We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy and friendly”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Bungalows are cosy and warm fitted with electric blankets.

Had the most delicious beef stew with scrumptious veggies for dinner - perfect meal for the weather up there. Breath taking views and some spooky mist as the evening rolled in.

Staff were friendly. Lovely accommodation with loads of tourists there going on hiking trails. Would love to go back when I am not on business. Nice peaceful location in the mountains with the sound of cows bells in the meadows.

Stayed October 2016, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jeannine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    45
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
34
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Visited the resort/lodge in a weekend on my 40th Birthday, after crossing the free state you get into a location out of no where and all of a sudden the car climbs up on on into a narrow road up to the highest lodge of South Africa at about 7000 feet . The lodge is very simple with nearly no extravagant amenities apart from the fabulous location just infront of great Amphitheater visible by even a 100 mm lens close by rocks. Breakfast and dinner was nice. I stayed in Hikers Cabin very basic with two beds in one room and two common bathroom and entrance door in a 5 feet narrow cliff. Rooms were not well maintained and needs substantial house keeping attention to provide a freshness in even in basic rooms. We were also driven in 4x4 to Sentinel peak by the gentlemen who is very courteous to stop at right location for photography (attached). The WIFI is chargeable at R30 per 100mb. MTN network connection is poor. Overall the place is fantastic location however the place needs solid renovation then it will unmatched.

Room Tip: Hikers cabin ask for room facing the cliff
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spc1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleanorMuller, Public Relations Manager at Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 9 February 2017
Thank you for your review. Since your visit we have put in significant upgrades to the Hikers Cabin that has, we have been told, really improved the guest experience. We quite agree with your observation that this is a photographer's paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
95 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Stayed in lodge number 1. Had to keep room door locked as it was very windy and the rooms are all exposed and not sheltered from elements.
Evening meals were buffet as were breakfasts.
Lovely warm fire in dining area
Have to pay for wifi and only works in main building, not in rooms
Scenery fantastic

  • Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cannytraveller2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2016

I visited as I did the Tugela Falls hike over the last weekend and I have to say the location and views are absolutely fantastic.

I stayed in a chalet which was beautifully decorated and while they can be a little cold, they have gone out of their way to cater for this i.e. multiple heaters, electric blankets and good, thick curtains, etc.

The food was fantastic - I had a rump steak with vegetables. The breakfast has limited options, but what is available is great.

Unfortunately the one area that Witsieshoek falls seriously short, and which is probably the most important is service. The day that I did the hike there happened to be no electricity (thanks to Eskom) and I was told that it won't be an issue as they have a generator. Turns out the generator is small and only used for cooking meals so for the whole day there was no electricity and the water was turned off too. Not only was I misinformed about the fact that there would be electricity, when I complained to the Manager, Jan, he was arrogant and not apologetic at all. He had the audacity to tell me that all the other guests were understanding, thereby implying that I am unreasonable.

Fantastic location and chalets but sort your service out!

Room Tip: Ask for a chalet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aidandaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2016

This is our third visit to Witsieshoek mountain lodge and again we were overwhelmed by the stunning views on the Amphitheater and Sentinal. This is one of our most favorate spots in the whole world. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and make you feel at home. The only negative thing about this lodge is that the builders of the new rondawels should try some other trade because building is just not their thing. The tiles were not sealed, so is already dirty, some the lightswitches are the wrong way round, there are electric blankets on the beds, but not enough sockets, etc. Fix those things and this will be 5-star accommodation. The internet reception is almost non-existing.

Room Tip: The rondawels do not have a view on the Sentinel. Ask for a chalet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinky2011_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phuthaditjhaba
24.2 km away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
230 reviews
19.5 km away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
39.2 km away
Protea Hotel Clarens
Protea Hotel Clarens
#2 of 4 in Clarens
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 km away
Golden Gate Hotel
Golden Gate Hotel
#6 of 31 in Clarens
169 reviews
39.0 km away
Kiara Lodge
Kiara Lodge
#3 of 31 in Clarens
201 reviews
16.5 km away
Wild Horses Lodge
Wild Horses Lodge
#1 of 9 in Harrismith
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge

Property: Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge
Address: Road's End R57, Phuthaditjhaba, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Phuthaditjhaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Phuthaditjhaba
Price range (per night): R1 206 - R1 505
Hotel Class:3 star — Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge is situated at the base of the Drakensberg’s spectacular Sentinel Peak, and offers peaceful and affordable accommodation for families, hikers, large or small groups. Whatever your choice of accommodation, the mountain lodge boasts spectacular views on all sides and comfortable beds to welcome you home from a long day exploring the incredible and wild surrounding scenery of the Central Drakensberg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing