We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful mountain getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Perfect getaway to the mountains. Newly renovated chalets are beautifully done with amazing views of the mountains. Excellent staff and food. Will definitely be back. The best part is very limited cell phone reception so one can really get away from it all!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rozanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleanorMuller, Management Operator at Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thanks so much for sharing your joy! It's lovely to know that you enjoyed Witsieshoek so much and that you see the benefit of the option to 'get away from it all'. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 89 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed for two nights on our way between Jo'Burg and Durban. My partner and I were a little dubious to begin with as the road through Phuthaditijhaba gets a little daunting towards the end and we thought we had taken a wrong term, but sure enough as the directions said the road ended and we were in amongst the stunning scenery of the Drakensberg. The lodge itself is undergoing somewhat of a transformation at the moment and has a definite feel of work in progress to it. Built as a hikers retreat in the 1970's it seems to be going through a bit of a rebrand as my partner and I had no idea of the hiking element and turned up in shorts and flip flops.

But do not be put off if hiking is not your thing. The views are stunning and the refurbed/new chalets are well equipped if you are just looking for some R and R. There is also a walk up to the car park for Sentinel Peak that whilst up hill most of the way is along a track road and offers some stunning views without the need for being an avid hiker.

The resort itself has a bar and restaurant serving limited but wholesome South African cuisine.

When we visited we stayed in one of the brand new chalets, the older chalets look a little tired now and the main complex is still to be refurbed, but I thoroughly enjoyed the two days we spent here.

I hope that as the refurb continues that the unique charm this place has is not lost.

Room Tip: Check which chalet you ar ebooking, the older/unrefurb chalets are pretty worn around the edges, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sebastian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleanorMuller, Management Operator at Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you so much for the helpful review. It's great to know that the mountains worked their magic and you found out just what some many hikers over the years love about the area - a place to rest the mind and stretch the legs. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My husband and I stayed in one of the upgraded chalets for 2 nights. We originally planned to stay only one night, but changed our vacation plans to stay an additional night at a fabulous place. This Lodge is nestled in the gorgeous Drakensburg Mountains, seated under Sentinel Peak. Our chalet was spacious, and had a perfect view of Sentinel Peak. The king size bed was enormous and very comfortable. The pillows and comforter were new and made with down-feathers. The room had a sitting area with two chairs and a table, a desk, a cedar wardrobe chest, and a bench-chest for more storage. The bathroom was spacious, had good plumbing, and hot water for the showers. The room had a large sliding door with a small concrete patio area outside overlooking the mountains. There were also large curtains in case one preferred to block out the pretty views and sunshine. The heat/AC unit was not yet connected for our chalet; however, we were comfortable. I was informed by the lodge staff that the heating/AC units are being worked on and will soon be operational. Surely the lodge spared no expense in using high-quality building materials. Due to the skill level of the laborers that were commissioned to perform the construction, some workmanship was lacking within the chalets. For example, the tile floor was uneven in places and the front door had about a 1 inch space between it and the floor. Overall, the room was very cozy and we were very happy with it for the price. The breakfast was included in the price of the room and it was opulent! Breakfast included a large cold foods/continental section, as well as the following hot foods: eggs cooked to order, sausage, bacon, baked beans, and toast. Barbara was our point of contact at the lodge and she was very responsive via e-mail for booking the lodge. She was extremely helpful throughout our stay. Barbara is essential in the functioning of this lodge. Her hospitality was unmatched throughout our travels. All of the Staff at the lodge were very sociable and polite. Overall, we had an awesome experience. One word of caution, however, is to be sure that you have either a 4 wheel drive, or a vehicle with good ground clearance if you wish to drive up the mostly dirt road to the car park in order to begin the hike to the top of Tugella Falls. Many people were unable to drive to the top and either left their vehicles along the way, or waited for a shuttle from the lodge to the car park. In our experience, the shuttle offered by the lodge was not available when we needed it because no one had filled it with fuel recently and had to take it to town to get fuel and run errands for the lodge. Therefore, if you want to use the shuttle, ensure that you book it the night prior to needing it. Those who booked ahead of time had no issue with this. Additionally, there is no wi-fi at the lodge. The staff at the lodge actually pay per usage for internet.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kacey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleanorMuller, Management Operator at Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you very much for the interesting review. It's always good to know that people enjoyed it so much that they elected to stay longer than originally planned. We hope to share this beautiful place with you sometime again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The lodge is very nice and located in a great place. The staff is helpful and charming. Enables you to be close to the drankensberg´s, to hike. The only handicap is food which is not really great. They should make an effort on improving that. But nevertheless, I would go back because of all the rest. Samson (guide) is really nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleanorMuller, Management Operator at Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for the detailed and useful review. It's so good to know that the surroundings drew you in to the point that you decided to stay longer. We share your observations about some of the finishes in the new units, and are working consistently with the State's contractors to remedy poor workmanship. We hope to welcome you back again when next you visit the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Athough this Lodge is being renovated and some of the facilities are quite antiquated, it is quite fairly priced and the location is fantastic for hiking in the mountains, and particularly, if you'd like to go walk the spectacular Sentinel. I'd imagine early autumn or late spring to be the best time to go. Winters too, but beware of low temperatures and the possibility of snow. Summers are not optimum, due to fog, regular rain and thunder, which makes activities and enjoying the spectacular views difficult, even if it could be quite romantic. I'd imagine this Lodge would do well if it added a spa facility or other periods to cater for inclement weather. Also, there are options, such as going round to Golden Gate (about 60km) or having some fun at the gin-clear Sterkfontein dam, where weather is not an issue during summer, but sadly the staff did not seem capable of advising guests to this effect. I encountered one poor German fellow who was particularly frustrated because of this! Otherwise, the food, though traditional and basic, is well-made and portions are hearty. Service is deferential and docile, but could be more efficient. One imagines this would be improved as the Lodge is upgraded. The location, activities, value and food is what makes this Lodge worthwhile to go (back) to. I'd recommend it.

Room Tip: The unrenovated accommodation comes at a discount. Its not modern and fittings are a bit worn, but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coenraad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleanorMuller, Management Operator at Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for your very much for your carefully considered review. We are so pleased that you see Witsiehsoek as a 'work in progress' and your observations about the ideal setting for hikers. Thank you for the points about requiring more information on the surrounding area for visitors. We'll work at getting that upgraded as well. We all look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phuthaditjhaba
26.1 km away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
256 reviews
21.5 km away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
25.0 km away
Montusi Mountain Lodge
Montusi Mountain Lodge
#1 of 6 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 km away
Golden Gate Hotel
Golden Gate Hotel
#3 of 33 in Clarens
183 reviews
29.6 km away
Berghouse and Cottages
Berghouse and Cottages
#2 of 14 in Bergville
122 reviews
17.9 km away
Qwantani Berg and Bush Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge

Address: Road's End R57, Phuthaditjhaba, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Phuthaditjhaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Phuthaditjhaba
Price Range: R1 350 - R1 739 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge is situated at the base of the Drakensberg’s spectacular Sentinel Peak, and offers peaceful and affordable accommodation for families, hikers, large or small groups. Whatever your choice of accommodation, the mountain lodge boasts spectacular views on all sides and comfortable beds to welcome you home from a long day exploring the incredible and wild surrounding scenery of the Central Drakensberg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing