We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in a small town”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matatiele
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Resthaven Guest House
Ranked #1 of 8 Matatiele B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2017

stayed there a few times
Bnb /self catering accommodating
Stayed in the luxury rooms has Wifi,Air conditioned, Jacuzzi type baths and showers
This time it was not as clean as normal, dust/ webs in corner behind bedside table,but they quickly sorted this out

Breakfast if you want or not!
safe parking
Flat screen with usb access

Will keep going back

Room Tip: luxury rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip R, Front Office Manager at Resthaven Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Thank you for your kind feedback. We looking forward to your next stay :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2017

We were very happy with the size and cleanliness of our room and the warm welcome we received from the owners. The food was good and plenteous. It only loses one star because of the slight lack of design flair in the decoration of the rooms, but we highly recommend a stay.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank YandMTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip R, Owner at Resthaven Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are pleased you had a lovely stay. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

This very welcoming bnb had everything I could possibly ask for. While i had the privacy of my own room, myself and my colleague felt very much at home in the dining room where we enjoyed a delicious homely meal. A friendly couple that goes out of their way to ensure your comfort. Thank you and I will be back!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank Shannon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip R, Owner at Resthaven Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are pleased you had a lovely stay. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stopped in for a place to stay on our bicycle tour through the region. It was raining and we couldn't have stumbled upon a better spot to stay the night. It's a family run establishment and you can tell that they take pride in what they do. Clean, cozy rooms, excellent home cooked dinner (including a lemon tart dessert that was delicious!), and top-notch hospitality. Our clothes were soaked and there was no chance of drying for the next day; they more than kindly offered to dry them for us off-site. Incredible.
We continued on the road the next day; it ended up being the busiest section of road with no shoulder that we'd encountered. 30km into the ride we were pulled off to the side, breathing from traffic stress, and up pulls to the side of the road ahead of us the guesthouse owner! He sensed that we may be having a rough day and offered to take us another 30km (with giant loaded bikes) to the next town and off the busy road. Making it a 120km round trip out of his way just to scoop us up and make sure that we were safe! Unbelievable kindness that we'll just have to pay forward one day.

Hopefully you'll (guesthouse owners) read this and feel a bit of our gratitude for your kind hearts! -cheers and we're still doing great and have had beautiful open roads ever since.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip R, Owner at Resthaven Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are pleased you had a lovely stay. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017

I really didn't expect to find a place like this in a small town like Matatiele. The service is first class with the owners taking a very hands on approach. Really comfortable rooms and a relaxing environment. No need to go and eat out in town when they also serve hearty meals right there. Definitely worth the stopover travelling through the Northeastern Cape

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FireflyAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip R, Owner at Resthaven Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are pleased you had a lovely stay. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Resthaven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resthaven Guest House

Address: 77 Main Street, Matatiele 4730, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Matatiele
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Matatiele
Hotel Class:3 star — Resthaven Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing