We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
36 Palms Boutique Retreat
Nearby Hotels
Sealine Beach Resort(Cherai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Waters Cherai(Cherai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$56
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Cherai Beach Resorts(Cherai Beach)
US$125
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kadalkkara Lake Resort(Kochi (Cochin))
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Le Petit Elephant(Cherai Beach)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Spa
  • Free Internet
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
93
19
7
3
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
19
7
3
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolsea viewsun deckwatching dolphinscomfortable rooms and bathroomsseparate large showerayurvedic treatmentswonderful atmospheresteps awayrestaurant offersindian hospitalityother guestsac roombeautiful placeorder foodfantastic stayyoga classes
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

That was my second visit to the 36 palms and it was like going back home. This time I brought with me my yoga friends and colleagues. There couldn't be a better place and better service for our yoga retreat at Cherai Beach. The staff was incredibly helpful and attentive to every single request we had and that made our retreat very special and memorable. We will be coming back again!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Trybush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

I recently spent twelve beautiful days at 36 Palms - every day was a treat. The ocean is soooo close. I've never had the ocean so near the window of a room that I stayed in. It lulled me to sleep every night. The huge deck looking over the ocean is a real magnet. Meditate, read a book, or just look out at the vast sea right in front of you.

Best of all for me - daily morning swims in the ocean. The water is very calm in the mornings, perfect for swimming or floating on your back for long periods.

The staff was fantastic and friendly. They were quite flexible with my occasional special requests for small things for my room, from curd to have at hand, to a diya lamp for meditation.

For those who want a guided yoga or meditation session, I saw an excellent yoga teacher leading one or two people at a time in the covered yoga/meditation hall.

Extremely refreshing and recharging! Highly recommended if you need to get away from everything and recharge your batteries.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank devarshi108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

We visited the place with family on 28th March 2018 and were planning for a relaxing holiday till 01.04.2018. We made the entire payment on booking.com. when we reached there we realised we were duped as the place is dirty.. there are no proper pullovers in the room.. the fotos shown on the website are all fake. there are only about 3-4 staff to take care of the entire resort. dinner was pathetic which was prepared after an hour. no room service .. breakfast had only some substandard bread jam and some poorly prepared so called upma. We decide to check out the next morning itself and we asked for a refund, they refused to give it to us.so never ever go to this place!!!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Laks0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
36palmscherai, Guest Relations Manager at 36 Palms Boutique Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

respected laks,
we at 36 palms are indeed sorry for the way u are feeling,

we went thru your last review,,and indeed ,,u like mass tourism,,big hotels with lots of buffet food,street food live stations,,desert buffets,,,room service,,+lots of unnecessary staff ,,
we at 36 palms are quite the opposite,,not some big mass tourism hotel with casino or lots of public / staff / or big buffets of deserts or otherwise.
we are a yoga and ayurveda retreat,,,specializing in peace and quietness,yoga and massage/ treatments
we serve authentic kerala food,,cooked fresh,,,and upma kerala style is indeed totally different from the upma sold on the streets of bombay ,,whose food u are so fond of.
again we apologize for any misconception you had about the photos,
they are indeed very much original and all the guest say that the photos don't do justice to the natural raw beauty of the arabian sea visible from all the sea view rooms and infinity swimming pool ..they 50 mt long yoga deck and dining area
plus the dolphins that come and go every now and then thanks to the clean sea and plentiful fish in front of 36 palms
we again at 36 palms apologize for not having a refund policy like the one you are use to with big resorts having hundred plus rooms
anyone not having a non refundable cancellation policy because they are small does not make them cheats ,like u have so boldly written as the heading of your review.

breakfast is quite liked by all who value fresh cooked natura healthy food,
+ there is a kerala dish, like dosa,,idli or puttu or upma or channa or idiyappam stew or appam ,
+fresh eggs to order,like cheese omelette, masala omelette,,poached or fried eggs,,bhurji or scrambled eggs
+ fresh juice watermelon and pineapple unlimited refills
+ fresh fruits in a basket
+ fresh bread bought daily
+ fresh made french press coffee served black or with milk in a pot
+ fresh made tea not from a tea bag
+ corn flakes and fresh milk
we again apologize for the time taken to prepare the dinner
but we take great pride in cooking everything fresh and usually come to take the lunch order at 11 am and dinner order by 5 pm ,,so the guest get freshly cooked hot food after an hour,
hence if one was to order at 7 or 8 pm,,,then it would take an hour or so to prepare and serve,

in hot tropical kerala,,if u leave any edible items outside the fridge which we provide in every room,,then chances of insects coming to that food item are high,
hence we try to avoid room service in the night for the own good of the guest,,,if something falls on there beds or in the room,,then insects / ants coming are very probable,,
so the staff request all guest to come to the dining area,,
also the kitchen is a good 70 mt away from the rooms so usually when one orders room service,,it takes very long to get any repeat orders plus the food gets cold too coming from so far away

so once again please understand our position as a yoga and ayurveda retreat meant to destress and detox,,relax and chill,,with minimum staff members roaming around you greeting you pointlessly like it is in big mass tourism places,,

we are very sorry about you not having a mass tourism big hotel experience,,which indeed we are not,,and i hope all people reading this review don't come to us to drink themselves silly or have room service,,or want pullovers in hot kerala
but come to us for nature,,,yoga,,ayurveda treatments ,,,fresh cooked healthy food without using preservatives or colours,,to watch the dolphins ,,experience peace and calm and privacy.
respectfully at your service
radehesaym

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

I have visited this resort with my wife and 5 month old baby this month, i have made my reservation through make my trip with the ratings they have , on reaching the resort I’ve got upgraded myself to sea view room which was having a tariff of 10,500/- night, but overall check in experience was average as the staff lack professionalism , because as i have already mentioned i have done an upgrade they have requested for a slight time delay to clean up the requested room and during this time we were waiting at the restaurant but even after the room was ready they discuss cate to intimate us.

The room is considerably huge , has got the ethnic kerala touch, and the view was incomparable . Infact they charge you exclusively for this view.

Restaurant offers a mesmerising sea view and the food is also tasty, but buffet breakfast was a total disaster.

On Check out when i met the manager and suggested these comments they were not so keen to listen and passed out a comment that “ hotel will not entertain and make localities happy but offers the best experience to foreigners and people from other states” which made me dumbstruck because ambience should be there but it needs to be comprehended with best level service and weather he is in and out of the country enjoying any kind of natural atmosphere is purely personal. I hope the manager might have given an insight from his experience but if someone paid so much for a night simply means he / she is able to enjoy it the best way possible.

Even they don’t provide TV in all rooms, and on enquiry they have said no one really requests for one but came to understand through staff they are in the process of installation on further questioning this concern with the management, they failed to give a proper reply. Which makes you feel the lack in professionalism.



Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Vishnu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

36 Palms is not a hotel or retreat it is a visit to your favourite Indian Auntie.
This is India at it`s best. The food is divine and perfectly cooked., there`s no European food. This is India. why come if you want European food?
You have to order your meals a couple of hours in advance as thy only use freshly brought ingredients.
The staff are helpful, friendly and so charming. It is a place to relax and take your time. This is where you can truly restore your soul.
There are ayuverdic treatments, massages and Yoga lessons if you wish.
My wife and I have just spent a perfect month here. We`ve been out a few times and been to Cochin (an hr. away) but for us just lying watching the Arabian Sea swell and break, watching for dolphins has been heaven.
This is Indian hospitality at it`s very best. Anyone who wants a Western hotel go elsewhere 36 Palms is an Indian experience you`ll cherish forever.

Room Tip: It really doesn`t matter
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAUTAM A, Owner at 36 Palms Boutique Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Thank u bob and Louise for the wonderful review ,
Both of u were charming guest indeed .
Never a dull moment with Bob around .
Looking forward to seeing u both back in December for sure .
Have a safe flight back to england .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews