We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Cheshire village pubs”

The George and Dragon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$28
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Five of us had a variety of meals for lunch - and it was all great. Sausages and mash, fish and chips, roast beef and even the special - a Beef Randang curry. They even do carry out fish and chips. Gluten free menu. Good mix of beers. Friendly service. And a wonderful little village. Just might offer a more imaginative mix of fruit juices. And the price - value for money at around £25 a head including drinks and tip.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnd1232015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViscountChristopher, Owner at The George and Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank-you John for your review and all the positive things you said. We'll look at the range of fruit juices to see where perhaps we could improve what's on offer.We currently have 17 fruit juice based options but we're always happy to try new products on customer suggestion. Please have a word with me next time you visit, or if I'm not about, speak to Jackie or Carl.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went here with family, it is quaint, it is lovely but it was very expensive. It was busy so we had to wait a while to be served at the bar, i just couldn't get over the price of drinks for a village pub.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank cheltenhamgal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is just amazing, the attention to detail is second to none. From the moment you walk in The staff can’t do enough for you, and the food is always amazing. Can highly recommend this pub, it’s fabulous.

Thank lizaspinwall73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViscountChristopher, Owner at The George and Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank-you Liza for your TREMENDOUS REVIEW. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your visit. We are constantly training our staff to enhance our guest's experience and it's time well spent. Please carry on recommending us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I would love to say. Had a lovely evening here but the lady who greeted us at the bar didn't seem very friendly. We felt as though we were an inconvenience. We got the impression if you were known to this pub then you might have got a smile. The younger staff were more pleasant. It was such a shame as the food was really lovely. I wouldn't return as we both said we didn't feel welcomed.

2  Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViscountChristopher, Owner at The George and Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I was so sorry to hear that your recent visit was not met with the customary smile. It's a fundamental part of our philosophy at the George and Dragon. It concerns me greatly when one member of the team lets the side down, due to a momentary lapse, which is I'm sure what this was. The lady in question is a valued colleague and certainly well aware of the importance of first impressions. I am glad you persisted on this occasion and that the other members of staff were pleasant and the food lovely. Please do give us another go and we'll be sure to be on top form next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Tried to get a meal here 6 weeks ago but was unable due to how busy it was,but we were impressed with everything we saw and vowed to try again.We went yesterday 21/03/18 with our 2 border terriers and were not disappointed as everything was great. The food was fantastic and service was great and we will definitely be going back to sample their Sunday lunch in the impressive dining area without the dogs of course

Thank Anthony169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ViscountChristopher, Owner at The George and Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Smashing review Anthony, GREAT FOOD and FANTASTIC SERVICE is certainly what we aim to provide. We all look forward to seeing you for Sunday Lunch, but BOOK EARLY !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The George and Dragon also viewed

Great Budworth, Northwich
Northwich, Cheshire
 

Been to The George and Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing