We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow service & very average meals”
Review of Bribie Island RSL

Bribie Island RSL
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Bongaree
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been regulars with the Botanic Restaurant for some years and up to now have been quite happy with the service, quality and price of the meals. However in the last month there appears to have been a significant drop in service & quality.
1. We visited last Saturday night ( 23rd June) with family & friends. While my wife and myself received our main course in around 15 minutes, the others did not receive theirs until 40 minutes later. Also when the other meals finally arrived, several of the meals were very small and certainly did not represent value for money.
2. We attended last Thursday (28th June) with neighbours and it took 45 minutes to receive our meals. Again one of the meals were very small and did not represent value for money.

3. Many of "old favorites" meals such as "bangers & mash" are no longer on the menu. This were relatively in expensive and attracted the retired/senior clientelle around Bribie Island.

It appears some urgent review is required by management here

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sadie476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had booked a table for 7 on a Saturday night, and though you expect it to be busy, you certainly do not expect 2 members of the group to receive their meals 30 minutes before everyone else. I am not exaggerating when I say 30 minutes and they had already waited 45 minutes; so in total 5 members waited 75 minutes for our meals. When the meals arrived the mushroom sauce was made from tinned mushrooms, the chicken and asparagus risotto was bland and the garlic prawns were mushy. All in all poor quality for a restaurant that has increased their prices.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brigid F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

Had to try out the RSL as it had great reviews. Not disappointed partner had seafood marinara, which she said was scrummy. I had the pork belly which was nicely done. Pleasant surroundings with a nice bar.

Thank BigAlister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cloe E, Manager at Bribie Island RSL, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi BigAlister,

Thanks for coming in and trying us out, we are so please to hear that you enjoyed your experience. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

I joined some friends for a coffee morning chat at the revamped temporary café at the RSL.this café is only being used for 5 months while the other site is getting a make over..but it has been decorated so beautifully with flowers, bird cages, flowers on a trellis from the ceiling, it is very very pleasant..the doors to different spaces have had wall paper decorations added, and the café is getting plenty of customer feed back on how nice it all is.. I wld be very happy to take any friend or relative to this café..the staff are always good, as is the egg and bacon sandwich that I always order.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank carolcoleman2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cloe E, Manager at Bribie Island RSL, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi carolcoleman2017,

We are very happy with the way that Bloom Cafe came together and we love that you love it too! It has a great feel and is very welcoming. Thanks for your feedback and we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

We had brunch on Sunday morning. Very disappointed with mine. As I cannot eat eggs and wanted something substantial,I could not get a nice meal. 2 tiny sausages and half a small tomato (not even cook nicely) and 2 slices of toast. My husband's was a bit better as he can eat eggs but overall very disappointing. We would not eat brunch there again.

Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cloe E, Manager at Bribie Island RSL, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Lesley,

We are very disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience with us. There are many delicious choices on our Brunch menu and the Cafe team are fabulous at whipping something up even if its not on the menu. We would love to hear your feedback on what you would like to see o the new Brunch menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bribie Island RSL also viewed

 
Bribie Island, Moreton Bay Region
Bribie Island, Moreton Bay Region
 
Bribie Island, Moreton Bay Region
 

Been to Bribie Island RSL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing