We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$129
US$109
View deal
Hotels.com
Priceline
US$129
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/06
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.comUS$129
Expedia.comUS$110
CheapTicketsUS$110
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
120
106
31
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
120
106
31
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location magnetic island modern kitchenette small balcony after hours secure parking bbq area cafes and bars comfortable bed across the road stayed here for nights excellent accommodation self contained top floor within walking distance a wonderful stay cooking facilities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2021 via mobile

Myself, my husband and our 3 year old stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment for 4 nights. We were impressed from the moment we arrived. The after hours check-in was easy. Our apartment was really lovely with modern furnishings and appliances, including and oven and washing machine. There is free WiFi and free on site parking. And the location is absolutely fantastic! With 2 places to eat right downstairs and about a million more within walking distance. We hardly needed the car we hired.
What most impressed us was the service we received. At booking you're given the option to choose some snacks, which were in the fridge when we arrived. We noticed a few very minor maintenance issues when we got in and notified reception on our way out on our first morning there. The repairs were all done before we even returned for lunch. We happened to return from a trip to the beach and interrupt the service staff servicing the apartment one afternoon and she was lovely and friendly and finished up without feeling like she was invading our space. On our final day at the motel I went to settle our account and was told there had been a minor mix up and that we'd been overcharged. Geoff was very very apologetic and fixed it up right away. Supervised by his trusty ginger cat, who's name I forgot to ask.

All in all we had a wonderful stay here and will definitely be back.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 353victoriaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2021

This was our second stay at Waters Edge. First time we chose it as they allow early check in after leaving accommodation on Maggie. Second time, they diid the same thing and went out of their way to get the room ready early for us and also went our of their way to get us into a room suited to our family of 4. Very rarely these days do you come across such genuine hospitality. We previously stayed in a hotel room, just the two of us and then a family apartment this time. Both times we found the rooms super clean, great aircon, nice pool, comfy beds and of course you cant beat the location & the price which is very reasonable given the level of service, care & attention. Will hopefully be back for a third time in the not so distant future. Thanks again - your efforts are truely appreciated.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mongosemporium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane Malone, General Manager at Waters Edge The Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2021

Thank you indeed mongosemporium for the great feedback. It was our pleasure to look after you - if there is any way that we can make your stay as enjoyable as possible we will certainly try our best! We look forward to seeing you again soon. All best wishes from Geoff, Jane & the team at Waters Edge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2021

Due to the (late December) closure of Qld to those resident in Greater Sydney we have had to cancel our late Jan trip to Townsville. We had booked Waters Edge based on the reviews and location. Whilst we can't now make it to Queensland at all, I am very pleased with the service, understanding and helpfulness that "Waters Edge" provided. Whilst we gave Management as much notice as possible (we cancelled early Jan after it became clear that late Jan would not be an option) it was still less than four weeks. Management has not charged us a cent (contrary to the loss of our entire deposit for our Magnetic Island accommodation). We will definitely re-book when we can get to Townsville. I know that these are tough times for small businesses and the tourism industry. Thus, a huge "Thank you" from us.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank StephanieB3581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane Malone, General Manager at Waters Edge The Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2021

Thank you StephanieB3581, we were more than happy to accommodate you with the cancellation. It is our main aim to ensure that our guest's needs come first. During these uncertain times of the Covid - 19 restrictions being implemented & changed almost daily it was certainly a challenging period. Hopefully we will come out the other side sometime soon! We will look forward to welcoming you to Townsville soon. Best wishes from Geoff & Jane the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2020 via mobile

Managers are Jane and Geoff warm and friendly. Rooms nice and cool needed in the heat of summer. Great location. Can't be better. Next time I'm in Townsville I will come back. Very happy with pool and BBQ facilities

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank garrym410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane Malone, General Manager at Waters Edge The Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2021

Thank you garrym410 for the great feedback, we are happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay. It was our pleasure to look after you & we are hoping that we will see you again soon. Best wishes from Geoff, Jane & the team at Waters Edge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2020 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay. Jane and Geoff were terrific hoasts. Nothing was too much trouble. Fabulous location, absolute beachfront,room had everything we needed,comfortable bed,very clean and well presented.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank B4013VQjennym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane Malone, General Manager at Waters Edge The Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2021

Thanks so much for the great feedback B4013VQjennym, it was our pleasure to look after you & we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes from Geoff, Jane 7 the team at Waters Edge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews