We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dave C
Seattle, Washington

A pleasant stay in Gondar

Review of Mayleko Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Apr 2018
We stayed at the Mayleko Lodge one night on our short stay in Gondar. We had breakfast, and dinner here. The cottages are clean and comfortable. The restaurant was minimal but the service was good. There is a pool which we didn't use
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mayleko_lodge, Manager at Mayleko Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 09 May 2018
Dear Dave,

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We hope you will use the pool the next time you visit us! You will love it!

Best
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 224
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 224
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 224
  • Vio.com
0.0 km from Mayleko Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 1 422
No prepayment needed
No fees just great deals
    5.8 km from Mayleko Lodge
    R 882
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
      R 882
    • Tripadvisor
      R 882
    • Vio.com
    6.1 km from Mayleko Lodge
    Restaurant
    R 1 421
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
    7.8 km from Mayleko Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    R 1 259
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
      R 1 260
    • Vio.com
    9.9 km from Mayleko Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Haile Resort Gonder
    R 1 248
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
      R 933
    • Expedia.com
      R 1 248
    10.1 km from Mayleko Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
      R 1 457
    • Expedia.com
      R 1 889
    • Hotels.com
      R 1 889
    10.3 km from Mayleko Lodge
    Free parking
    Pool
    • Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
    • eDreams
    9.9 km from Mayleko Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    10.8 km from Mayleko Lodge
    Free parking
    Pool
    View more hotels in Azezo
    Reviews (168)
    Filter reviews
    168 results
    Traveller rating
    79
    70
    11
    5
    3
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    79
    70
    11
    5
    3
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    58 - 63 of 168 reviews
    Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

    Spent 2 nights while in Gondar and then returned for a third night after returning from a trek to the Simien mountains national park. We were 4 couples. The rooms are very specious and beautiful. Large and comfortable bed (and another bed in each room) and fantastic bathroom.
    The hostess was very accommodating and pleasant and spoke very good English and the whole stuff did whatever possible to make our stay pleasant.
    We had dinner once in the hotel and it was very good. I recommend the chicken kebab.
    The lodge is located outside the city so you should have a vehicle with you.

    Date of stay: April 2018
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank Liat100
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

    Great location a bit outside town, but extremely welcoming atmosphere, pool area, great service and wonderfully arranged and decorated small cottages.
    A fantastic addition to the hotel offer in Gondar.
    We came twice to this place during our 11 day round trip and it was of our favorites

    Date of stay: April 2018
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    1  Thank Michael L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

    A beautiful place! We enjoyed our stay very much. We spend a nice afternoon at the restaurant, swimmingpool and terrace! Very warm and welcoming staff! The food was very good, lunch dinner and breakfast

    Date of stay: February 2018
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank IngeborgH37
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 20 February 2018

    We spent one night in this quiet peaceful lodge. Food was good. Service was OK. Room was comfortable. No safe in the room
    This was a nice place to stay en route to the Simien Mountains and to see a bit of Gonder.

    Date of stay: February 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Banditsmom707
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    mayleko_lodge, Manager at Mayleko Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

    Dear Banditsmom,

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry that our service didnʻt satisfy you but we have currently undergone some re-staffing and state of the art training so that our staff go above and beyond our guests expectations. We assure you that you will be fully satisfied if you ever chose our lodge again for future stays.

    Regards,
    Management

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 19 January 2018

    This place is pretty nice - big rooms, quiet, clean, green, pool, nice meals etc.

    It is extremely close to the airport, but to get to Gondor, it takes maybe 20 minutes, so make sure you check out some places in the actual city as well

    Internet was OK, showers OK too

    Date of stay: January 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank ilovecorndogs
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews