ball or Hoverboard riding!

As well as the Eurocamp activities the site themselves offer other activities. We spent one evening making our own crepes on the restaurant terrace. There was also a bouncy castle outside most evenings for the kids. One could easily spend a week without leaving the site.

Some activities do require booking in advance so a little bit of planning is required but the reception team are very helpful.

Of particular note was the Equestrian centre. My daughter has never ridden before, but after three afternoons with Lucie she was confidently riding around the paddock. Obviously this costs extra but even so we decided it was very good value for money.

Overall, a pleasant and affordable half term week and one that we would be keen to repeat next year.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank graeme_h7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

Excellent week away in the Vendee. Fantastic site, excellent facilities and a fantastic location in a lovely part of the world.
Really friendly staff, beautiful clean site with great amenities.
Would certainly recommend coming here as a family holiday ( we came with eurocamp who were great!).
Pool was great, nice fishing lake, horse riding , cycling , loads of things to do.
Probably the nicest place we’ve stayed in France and we’ve been to a few!!

Merciful beaucoup!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Chunkymunky24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018

It's a bit delayed writing this review as we stayed here in August 2016. We had a fab 10 days on site. The kids loved the pool and the lagoon...in fact we spent a lot of time in the lagoon. We often had to sit on the grass near the pool as sun beds were gone by the time we rocked up. Our eldest loved the daily football club each morning and the additional fee was not too bad. We really enjoyed the garden parties and the crepe parties. It was great fun making our own crepes on our hot plate table. Even on busy nights the queue for a crepe table wasn't too bad a wait. The garden parties were enjoyable with plenty on for the children. We stayed in a canvas safari tent which was nice and comfy but the balcony was south facing with no shade so it was often pretty hot at the end of the day with no real relief till the sun went down...but that is not the fault of the site. We used the onsite kids club to enable the adults to go to the wine tasting evening in the main house in which we learnt about the house and estate as well as trying plenty of wine and coming home with a nice set of glasses which we still use at home. Wifi at the bar was good, bar was reasonable and take away food good. We also visited the weekly visiting circus which was ok, but the children really wanted to go. The horse show at the equestrian centre was also ok and a fun evening for the kids. Highlight was visiting the tree climbing place just up the road. This caters for all age groups and even our youngest could take part. When we ask the kids about next years holiday in France they have all asked to go back to la Garageoire!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
11  Thank mycaseispacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

We made a return trip to La Garangeoire at the end of the season. We had a very relaxing and enjoyable time. While the site was very quiet, the service was excellent, as usual. We had two particularly delicious meals in the restaurant.
The weather, while windy, was very pleasant for the time of year and it was lovely to enjoy the surroundings in a different season.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews