We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Resthaven Guest House
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
41
12
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
12
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housesmall townself cateringgreat valuegreat place to stayclean roomssteakthe ownerhome away from homeroad conditionsair conditioningtop notchhome cookingmy colleaguesafe parkingwarm welcomethe main road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2017

We were very happy with the size and cleanliness of our room and the warm welcome we received from the owners. The food was good and plenteous. It only loses one star because of the slight lack of design flair in the decoration of the rooms, but we highly recommend a stay.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank YandMTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip R, Owner at Resthaven Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are pleased you had a lovely stay. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

This very welcoming bnb had everything I could possibly ask for. While i had the privacy of my own room, myself and my colleague felt very much at home in the dining room where we enjoyed a delicious homely meal. A friendly couple that goes out of their way to ensure your comfort. Thank you and I will be back!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank Shannon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip R, Owner at Resthaven Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are pleased you had a lovely stay. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stopped in for a place to stay on our bicycle tour through the region. It was raining and we couldn't have stumbled upon a better spot to stay the night. It's a family run establishment and you can tell that they take pride in what they do. Clean, cozy rooms, excellent home cooked dinner (including a lemon tart dessert that was delicious!), and top-notch hospitality. Our clothes were soaked and there was no chance of drying for the next day; they more than kindly offered to dry them for us off-site. Incredible.
We continued on the road the next day; it ended up being the busiest section of road with no shoulder that we'd encountered. 30km into the ride we were pulled off to the side, breathing from traffic stress, and up pulls to the side of the road ahead of us the guesthouse owner! He sensed that we may be having a rough day and offered to take us another 30km (with giant loaded bikes) to the next town and off the busy road. Making it a 120km round trip out of his way just to scoop us up and make sure that we were safe! Unbelievable kindness that we'll just have to pay forward one day.

Hopefully you'll (guesthouse owners) read this and feel a bit of our gratitude for your kind hearts! -cheers and we're still doing great and have had beautiful open roads ever since.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip R, Owner at Resthaven Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are pleased you had a lovely stay. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017

I really didn't expect to find a place like this in a small town like Matatiele. The service is first class with the owners taking a very hands on approach. Really comfortable rooms and a relaxing environment. No need to go and eat out in town when they also serve hearty meals right there. Definitely worth the stopover travelling through the Northeastern Cape

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FireflyAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip R, Owner at Resthaven Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are pleased you had a lovely stay. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Phillip and Elrita, did everything they could to make our stay a good one. The food was wholesome and delicious. The accommodation was extremely comfortable with clean private ablution facilities and of course the chocolate provided was a thoughtful extra. We were given information about trips that can be taken, hosted by Phillip, in to Lesotho, as well as road conditions for our onward journey. We would fully recommend Resthaven.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip R, Owner at Resthaven Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are pleased you had a lovely stay. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews