We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPER STAY”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matatiele
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Resthaven Guest House
Ranked #1 of 8 Matatiele B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2017

A group of 12 of us "Happy Couples" were booked into Restaven for a recent private cycling trip in the Race Across South Africa area. Resthaven was recommended to us by the RASA organiser and were were thrilled to given priority rooms with really really good beds with nice linen, and lots of wholesome food for hungry cyclists. The owner went out of his way to give us all rooms together so we sat together on the verandah upstairs and had chat and have drinks together with a beautiful view. Philip was also great about sending stuff back to us that we left behind. Take your own beers and wine as they are not licenced.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank horseytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip R, Owner at Resthaven Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you for a great review. As the owner it is very comforting to know that our team at Resthaven goes the extra mile to make your stay a pleasant one even when we are not present . Resthaven is not licenced but you are welcome to bring your own liquor and we will provide you with the glass. Great to know you enjoyed the food as we have pride in providing great home cooked meals. Safe cycling, till we meet again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2017

The most amazing place to stay at. Comfortable well equipped and tastefully furnished rooms. Great food and friendly hosts. Very reasonably priced. If you own a 4x4 explore with Philip the possibility of a guided tour into Lesotho - it is a fantastic trip - Philip is passionate and so knowledgeable about the area. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Also have self catering rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jimread2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip R, Owner at Resthaven Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you Jim for the great review. Lesotho is a special place to visit and Resthaven is the perfect place to start a trip . Great to know you enjoyed your stay as we strive to make every guest stay a special one. Resthaven also has a proud history of providing our guests with great home cooked meals ( we have the best read meat in SA thanks to our farmers ). Hope to see you again when passing by on route to the Cape.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

The rooms are impeccably clean and stylish, especially the proudly South African duvet covers. The owners and staff are very friendly and treat you like you the most important guest. I'm in-love with this place, can't get it out of my mind. The food was amazing..the beef smelted like butter in my mouth.

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious, comfy beds, everything is super clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ypakelajezile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip R, Owner at Resthaven Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Thank you for your positive feedback . Resthaven prides itself in home cooked meals prepared with love and care. The Resthaven team strives to make all our guests stay a pleasant and memorable one. Looking forward to welcome you back next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

Travelling through the Scenic Moloto route R56 Eastern Cape and passing through Matatiele, we felt something to nibble and awesome coffee, saw a sign Resthaven and restaurant.
Unfortunately we found out the restaurant was closed on Sundays, the gentlemen we met at the parking area offered the use of the toilet facilities and grateful for that. On our way out and with no expectations we enquired of any chance for some coffee? Wow, Mr. Rawlins you most certainly have achieved by winning our hearts with your service supremacy, thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJ-what
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip R, Owner at Resthaven Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you for the review . We will always welcome a weary traveller. Nice to know you enjoyed the coffee. Maybe next time you can experience the comfort and tranquillity of the Guesthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

If you plan to visit Lesotho, please take Philip Rawlins. the owner with you. He is an excellent guide and knows the best places to take you to into the mountains. Without him we would have missed the most beautiful scenery in all Lesotho.
We would love to go back there sometime in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ewm494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip R, Owner at Resthaven Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

It was a great pleasure taking you to Lesotho . It is always good to know that our guests enjoyed our hospitality that the Resthaven team strives to make a pleasant one. Till we meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Resthaven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resthaven Guest House

Address: 77 Main Street, Matatiele 4730, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Matatiele
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Matatiele
Hotel Class:3 star — Resthaven Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing