We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Beautiful views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We spent two nights in the lodge as a base for our hiking in the Drakensberg and it was fantastic. Definitely the ideal place to stay if you want to explore the Amphitheatre. Lovely new rooms with heating and electric blankets to thaw after a cold and wet hike. Spectacular views from our window, friendly staff and great service. Will visit again. Our favourite place we visited in the Drakensberg Mountains.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ludwig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleanorMuller, Public Relations Manager at Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

So good to hear that Witsieshoek is a ''favourite'' place - we really appreciate your welcoming words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Bungalows are cosy and warm fitted with electric blankets.

Had the most delicious beef stew with scrumptious veggies for dinner - perfect meal for the weather up there. Breath taking views and some spooky mist as the evening rolled in.

Staff were friendly. Lovely accommodation with loads of tourists there going on hiking trails. Would love to go back when I am not on business. Nice peaceful location in the mountains with the sound of cows bells in the meadows.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank Jeannine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Visited the resort/lodge in a weekend on my 40th Birthday, after crossing the free state you get into a location out of no where and all of a sudden the car climbs up on on into a narrow road up to the highest lodge of South Africa at about 7000 feet . The lodge is very simple with nearly no extravagant amenities apart from the fabulous location just infront of great Amphitheater visible by even a 100 mm lens close by rocks. Breakfast and dinner was nice. I stayed in Hikers Cabin very basic with two beds in one room and two common bathroom and entrance door in a 5 feet narrow cliff. Rooms were not well maintained and needs substantial house keeping attention to provide a freshness in even in basic rooms. We were also driven in 4x4 to Sentinel peak by the gentlemen who is very courteous to stop at right location for photography (attached). The WIFI is chargeable at R30 per 100mb. MTN network connection is poor. Overall the place is fantastic location however the place needs solid renovation then it will unmatched.

Room Tip: Hikers cabin ask for room facing the cliff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spc1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleanorMuller, Public Relations Manager at Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Thank you for your review. Since your visit we have put in significant upgrades to the Hikers Cabin that has, we have been told, really improved the guest experience. We quite agree with your observation that this is a photographer's paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Stayed in lodge number 1. Had to keep room door locked as it was very windy and the rooms are all exposed and not sheltered from elements.
Evening meals were buffet as were breakfasts.
Lovely warm fire in dining area
Have to pay for wifi and only works in main building, not in rooms
Scenery fantastic

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cannytraveller2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

I visited as I did the Tugela Falls hike over the last weekend and I have to say the location and views are absolutely fantastic.

I stayed in a chalet which was beautifully decorated and while they can be a little cold, they have gone out of their way to cater for this i.e. multiple heaters, electric blankets and good, thick curtains, etc.

The food was fantastic - I had a rump steak with vegetables. The breakfast has limited options, but what is available is great.

Unfortunately the one area that Witsieshoek falls seriously short, and which is probably the most important is service. The day that I did the hike there happened to be no electricity (thanks to Eskom) and I was told that it won't be an issue as they have a generator. Turns out the generator is small and only used for cooking meals so for the whole day there was no electricity and the water was turned off too. Not only was I misinformed about the fact that there would be electricity, when I complained to the Manager, Jan, he was arrogant and not apologetic at all. He had the audacity to tell me that all the other guests were understanding, thereby implying that I am unreasonable.

Fantastic location and chalets but sort your service out!

Room Tip: Ask for a chalet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aidandaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phuthaditjhaba
23.9 km away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
254 reviews
19.2 km away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
23.2 km away
Montusi Mountain Lodge
Montusi Mountain Lodge
#1 of 6 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.0 km away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
21.0 km away
Golden Gate Hotel
Golden Gate Hotel
#4 of 33 in Clarens
177 reviews
23.3 km away
Little Switzerland Hotel
Little Switzerland Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bergville
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge

Address: Road's End R57, Phuthaditjhaba, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Phuthaditjhaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Phuthaditjhaba
Price Range: R1 377 - R1 580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge is situated at the base of the Drakensberg’s spectacular Sentinel Peak, and offers peaceful and affordable accommodation for families, hikers, large or small groups. Whatever your choice of accommodation, the mountain lodge boasts spectacular views on all sides and comfortable beds to welcome you home from a long day exploring the incredible and wild surrounding scenery of the Central Drakensberg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing