We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Rain rain go away!!

Very rainy but that didn’t stop us enjoying the park. We stayed overnight at the caravan park and... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
alexandrakZ8958CL
,
Coventry, United Kingdom
via mobile
Great dog walks & off road horse riding

Great regeneration of the land. Excellent location with a huge lake, ideal for walking when... read more

Reviewed 27 October 2018
Tracy S
,
Halifax, United Kingdom
Read all 126 reviews
  
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
65
41
14
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
41
14
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews caravan club site play area nice walk duck food ducks and geese huge lake outdoor gym great site playground for children great dog round the lake great playground bacon butties nature reserve all ages gentle walk cup of tea
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2018

Poolsbrook Park is a small but lovely little oasis. I take my grandson there most day's. Lovely walks with lots of nature. Some people have left reviews on how its not kept right, well in my opinion its one of the nicest paces around for a safe walk. Lovely little cafe for ice creams and coffee. Plenty of free parking. Lovely fishing lakes. Makes for a nice afternoon out.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank MrsDHiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

A pleasant, well-kept site in the middle of a country park offering lots of walks - both we and the dog enjoyed it very much

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Fudge03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

A local park for us, very handy for dog walking and running. It’s got a few different tracks you can follow mainly around the lake. You can also cross the main road and continue the walking, but the scenery isn’t as inviting.

It’s a basic country park with fairly flat surfaces good for buggies and wheelchairs. Very dog friendly, small pond where people fish, ducks to feed etc.

There is one reasonably big play area with a smaller section for the little ones. There is also an adult area with exercise machines for all weather.

Haven’t used the cafe so can’t comment on that. There are toilets but again haven’t used to comment on.

One annoyance is the idiots in their cars who congregate around the car park behind the cafe, turfing up the gravel and speeding around.

Very popular caravan park at Poolsbrook which always seems to be busy. Seems a strange place to visit as the locality of Staveley isn’t anywhere to write home about.....

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 81ZMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

I’ve been coming here for a few years with the Grandkids and over the years the experiences are getting less and less desirable. I took my Grandkids there today for a walk around the park and an ice cream. The car park at the far end by the village of Poolsbrook is terrible for Potholes. They are deep and if you’re not careful you will damage your car.

The walk around the lake wasn’t a great experience due to all the rain we’ve had recently, a large percentage of the paths are very muddy churned up by what looked like motor/quad bikes. Some lout was racing around on a motorbike whilst we were there. No thought given for people with kids or pushchairs etc. He was challenged by someone but just laughed safe in the knowledge no one could really stop him.

What really bothered me though was the litter and dog crap that was all over the place. It’s a mess, people just don’t care and it’s obvious no one is employed to pick up litter. It’s a great shame as this could be a nice place to visit if it’s kept nice. The public are spoiling it.

Stopped at the cafe for a coffee and the staff were really nice and friendly. Kids enjoyed their ice cream.

It’s now not somewhere I would choose to take the family as there are better, cleaner places around.

The kids play areas, again are large dustbins with litter all over the place, fag ends strewn all over where the kids play.

Sadly, I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank QuakerChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Lovely large pond to walk around, great for a picnic, lots for kids, nice cafe
Little gym outdoors for fitness

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Tripperb90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews