We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Short break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Thackmoor Nook

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Some of the original wood beams
The cottage adjoins our barn
Back door to the cottage which leads to a grassed area for guests
The guests bench in the wild flower area and orchard, perfect for an evening
Our garden which guests are welcome to use
Renwick from the path to Thackmoor, looking across the Eden Valley
One of the walks from the cottage, to the waterfall on the right
Renwick Church
The Eden Valley from above Renwick
The bridge at Lazonby
Interior of St Oswald's Church Kirkoswald
St Oswald's Church Kirkoswald
D and K
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Renwick, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andy K
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Short break”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Absolutely stunning location, remote yet not that far from other villages with amenities. Close to local tourist spots and walk, the cottage itself is charming, very comfy and felt a home from home especially with the stove. Would 100% recommend to anyone who wants a relaxing break away and will definitely return! Dick could not have been more helpful and will make your stay comfortable and enjoyable

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen J
1 review
“Cosy cottage in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A lovely cosy cottage in beautiful, peaceful surroundings. The cottage had everything we needed and the owner was very friendly and made sure our stay was made comfortable.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew C
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ideal relaxation”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Only stayed one night here due to work commitments but enjoyed it all the same!

Ideal for a weekend trip to get away from busy cities for a peaceful and scenic area. Only noise at night is the odd sheep

Cottage isn't huge but has everything you could need for a cosy night in front of the fire! Would return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul O
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding Cottage, Beautiful Surroundings, Wonderful Hosts”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

To say this cottage is a hidden gem is an understatement!! Wether you are wanting total peace and quiet or a break to enjoy some stunning walks and landscape, this is the place for you. The cottage is beautiful and has all the amenities needed for a lovely peaceful break. Dick is a wonderful host and can help with guidance for local walks or advice for places of interest. The cottage has many leaflets and brochures to help you plan what to do and where to go.

The log fire was amazing and weather glorious. I have stayed in many cottages over the years and this is by far the best one. Location wise you are not in the hustle and bustle of an over populated tourist area, however your still only a 5/10 minute drive away from some wonderful walks and places of interest. I strongly suggest you take in the spectacular walk along the river Eden and explore `Lacys Caves` and `Long Meg` (Dick will kindly assist with location)

In summary, I would strongly recommend this beautiful little hideaway and I for sure will be a regular visitor in the future. Please seek confidence in this review as I have stayed in over 100 cottages of similar spec, however non have been to the high standards of `Thackmoor Nook` Wonderful hosts, wonderful setting I shall see you in the summer Dick. Thanks again for a brilliant stay and your kind and thoughtful suggestions.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helstevas
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab cottage. 100 % recommended”
Reviewed 30 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Just returned from a 2 night stay here and the cottage and hospitality from the owners exceeded our expectations. Everything we needed for a short break in lovely surroundings. Would definitely recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing