We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$116
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$166
US$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$118
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Maliba Mountain Lodge(Tsehlanyane National Park)
US$236
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cathedral Peak Hotel(Giants Castle Game Reserve)
US$262
US$252
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Harrismith Inn(Harrismith)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
44
75
21
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
75
21
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkmountain lodgetugela fallselectric blanketsspectacular viewssentinel peakhot waterhiking trailsstaff was friendlyamazing locationday hikelong weekendstarting pointtwo daysclean towelsself cateringperfect place
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2014

After hiking in the Natal Drakensberg many times more than 20 year ago it was an adventure to take my three daughters to experience the beauty and the wildness of the region.

The Drakensberg did it's thing - all weather, breathtaking views, a little scary on the hike at times. If you find in the morning you are in the cloud take a short drive to the sentinel car park and you will be "On Top"

Witsiehoek Mountain Lodge chalets were our safe haven - with views of the sentinel, keeping the wind and rain out, excellent food and service. Witsiehoek is close enough to be there already but just far enough away from the amphitheatre to be able to aprpeciate the grandeur.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleanorMuller, Management Operator at Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Thank you for the lovely feedback. It's great to know that the Berg worked it's charm, and that Witsieshoek delivered. We do love your very accurate observation about Witsieshoek being not too near, and not too far, from the mountain. It reminds us of Golilocks and the Three Bears!

We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2014

As one of a large group of people who all but took over most of Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge for a weekend, I was able to peep into the hikers cabin, the renovated Soutspan rooms, the older bungalows and was lucky enough to sleep in one of the newly built Sentinel rooms. These are lovely, with incredible views to the Drakensberg mountains, large supe- comfy beds with electric blankets and crisp linen, en suite bath with large shower, plenty of cupboard space and easy chairs to curl up and read in. The Hikers Cabins are clean and basic with comfortable single beds (2 to a room),and good common kitchen space with a large central table and a magnificent view to the valley and river below. Hikers cabins are perfect for families and close friends to hang out together. The older bungalows are great for a family, more private than the Hiker's cabins, although the bath was a bit small. The Soutspan rooms are not quite as luxurious as the Sentinel's, but are well appointed and spacious. If you want a view to the valley and river, mention it to Barbara, the lodge's number one asset. She is a star, and made our stay a great success. The food was very tasty, home cooked fare - just the ticket after a day in the Berg.

Room Tip: To avoid any problems with your bill, make sure to note the name of your bungalow, the number of your room and your name on your slips eg: Sentinel, # 5, Shirley Goodrum, and be aware that payment by credit card can take a while.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank trenig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleanorMuller, Management Operator at Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

It was a real pleasure having you and your group to stay at Witsieshoek. We do appreciate the time you have taken to explain the different accommodation options, and we hope that the Implementing Agent will soon complete the renovations of the last old bungalows. (Yes - those old bungalows do have the oddest small baths. Rest assured, they will be converted to nice showers once renovated.)

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back again some time soon. We've had some rain over the past week and the mountain is starting to put on her green summer coat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Excellent for a quiet getaway. For couples, family, friends and all of the above! The all day hike transports you to views that are only touched by nature. Lovely comfort food and great accommodation Looking forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DuaneSampson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleanorMuller, Management Operator at Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

As we too are looking forward to welcoming you back! So pleased that Witsieshoek worked its charm and that you had a happy time in the mountains.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I have been visiting Witsieshoek Hotel for a weekend in Winter every year for the past 6 years, I realise it is a "basic" hotel and have always enjoyed the stay despite the limitations of the accommodation in the old rondavels. This year a group of us decided to go together and stay in the new revamped chalets.

When we arrived at Reception at Witsieshoek for a weekend in August, Nelson was confused with our booking and it transpired that Magdeline had not booked a chalet for our single friend. I had received a mail from Magdeline confirming this arrangement. Four of the others in our party had already arrived and booked in by the time we got there and faced this same confusion from Reception. They were asked to pay the wrong amounts and there was much confusion - not a great start to our weekend. I had made this booking months in advanced and confirmed all arrangements so this was a disappointing start.

On arrival in the chalets we discovered that the radiator type heaters in the chalet rooms 6,7 & 8 were not working so only one of our party had a decent heater for her stay, the rest of us had to make do with an air heater which dries the air and really was not good enough. No. 8 didn’t even have this and had to specially ask for one. I asked the Manager why our heaters were not working and was told a part was needed from Bethlehem and of course they would not be fixed until after we were gone. We later discovered that the shower pressure in chalets 1, 6, 7 & 8 was pathetic, the water took at least 5 minutes to get hot – a huge waste of water – and then the pressure was so low I shivered thru both showers I took.

Unfortunately our experience continued to be tainted with disappointment - the food supplied in the restaurant far outweighed any problems we had with Reception or the chalets. On both nights many of our party were very disappointed with the poor quality and portion size of the food ordered. On the second night we sent food back as we were just not prepared to accept such poor quality. Two of our party were actually sick with gastro on Sunday morning from the chicken and chicken livers specifically. The Manageress did try to replace food and not charge for some of it but it was very upsetting and I, having suggested staying at this establishment, was embarrassed that my friends had to go through such an experience and also even get sick from it!

On my previous stays there was always a buffet so I wasn’t even aware the restaurant did A La Carte for dinner, I was told that only when the hotel is full does this happen. We had always enjoyed the simple food in the form of casseroles, stews and soups that had been supplied but those were not available this time.

On a positive note, the chalets are looking great after the revamp, they have been well decorated and of course the views are fabulous. The Staff at the Lodge are all very helpful, polite and friendly. The lounge, TV and bar area and the wonderful fire all are fantastic plusses at Witsieshoek.

This lodge is in such a unique and stunning setting, you have such an amazing opportunity if they could only get the details right.

I did send a mail to the Manager at Witsieshoek, Jan van Niekerk and he has replied but I feel he has not taken the complaint seriously and am concerned nothing will be done about the problems.

Room Tip: Definitely the chalets
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tamsamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleanorMuller, Management Operator at Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for your review, and at the outset, please accept our apologies that things did not go as smoothly as they should have when you visited us.

We have looked carefully at the details of the confusion around your booking, and will be addressing this issue in training for the reception staff.

In reply to the problem of the broken circulation pump, the challenging reality of our remote location is that suppliers are not able to turn around repairs at the same speed that you’d experience in the city. Your visit coincided with the components being repaired offsite. They have subsequently been returned, and are now fully operational.

We were most distressed to hear your unhappiness about the food, especially given that most guests see this as an area of strength of the Lodge. We know there was an error is taking your order on one item, and the one dish had to be replaced because it was poorly cooked. We are addressing those issues in training.

We are pleased that you and your guests did have a solid day out in the Berg, hiking the area, and we sincerely hope that you enjoyed your time in the mountains. I understand that you are in communication with the manager, and he’s looking forward to your return visit to Witsieshoek.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The Lodge is a very good base camp for those wanting to enjoy the majestic mountains. Mild walks to serious hikes can be done from here. The evening buffets are fine, but put out far too early and, by mid-breakfast, the breakfast buffet looks picked over. However, the food is fine and tasty - this resort is not designed for culinary holidays, but for the ability to enjoy the Drakensberg - and it succeeds. The new chalets are pleasant, although the lounge-type chairs are not the most comfortable for sitting and gazing out on the beautiful views.

Room Tip: Stay in the new chalets.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank capeintl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleanorMuller, Management Operator at Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thanks very much for the review and sharing your observations. We love the 'base camp' explanation and we are thrilled when hikers and Berg enthusiasts join us up on the mountain. We hope you join us again when you need your next dose of pure mountain air.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews