We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$111
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/13
Priceline
US$111
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/13
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$118
US$93
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/14
Hotels.comUS$93
CheapTicketsUS$93
Trip.comUS$118
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
120
106
31
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
120
106
31
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location magnetic island modern kitchenette small balcony after hours secure parking bbq area cafes and bars comfortable bed across the road stayed here for nights excellent accommodation self contained top floor within walking distance a wonderful stay cooking facilities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2021

This was our second stay at Waters Edge. First time we chose it as they allow early check in after leaving accommodation on Maggie. Second time, they diid the same thing and went out of their way to get the room ready early for us and also went our of their way to get us into a room suited to our family of 4. Very rarely these days do you come across such genuine hospitality. We previously stayed in a hotel room, just the two of us and then a family apartment this time. Both times we found the rooms super clean, great aircon, nice pool, comfy beds and of course you cant beat the location & the price which is very reasonable given the level of service, care & attention. Will hopefully be back for a third time in the not so distant future. Thanks again - your efforts are truely appreciated.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mongosemporium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane Malone, General Manager at Waters Edge The Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2021

Thank you indeed mongosemporium for the great feedback. It was our pleasure to look after you - if there is any way that we can make your stay as enjoyable as possible we will certainly try our best! We look forward to seeing you again soon. All best wishes from Geoff, Jane & the team at Waters Edge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2021

Due to the (late December) closure of Qld to those resident in Greater Sydney we have had to cancel our late Jan trip to Townsville. We had booked Waters Edge based on the reviews and location. Whilst we can't now make it to Queensland at all, I am very pleased with the service, understanding and helpfulness that "Waters Edge" provided. Whilst we gave Management as much notice as possible (we cancelled early Jan after it became clear that late Jan would not be an option) it was still less than four weeks. Management has not charged us a cent (contrary to the loss of our entire deposit for our Magnetic Island accommodation). We will definitely re-book when we can get to Townsville. I know that these are tough times for small businesses and the tourism industry. Thus, a huge "Thank you" from us.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank StephanieB3581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane Malone, General Manager at Waters Edge The Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2021

Thank you StephanieB3581, we were more than happy to accommodate you with the cancellation. It is our main aim to ensure that our guest's needs come first. During these uncertain times of the Covid - 19 restrictions being implemented & changed almost daily it was certainly a challenging period. Hopefully we will come out the other side sometime soon! We will look forward to welcoming you to Townsville soon. Best wishes from Geoff & Jane the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2020 via mobile

Managers are Jane and Geoff warm and friendly. Rooms nice and cool needed in the heat of summer. Great location. Can't be better. Next time I'm in Townsville I will come back. Very happy with pool and BBQ facilities

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank garrym410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane Malone, General Manager at Waters Edge The Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2021

Thank you garrym410 for the great feedback, we are happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay. It was our pleasure to look after you & we are hoping that we will see you again soon. Best wishes from Geoff, Jane & the team at Waters Edge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2020 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay. Jane and Geoff were terrific hoasts. Nothing was too much trouble. Fabulous location, absolute beachfront,room had everything we needed,comfortable bed,very clean and well presented.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank B4013VQjennym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane Malone, General Manager at Waters Edge The Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2021

Thanks so much for the great feedback B4013VQjennym, it was our pleasure to look after you & we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes from Geoff, Jane 7 the team at Waters Edge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2020

Probably the best location in Townsville - half way along The Strand right on the waterfront and around the corner from a shopping centre with Coles etc, and lots of restaurants and cafes within a minute walk.

I had a sea view studio on the top floor - a decent room with comfortable bed, sofa for relaxing and modern kitchenette to make snacks. The shower-over-bath with plastic shower curtain arrangement is a bit old fashioned now and could do with an update. A small balcony to enjoy the fantastic view over The Strand and the ocean. Was reasonably quiet considering the location, just the occasional loud car or motorbike passing by.

Very friendly staff. Fast wifi. Air conditioning works well. Small pool and a spa pool and a nice bbq deck overlooking the seafront. It is an older building, but kept clean, and the price can't be beat for this location.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane Malone, General Manager at Waters Edge The Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2021

Thank you Steve T for the great feedback, we certainly appreciate your comments. Sorry for the delay in responding. We are very well located on The Strand indeed. We do hope to see you again soon. Best wishes from Geoff, Jane & the team at Waters Edge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews