We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 202)
Filter reviews
2 202 results
Traveller rating
1 196
643
236
78
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 196
643
236
78
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews slaney estuary reeds restaurant dry dock bar overlooking the river kids club decking area leisure centre lovely hotel wexford town bar food family hotel lovely view family break from start to finish an upgrade strawberries bit dated
Filter
Updating list...
482 - 487 of 2 202 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

I've stayed in this place twice over the last month, and was spoiled on the first visit by being upgraded to the Executive Floor on Level 5, where the room was especially well appointed and comfortable. The "standard" room was something of a let down, though the room is still large and quite well appointed. The hotel is thrashed by endless coach tours so the maintenance of the rooms is an issue. Our in-room safe (a very ancient model!) had been compromised and the stopper in the hand basin needed to be replaced. Eric, the maintenance man, undertook to deal with both issues, but we never saw him again. Having said that, the staff are very helpful and the food in the Dockside Bar is better than average while the breakfast, despite being buffet style, was acceptable with a good choice of hot and cold items. The location of the hotel is nice, looking out over the river, and Wexford Town is close by. Overall, a perfectly comfortable hotel.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank IanfromRAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekcgm, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to post your views. We appreciate and respect your feedback and appreciate very much your return custom. I do apologise for the substandard maintenance and assure you that this will be given our attention.
I am pleased that you found the staff helpful and that the food was better than average. Thank you again for your feedback and good to hear that overall the Ferrycarrig was a perfectly comfortable hotel.
We hope to have the pleasure of your company sometime again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Derek Coyne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

lovely place to stay
looking for birds on the river while breakfast
staff is friendly and helpfully
good choice off drinks and food
fitness and leisure center, sauna and steaming bath good to relax after
a day of traveling

Room Tip: lovely rooms, we're in the 4th floor overlooking the river silently at night sleeping very well in the large double bed
Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NorbertK542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekcgm, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your feedback. I was delighted to erad of your experience and we very much appreciate your praise and recognition. It is very reasuuring to hera that you encouneterd friendly staff during your stay along with enjoying the facilities.
Thank you for choosing the Ferrycarrig Hotel and we hope to welcome you back again somtime soon.
Kind Regards
Derek Coyne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

We had the pleasure of having our wedding day at this fabulous venue. From start to finish the day was fantastic the staff couldn't do enough for us. From the first meetings with Frances, Mary and Gemma we knew there would be no trouble with our day and that we had picked the right hotel. Micheal showed us around the function room and made every effort to make us feel at home.
Then months later, we had our food tasting and Margaret spoilt us in the Reeds restaurant for a couple of hours sampling the fantastic food to be served on our wedding day.
The day just passed by without a problem with Micheal and Margaret sorting everything that needed to be sorted and Frances doing everything in her power to help Kerry, the Bride. Kerry said later that it was like having her very own PA!!
The service went like a dream and so did the dinner and evening reception, waiters and waitresses were very professional and would do anything asked of them.
We had the use of the Bridal suite for the duration of our stay I must say that this is one of the best rooms we have ever had the pleasure of staying in. All the little touches didn't go unnoticed champagne, strawberries, chocolate all great.
It is just a shame we didn't get to use the rest of the facilities at the hotel because the time just flew by and there was not enough hours in the day.
The opinions from all our friends that stayed at the hotel were the same; the staff were so good at making you feel at home and "no bother" to do anything for anyone was the recurring theme.
Thanks again for making our special wedding day so memorable for all the right reasons. Can't wait to return

Sean and Kerry

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank irishman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekcgm, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Dear Sean & Kerry
Thank you so much for posting your review. It was our sincere pleasure and indeed a privilege to host your wedding celebrations. I am so pleased that you enjoyed a fantastic day from start to finish and that all of your guests had a memorable day.
It will be my pleasure to convey your praise to all of the individuals you have highlighted who will be so proud of your recognition. Thank you for such lovely feedback and indeed for choosing the hotel.
Our very best wishes to you both in your future together and we hope to welcome you back to the Ferrycarrig in the very near future.
Kind Regards
Derek Coyne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

Was at friends wedding the June bank holiday weekend, it was a civil ceremony, the room was lovely. The service at the bar and the function room bar was excellent. Food was amazing, staff serving the food were very professional. The whole day went off without a hitch. the dinner was for 100 people, speaking from experience this is a small wedding, however I get the impression that if 300 people were siting down for a meal it would go smoothly also. As the staff working in the bar were busy while we were having the first drink on arrival and the bar had a lot of people ordering food and the wedding guests ordering drink, the atmosphere remained relaxed with an air of competency no one seemed to rush, the whole hotel seemed well run, organised and clean. As I am getting married in the Ferrycarrig in November 2018. I was delighted with how the day went as the bride and groom had nothing but fantastic things to say about the service they received in the run up to the wedding. I would encourage anyone thinking of getting married in Wexford or the south east to strongly consider the Ferrycarrig hotel for their special. It may sound like I work for the Ferrycarrig wedding department, however I was so impressed with the day I wanted to give a review that reflected the service provided. I look forward to next year for my wedding as I know I will get a fantastic day.

Room Tip: Would have a lot weddings in summer. If you are not part of wedding party, inquire about a room away for the functions room.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Colin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekcgm, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Dear Colin O
Thank you so much for posting your review. I was delighted to read of your experience while attending a wedding at the Ferrycarrig and even more pleased to hear of your recommendation.
We very much look forward to hosting your wedding celebrations next year and it will be our great pleasure to ensure a fantastic day is had by all.
Thank you for choosing the Ferrycarrig for such an important day and we look forward to seeing you very soon.
Kind Regards
Derek Coyne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

Stayed for two nights over the busy bank holiday weekend. Staff, food and accommodation are all excellent. Bathroom gets a big thumbs up as the shower is excellent. Will definitely be back. Thank you all.
MLaverty

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLavrty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derekcgm, General Manager at Ferrycarrig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am so pleased that you enjoyed a lovely weekend break with us and experienced excellent staff, food and accommodation. Thank you very much for your seal of approval and great to hear that you will definitely be back.
We look forward to looking after you again very soon.
Kind Regards
Derek Coyne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews